Child & Adult Beneficiary Safeguarding

World Vision, being a humanitarian organisation, regards safeguarding children and vulnerable adults we serve as foundational to all World Vision’s activities, programmes, and lines of ministry (relief, development, and advocacy). Central to everything we do is our commitment to first do no harm to children or adult beneficiaries, to respect the rights of all beneficiaries, and to uphold the best interests of children as a primary consideration in all actions and decisions.


Commitment

World Vision’s absolute priority is protecting children, vulnerable communities and our own staff.

We have zero tolerance of incidents of violence or abuse against children and other people in the communities we serve, either committed by our staff or others connected to our work. We abhor any misuse of power, status, or trusted position for any sexual or other exploitative purposes. We endeavour to tackle this root cause of abuse in our prevention and training efforts. Continuous improvement of safeguarding efforts, which emphasises prevention of sexual exploitation and abuse and other forms of violence or harm, is at the top of our agenda. In our programmes, we have mechanisms to enable communities, beneficiaries, and staff to report potential cases of abuse. We provide training for frontline staff in how to recognise and respond to issues of sexual exploitation and abuse, of children, vulnerable groups, and staff.


Reporting

We encourage anyone who has concerns, either about conduct of World Vision employees or of any abuse of children or other vulnerable groups in World Vision’s operations, to report via

  1. Call: World Vision Hong Kong (852) 2394 2394
  2. Email: World Vision Hong Kong at hotline@worldvision.org.hk, OR
  3. Website: World Vision’s confidential Integrity and Protection Hotline at http://worldvision.ethicspoint.com

Confidential Disclosure

Whilst World Vision Hong Kong maintains appropriate confidentiality for individuals in safeguarding incidents, we may disclose information about incidents, when lawfully permitted, in order to support prosecution of suspected criminal activity, meet donor and regulatory requirements, support learning and accountability, advocate to prevent future incidents, or as required by law.

Information in ongoing investigations of Safeguarding Incidents, and information about past incidents, is shared only with those on a ‘need-to-know’ basis, as deemed necessary by the national office or regional office or World Vision International Safeguarding Unit. If it is likely that sensitive information about survivors or about violence against children or adults will not be kept confidential, and would put people at risk if accessed by unauthorised parties, such information is not collected.

Detailed personal information, in particular health information, is not obtained or maintained by World Vision Hong Kong, except for the minimum necessary to ensure World Vision Hong Kong handles the matter appropriately. Such personal data is kept strictly confidential and protected in accordance with the applicable data protection and informational security standards.


Responding to Incidents

All reported incidences are investigated and dealt with in line with World Vision policies. If inappropriate behaviour is confirmed, the consequences may include dismissal from World Vision and reporting the incident to law enforcement authorities for criminal prosecution. For child victims in particular, their immediate safety and longer-term recovery is our priority, and so we also provide support to the victims and help to seek justice for them.

保障兒童及成人受助者

世界宣明會作為發展及救援機構,我們的活動、項目和事工(緊急救援、發展和倡議)均建基於保護我們服侍的兒童和困境人士。我們的行動及決策秉持一個承諾,就是不為兒童和成年受惠者帶來傷害(Do No Harm)、尊重所有受惠者的權利,並以維護兒童的最大利益為依歸。


承諾

世界宣明會的首要任務是保護兒童、弱勢社群和我們自己的員工。

我們絕不姑息任何對我們服侍的兒童及社區人士造成的侵犯或剝削,不論犯事者是我們的員工或是與我們工作相關的人士。我們嚴禁任何人濫用權力、地位、或受信任的身份達致性剝削和各種剝削目的。我們致力針對剝削的根源問題進行預防及培訓。我們以不斷改善預防性剝削或剝削行為的工作為首要任務。我們在項目中設下防禦機制,鼓勵社區、受惠人士及員工去舉報可能發生的剝削行為。我們亦培訓前線員工識別及應付針對兒童、弱勢群體及員工的性剝削及暴力行為。


舉報

如對宣明會員工的操守存疑,或懷疑我們服侍社區中有兒童遭受侵犯或剝削,我們鼓勵你以下列方式舉報:

  1. 電話:香港世界宣明會 (852) 2394 2394
  2. 電郵:香港世界宣明會 hotline@worldvision.org.hk ,或
  3. 網站:世界宣明會之操守及兒童保護保密熱線:http://worldvision.ethicspoint.com

資料保密原則

香港世界宣明會雖然在處理保護相關事件時維持一定的機密性,為了支持針對涉嫌犯罪活動的起訴、或符合各項監管要求、支持學習和問責制、支持預防未來事件或者受到當地法律要求披露的情況下,香港世界宣明會可以披露有關事件的資料。

關於正在進行的保護相關事件調查的資料,以及關於以往事件的資料,將僅提供給有必要知悉者,具體由國家辦事處或區域級辦事處或世界宣明會總部保護事業部決定。如果關於倖存者或兒童或成人受暴力事件的敏感資料將無法保密,同時當非授權人員查閱資料後會導致他們有危險的,則不收集此類資料。

除了妥善處理工作所需的基本資料外,香港世界宣明會不會收集詳細的個人資料,特別是健康方面的資料。此類個人資料會嚴格保密,並根據適用的資料保護和資訊安全標準加以保護。


處理舉報事件

所有舉報的事件均按照世界宣明會的指引進行調查和處理。如果確認有不當行為,相關人士可能被革職,並將事件轉介予執法部門進行刑事起訴。特別是對於兒童受害者,我們會確保他們當前之安全和長期康復為首要考慮,因此會向受害者提供支持並幫助他們尋求公義。