About Us

About Us

Vision Statement

Our vision for every child, life in all its fullness;
Our prayer for every heart, the will to make it so.


Mission Statement

World Vision is an international partnership of Christians whose mission is to follow our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ in working with the poor and oppressed to promote human transformation, seek justice, and bear witness to the good news of the Kingdom of God.

Core Values

We have identified six core values at the centre of World Vision's work. These are the fundamental principles of our commitment to each other and to the poor.

Beginning with Five Dollars

While on a trip to China in 1947, a young American reporter, Dr Bob Pierce, met Tena Hoelkedoer, a female missionary in Xiamen. She arranged for him to talk to some children there. On the last day, she brought with her a poor girl named Baiyu (meaning white jade). After hearing Pierce’s words, Baiyu told her father that she wanted to go to school. However, she was scolded, beaten and thrown out of her family.

Pierce wanted to help this precious soul, so he gave Ms Tena all that he had which was just five dollars. Ms Tena used it to buy food and clothes for Baiyu and send her to school. She asked Pierce to send the same amount each month after returning home so that she could continue to look after Baiyu.


Prototype of Child Sponsorship

This encounter marked the turning point in Pierce’s life. In 1950, he founded World Vision, with the aim of helping poverty-stricken children around the world. That five dollars set the prototype of the Child Sponsorship Programme. The first Child Sponsorship Programme began a few years later in response to the needs of hundreds of thousands of orphans at the end of the Korean War in 1953. It was later extended to other Asian countries, and places such as Latin America, Africa, Eastern Europe and the Middle East.

Today, monthly contributions from child sponsors enable World Vision to provide impoverished children and their communities with access to clean water, nutritious food, healthcare, education, and economic opportunities, enabling them to become self-reliant. World Vision is a living tribute to Pierce’s work.


World Vision Hong Kong

In 1962, Typhoon Wanda hit Hong Kong severely. World Vision distributed relief supplies in Hong Kong, and later set up its first field office in the territory. With the economic recovery in Hong Kong, World Vision Hong Kong turned itself into a fundraising office in 1982, supporting the relief and development work of World Vision offices worldwide. Today, the people of Hong Kong is sponsoring over 200,000 children living in poverty, helping to fund World Vision Hong Kong’s international long-term Area Development Programmes. World Vision Hong Kong also promotes public education, raising public awareness about global issues such as poverty, hunger, health and child rights.

Governing Body

Hong Kong Board of Directors (Effective Date:20 December 2016)

The Board is made up of volunteer members from Hong Kong and a representative from World Vision International. It monitors the plans and activities of World Vision Hong Kong.

  • Mr. Sui-see YUEN (Chair)
  • Dr. Cecil Shu-on CHAN (Vice Chair)
  • Mrs. Ingrid KWOK (Vice Chair)
  • Mr. Edmond Chiu-kong CHAN (Honorary Treasurer)
  • Dr. Thomas Sze-tong CHAN; Mr. Ming-han DU; Ms. Julian Yin-fong HO; Mr. Daniel Wai-sang LO; Mr. Joseph Yuen-shun LU; Rev. Sau-wah SIU; Ms. Helen Hing-lun TANG

Chief Executive Officer

  • Mr. Kevin CHIU

關於我們

我們的使命

抱負

委身讓每個孩子活出豐盛生命;
祈求使每顆心靈宏志得以達成。


使命宣言

世界宣明會為一個國際性基督教的組織,其使命是效法耶穌基督,服侍貧窮及受壓制的人,促進人類生命的改變,尋求公義,見證天國的福音。

核心信念

在世界宣明會的工作中,我們確認了六個核心信念,成為我們彼此委身及服務貧窮人的基本原則。

從五元開始

1947年,一名年輕的美籍記者卜皮爾博士來到中國了解需要。他在廈門接受韓家寶女傳教士的邀請,跟一些孩子見面。告別那天,韓女士帶來可憐的小女孩白玉。白玉因聽了卜皮爾的話,跟爸爸說要上學,慘遭打罵,還被趕出家門!

卜皮爾很想幫助這寶貴的生命,便將身上僅餘的五元交給韓女士。韓女士為白玉買吃的和穿的,並讓她上學。韓女士更叮囑卜皮爾回國後每月寄來五元,讓她繼續照顧白玉。


助養兒童的雛型

這個經歷成了卜皮爾人生的轉捩點。他終於在1950年成立了世界宣明會,致力幫助世上貧困孩子。那五元,亦為日後的「助養兒童計劃」定下了雛型。數年後,為回應1953年韓戰結束後孤兒的需要,第一個「助養兒童計劃」展開,隨後計劃更擴展至亞洲其他國家、拉丁美洲、非洲、東歐及中東等地。

時至今日,助養者的每月捐款,使宣明會得以在助養孩子的社區長遠發展水利、糧食生產、醫療保健及教育等範疇,協助提升村民的能力,幫助孩子的家庭及社區逐步解決貧窮問題,長遠建立一個脫貧自立的社區。今日的宣明會就是卜皮爾努力的明證。


香港世界宣明會

1962年颱風溫黛吹襲香港,世界宣明會在港派發賑災物資,並隨後正式成立辦事處。隨着香港經濟起飛,香港世界宣明會於1982年轉為籌款辦事處,支持宣明會在世界各地的救援及發展工作。現時香港人助養逾200,000名貧困地區的孩子,支持宣明會在各地推行長遠的「區域發展項目」。宣明會亦積極推廣公共教育,喚起市民對貧窮、飢餓、健康及兒童權利等議題的關注。

管治架構

香港董事會

董事會由香港各界人士及國際世界宣明會委派代表組成,義務監管香港世界宣明會的計劃及活動。

  • 阮水師先生(主席)
  • 陳樹安博士(副主席)
  • 郭梁潔芹女士(副主席)
  • 陳朝光先生(名譽財政)
  • 何燕芳女士、呂元信先生、杜明翰先生、林正財醫生、陳思堂醫生、鄧慶倫女士、盧偉生先生、蕭壽華牧師

總幹事

  • 趙煥明先生