Farmers in Afghanistan have long been struggling in drylands. With the droughts in recent years, many families have been forced to move in order to survive.

5,000 Steps for a Brighter Future

To stay healthy, many people have set a target of walking 10,000 steps every day. However, have you ever thought that you can change someone’s life by dedicating 5,000 of those steps to a good cause? Join us with your loved ones and multiply the impact! You will be able to help many children and families affected by drought in Afghanistan. With community water systems and clean water in place, they will be able to grow food again, and their children will no longer have to walk long distances to fetch water, but receive education and thrive instead.





Event Details

Join us this Chinese New Year at the picturesque Clear Water Bay for a 5,000-step charity walk. You will help raise funds for World Vision’s water and livelihoods projects in Afghanistan, which will help children and families who starve and thirst meet their needs and gradually improve their circumstances. On the other hand, through barefoot walk and fun activities, participants will have a taste of Afghan children's needs and the culture.

Date 20 February 2021 (Saturday)
Venue The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club
Time 10am – 1pm
Minimum Fundraising Amount Adults (Above 12): $300 / person
Children (12 and below): $200 / person
Enrolment Deadline 8 February 2021 (Monday)
Limited places available on a first-come, first-served basis!
Transportation Participants are advised to use the free shuttle bus service between The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club and Tseung Kwan O MTR station. Limited parking space at the venue will be allocated according to the submission time of the minimum fundraising amount.

*Due to the ongoing pandemic, the event may have to be changed to an online format. Details will be announced in due course.




Water Running Low in Afghanistan as Drought Worsens

The severe drought has caused the land in Afghanistan to become even more barren. Underground water levels dropped and wells dried up, leading to crop failures and food shortages. Much afflicted, the adults have to spend hours farming in dried fields, while children take up the duty of fetching water. To reach a water source, some have to walk for as many as six hours. The droughts in 2018 and 2019 were devastating for so many farmers, and some 200,000 of them were forced to become displaced with their families in search of a way to survive.

14-year-old Aziz is one of the many children who have to fetch water for their families. “Sometimes I had to leave my homework behind to go fetch water, and I could no longer continue when I returned because I was exhausted.” During the drought, Aziz had to travel great distances with his donkey to bring water from mountain streams. During winter, this task was especially difficult.

Aziz is very happy that he no longer needs to make long trips to fetch water, thanks to the water supply system installed by World Vision.

Roads in rural Afghanistan are often rough. Children need to walk for some three to six hours just to fetch water.

It is often the children, both boys and girls, who are responsible for fetching water for the entire family. They can be as young as just a few years old.

Your 5,000 steps will save Afghan children countless unnecessary trips!



Use of Funds

Funds raised from this event will support World Vision to provide water supply facilities, food security and livelihood assistance in Afghanistan, with the aim to assist children and families who have lost their livelihoods and homes due to adverse environmental conditions. Your generosity will help rebuild their lives, restore their health and rekindle hope.

HK$350

can provide 3 farmers with agricultural training that promotes storage of rainfall and resource-efficient irrigation methodologies

HK$700

can provide drought-tolerant seeds for 1 farmer to reduce the input of water during irrigation

HK$1,400

can subsidise the cost of new irrigation facilities to improve irrigation efficiency






The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club fully supports the event, including sponsorship for the operation, transportation, food and beverage, setup and programme cost.



World Vision Hong Kong, incorporated with limited liability, is a Christian humanitarian organisation working to create lasting change in the lives of children, families and communities living in poverty.
© 2020 World Vision Hong Kong | Please click here for information on Use of Donation | Tax-exempt Charities - IR File Number: 91/2002

阿富汗農民長期在旱地掙扎求存,近年遇上大旱,為求生存,許多人無奈舉家流離。

獻上5,000步 孩子有出路

為了健康,日行1萬步成為很多人的目標。不過,有沒有想過,你可以用半天為別人獻出5,000步?鼓勵你的家人朋友參加,齊齊獻出1萬步、2萬步、3萬步……,就可以為大批飽受旱災煎熬的阿富汗孩子和家庭,換來社區供水系統、清潔食水,可以種出糧食,讓孩子不必再長途跋涉外出打水,得到教育機會,健康成長!





活動詳情

新年伊始,在風景怡人的西貢清水灣半島進行5,000步慈善步行活動,為世界宣明會在阿富汗的水利和生計改善項目籌款,幫助飢渴中的兒童和家庭解決基本需要,逐步改善生活。同時,透過赤腳體驗和趣味工作坊等,參加者可以認識阿富汗孩子的需要及當地文化。

日期 2021年2月20日(星期六、大年初九)
地點 清水灣鄉村俱樂部
時間 上午10時至下午1時
最低籌款額 成人(12歲以上):每人$300
兒童(12歲或以下):每人$200
截止報名日期 2021年2月8日(星期一)
先到先得,額滿即止!
交通安排 參加者可乘坐大會提供的免費穿梭巴士往返清水灣鄉村俱樂部及將軍澳港鐵站。場地只提供有限車位,將按報名人士成功提交最低籌款額的先後次序安排。

*受疫情影響,大會或將改變活動形式為線上特別版,詳情容後公佈。




旱上加旱 缺水的阿富汗

氣候變化在阿富汗引發嚴重旱災,令阿富汗的土地更加乾旱,地下水位進一步下降,水井乾涸,令農作物失收,糧食短缺。當地人深受影響,成人、老人每日要在旱地辛勞耕種,女童、男童則要負責打水,部分人更要徒步多達6小時才能到達水源。2018至2019年大旱,大量農民無法生存,20萬人被迫舉家離鄉,只求覓得一線生機。

14歲的阿斯是其中一個負責替家人打水的孩子,他說:「有時我未完成功課,就要離家打水;回家以後,我卻無法繼續,因為已經太疲倦了。」旱天時,阿斯需要騎驢上山,從山嶺取泉水回家;到冬季,取水工作就更加困難。

有了宣明會的供水設施,阿斯無需長途取水,笑逐顏開。

阿富汗郊區和小鎮的路都崎嶇不平,孩子們打水要走的路長達3至6小時。

打水的重擔通常落在阿富汗孩子身上,無分男女,有些年紀只得幾歲。

參加慈善步行,用你5,000步,換阿富汗孩子不必再走冤枉路!



善款用途

是次活動所籌得的款項,將支持宣明會於阿富汗提供水利設施、糧食保障及生計改善等的工作,協助受惡劣環境影響而失去生計及家園的兒童和家庭,助他們重建生活,重獲健康,重拾盼望。

HK$350

為3名農夫提供農耕培訓, 教授收集雨水及高效運用水資源的灌溉方法

HK$700

為1名農夫提供抗旱種子,減低農耕所需的耗水量

HK$1,400

資助添置灌溉設施的費用 ,提高灌溉效率






*清水灣鄉村俱樂部全力協辦是次活動,包括提供活動及場地統籌、交通費用、餐飲、工藝坊及表演活動支出。



香港世界宣明會為一有限責任形式成立的基督教救援及發展機構,旨在為貧窮的兒童、家庭及社區帶來長遠的改變。
© 2020香港世界宣明會版權所有 | 有關善款之運用及監管,請按此進入捐款運用