Children in Conflict

Children in Conflict

According to UNHCR’s 2016 report Global Trends, the number of forced displacement due to conflict and persecution has hit record high. In 2015, forced displacement reached 65.3 million, or one person in 113. The rate of people being displaced is stunning. In 2015, an average of 24 people were displaced every minute, four times more than a decade ago when only six people fled.


UNHCR concludes three reasons for the staggering rate of forced displacement over the past five years:

  • Prolonged conflicts that cause large refugee outflows, like Somalia and Afghanistan
  • Dramatic new or reignited conflicts and situations of insecurity are occurring more frequently, like Syria, South Sudan, Yemen, Burundi, Ukraine and Central African Republic, and some countries in Central America
  • Limited options available for refugees and internally displaced people

Displaced population can be classified as below:

  • Internally Displaced Person (IDP): One forced to leave its home due to wars and persecution within one’s own country
  • Refugee: One displaced across borders due to wars and persecution to another country
  • Asylum-seeker: One who, for fear of persecution in its own country, has sought refuge in another country, in hope to be granted refugee status



Who

As the number of global crises grows continually, nearly 250 million children in the world are now living in conflict-affected countries and areas. They are confronted with physical harm, diseases, trauma and exploitation.

A fundamental problem is that the laws of conflict zones do not provide enough protection for children. There are loopholes in implementing the existing law, and the lack of local awareness on the issue remains a huge setback.

Physically weak, children are often maimed, wounded or killed in conflict, and were prone to the long-term psychological trauma brought by the loss of their loved ones.

When running for their lives, many children could not keep up and became separated from their family members. Some children even witness brutal attacks of family and friends, became orphaned which further exposed them to many risks including abduction, violence, sexual abuse and recruitment into armed forces.

Sources: UNICEF (2016)

What

Child Soldier

About 250,000 children, some as young as 7, are involved in armed conflicts. They are targeted because they are easy to convince, control and are less likely to rebel. Some become soldiers by military recruitment, coercion or abduction, or simply to escape from hunger or poverty. Both boys and girls participate in armed conflicts to perform different duties, including combatants, porters, spies and human mine detectors. Girls are often forced to be sex slaves.

Being child soldiers, not only are their health and lives at risk, their childhood is also sacrificed. They may also become desensitised to violence during their formative years. Their unpleasant experience may lead to psychological trauma. The rates of anxiety, depression, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and suicide among these children are relatively high.


Physical and Mental Health

Wars and conflicts take away children’s right to all kinds of protection: basic needs, essential services like healthcare and education, family protection and psychological support. Children are often malnourished and at risk of death from various preventable diseases like diarrhoea, cholera and malaria.

The mental health of children in conflict are severely affected due to the continued stress faced, including injury, witnessing terrifying situations and losing their loved ones. They have higher chances to develop depression and other emotional, mental and behavioural disorders. It is more likely for children who are exposed to adverse situations to suffer from heart, lung and liver diseases in adulthood.

They all have profound and lasting effects on their socio-emotional well-being and brain development, affecting their abilities to concentrate, learn, memorise things, and control emotions.

Listen to the stories of these children:



Denial of Education

One in four of school-age children (6-15 years old) living in conflict areas are out of school. Low educational attainment is prevalent among children in conflicts, especially among girls.

Schools are often the target of attack which puts students and teachers at risk of death or injury, and causes students to attend school less often or drop out of schools. Even when the conflict ends, children usually cannot immediately return to school.

Denial of education has one of the greatest impacts on children, in other words, they are deprived of the knowledge and skills they need for survival, make a living, and rebuild their countries and economies when war ends.


Sexual Violence and Early Marriage

Majority of the displaced population are women and children, as men are either killed in conflicts or stay back home to fight. Whether they are on the run, or resettling in overcrowded reception sites and refugee camps, women and children are at high risk of being sexually abused. Worse still, since being sexual harassed and abused is shameful to the girls in some of their culture, many sexual violence cases are kept unreported by the girls and their families. UNHCR has also received reports and testimonies indicating that some children were “engaging in survival sex in order to pay smugglers to continue their journey”.

There is a phenomenon in the refugee communities that in order to “protect” girls from sexual abuse, families forced their girls to marry at a young age. However, sexual abuse and violence may also happen inside the family.

Child Labour

Conflicts drive children to become the joint or only breadwinner in the family. In Lebanon, some Syrian refugee children are only six years old when they begin to work. They work six to seven days a week as casual workers for over 8 hours a day, earning daily income from US$4 to US$7.

Types of work done by children:

  • Farm worker
  • Street work (selling drinks and food, shining shoes, working in parking lots and begging)
  • Working in shops and restaurants
  • Working in construction sites


Because of the poor working condition and lack of protection, these working children are susceptible to health problems and injuries. The most frustrating fact is that poor health and lack of education is making them more difficult to escape from the vicious cycle of poverty.


Source: UNHCR, UNICEF, International Labour Organization (ILO)

Why

War and conflicts happen every day across the world, in the Middle East, Africa and many other countries. The causes of war and conflicts are complicated, intertwined with a range of factors – economic, political and social. They can be crudely grouped under 3 Rs: resources, race and religion, but none of them stands alone to be a sole cause of conflict.


Resources

Natural resources, like oil, minerals, forest, water and fertile land is an important source of income and power, and even determinants for survival and livelihood. When resources are poorly managed, distributed or controlled in an unfair or unequal manner, which happen in most developing countries, it becomes a major driver of conflict or instability.

In the Middle East, constant cross-border conflicts are driven by scarce resources like fertile land and water, and high value resource like oil. The effects of environmental degradation caused by climate change have further multiplied the threat on the poorly managed resource.


Race

Race-based diversity is manifested in divided religion, language and culture. The Rwandan Genocide in 1994 between Hutu and Tutsi had an estimated 800,000 people killed in 100 days. Sometimes race and religion factors are tied together, like the civil war in Sri Lanka in 1983 between the Buddhist Sinhalese majority and the Hindu Tamil minority.


Religion

Religion is both a powerful drive of conflict and a resource to peace-making. While religion may not be the core reason for the conflict in every instance, it has some influence. Religious conviction certainly was one of the motivations for the 11 September 2001 attack and other violent actions by Muslim extremists around the world.

Where

The top three countries that produce half the world’s refugees are:


Whether voluntary or not, many of the neighbouring countries become the host countries for the mass influx of the refugees. The top three recipient countries are:


As for the internally displaced, the top three countries are:


Source: UNHCR, Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC)

How We Help

Children are often the most vulnerable amidst armed conflict and violence. Our work among these children aims to eliminate barriers to their survival and assist them to recover from a tough start in life.

Short term

1. Emergency Assistance

World Vision supports refugees on the move by giving them the much-needed aid, such as food, health assistance, hygiene support, baby kits, water and sanitation, shelter kits, stove and winter supplies.

For instance, the prolonged civil war in Syria has displaced millions of people internally and in other neighbouring countries. World Vision has started working among the refugees since 2011 to offer various kinds of support, especially for children. (Read more)


2. Child Friendly Spaces

At refugee camps and host communities, World Vision runs Child Friendly Spaces which provide refugee children with psycho-social support and counselling. That would help them cope with their memories of distressing experiences which would otherwise have long-term repercussions and affect their whole lives. (Read more)


3. Education in Emergencies

Education and recreation are essential to children. Children staying in an alien country may not integrate into the host community’s education system and society. Therefore, language classes and tutorials are offered. (Read more)


Long term

World Vision pursues peace-building among children and adolescents. We believe societies should – and can – be made safer for children. World Vision is part of a global partnership that brings together stakeholders from across the world to end all forms of violence against children, turning the belief that no violence against children is justifiable and all violence is preventable into a compelling agenda for action.

At community level, World Vision engages the local community on good conflict mitigation measures, as a prevention against resorting to violence as the mean to resolve disagreement. (Read more)

Ways you can help :

戰亂中的孩子

戰亂中的孩子

根據聯合國難民署(UNHCR)最新全球報告,因戰亂與迫害導致流離失所的人口屢創新高,在2015年更高達6,530萬,即每113人中,便有1人遭受流離之苦。而流離失所人口的上升趨勢甚為驚人,在2015年,每分鐘便有24人失去家園,是十年前(僅六人)的四倍。


聯合國難民署就近五年難民數字大大上升的現象,提出了三個主要原因:

  • 漫長的戰亂,引致大量難民流徙,像在索馬里和阿富汗等地區
  • 新爆發的大型戰亂或重燃的衝突不斷增加,像敘利亞、南蘇丹、也門、布隆迪、烏克蘭、中非共和國和一些中美洲國家的情況
  • 難民和在境內流離失所的人出路有限

被迫逃離家園的人,可以分為以下三類:

  • 境內流徙人士:因國家內戰或迫害,而導致在自身國家流離失所的人
  • 難民:因戰亂或迫害而逃離自己國家的人
  • 尋求庇護人士:因恐懼自身國家所帶來的迫害,而以難民身份向其他國家尋求庇護的人



誰受影響

國際危機持續增加,令全球近二億五千萬兒童正身處受戰亂影響的國家或地區。兒童每天處於驚懼之中,並持續面對病痛、被剝削,以及身體和精神上的創傷。

問題的根源,是因為在這些戰亂地區,並沒有法律特別保障這些孩子。即使各界持續致力立法,現時的法律依然存在著漏洞,而這些地區仍對有關問題缺乏關注,令問題難以解決。

脆弱的孩子不懂得保護自己,在戰亂中容易遭受傷害,甚至喪失生命;亦會因失去摰親,而造成長期心理創傷。

在戰火中逃命的時候,小孩常因為跟不上隊伍而與家人失散分離。當中有些孩子甚至目睹家人和朋友遭受殘酷襲擊,又或是變成孤兒而增加被綁架、施暴、性虐待和強迫充軍的風險。

資料來源:聯合國兒童基金會(2016)

有何影響

童兵

約有25萬兒童參與在軍事戰爭中,其中最小的年僅7歲。他們成為招攬入伍的目標,因為較容易被說服、控制和較少機會反抗。有些孩子經徵召、受壓或被擄而成為童兵,亦有些只是希望逃避飢餓和貧窮。無論男孩女孩都參軍,他們履行不同的職務,例如:參戰、當腳夫、間諜,甚至是人肉地雷探測者;女孩子通常淪為性奴。

當童兵不單讓他們的健康受影響,生活在風險中,也犧牲了他們的童年。成年之後,他們很可能對暴力行為感到麻木;不愉快的經歷,也會造成心理創傷,令他們容易產生焦慮、抑鬱,患上創傷後壓力失調(PTSD)和自殺的比率相當高。


身體與心理健康

戰亂令孩子失去應有的保障:從基本需要、醫療服務、教育機會、家庭保護以致心理支援。孩子容易患上營養不良,並受到很多本可預防的疾病,如:腹瀉、霍亂和瘧疾所威脅,而增加死亡風險。

這些孩子的心理健康因持續承受壓力,包括傷患,或目睹摯親喪命,而深受嚴重影響。他們更容易患上抑鬱症或其他情緒、心理上、行為上的失調;亦因為身處惡劣環境,而增加長大後患上心、肺、肝疾病的風險。

由於社交和大腦發展受到持續破壞,影響到他們難以專注學習、記憶,控制情緒亦遇到一定障礙。

讓我們聽聽這些孩子的心聲:



失去教育機會

居住在戰亂地區中,每四名學齡兒童(6-15歲)便有一名輟學。身處戰亂地區的孩子普遍低學歷,尤其是女孩子。

學校經常成為戰火中被攻擊的目標,師生須面對受傷或死亡風險,導致學生減少到學校上課,甚而退學。即使戰爭結束,這些孩子通常不會立即復課。

失去教育機會,對孩子的影響很大。在戰爭結束後,他們因欠缺知識和謀生技能,沒有能力參與重建國家和經濟。


性暴力和早婚

男性在戰亂中或是參軍,或是遇害,因此在流離失所的人口中,大多數是婦孺。他們無論是逃命、或被安頓在過於擠逼的難民營或臨時居所,都很容易遭受性侵犯。更糟糕的是,在一些國家的文化裡,遭受性侵犯是可恥的,所以許多受害女孩和她們的家人往往會隱瞞這些性暴力事件。聯合國難民署更接獲個案,顯示有孩子以「性」作為走私者的報酬,以換取繼續行程。

在這些難民群體中出現了一種現象,就是為了「保護」女孩子免受性侵犯,很多家庭會強逼他們的女孩子早婚。但可悲的是,性虐待和暴力同樣會在家庭內發生。

童工

戰亂迫使孩子成為家庭唯一或重要的經濟支柱。在黎巴嫩,有年僅六歲的敘利亞難民兒童已開始工作。他們以散工形式,平均每週工作六至七天,每天超過8小時,但一天的收入卻只有$4-7美元。

童工擔任的工種:

  • 農田工人
  • 街頭工作 (售賣飲品、食物、擦鞋、在停車場工作和行乞等)
  • 在商店和餐廳工作
  • 在建築工地工作


因為工作環境惡劣,缺乏保護,這些童工的健康備受威脅,身體亦容易受到損傷。令人沮喪的事實是:惡劣的健康狀況和缺乏教育機會,令他們更難走出貧窮的惡性循環。


資料來源:聯合國難民署、聯合國兒童基金會、國際勞工組織

為何發生

戰亂和衝突,每天都在世界不同地方發生。在中東、非洲和很多國家,戰亂的起因很複雜,往往夾雜了經濟、政治和社會等因素,大致可歸納為3Rs:資源(Resources)、種族(Race)和宗教(Religion),但沒有一項足以成為引發戰亂的單一原因。


資源 (Resources)

油、礦、森林、水源和肥沃土地等天然資源,不單是收入和權力的重要來源,更對生存和生計起了決定性的影響。資源管理失當、被不公平瓜分和控制,就容易引發衝突和不穩,這情況在發展中國家相當普遍。

在中東,持續的跨邊境衝突,經常因肥沃土地和水源等稀有資源和石油等高價資源所導致。而氣候變化引發的自然災害所帶來的後果,使惡劣的資源分配威脅進一步惡化。


種族 (Race)

宗教、語言和文化上的分割,突顯了種族的多樣性。在1994年的盧旺達大屠殺中,胡圖族(Hutu)與圖西族 (Tutsi)兩族之間的衝突,在100天內約有80萬人被殺。而有時候,種族與宗教因素緊密相連,好像1983年斯里蘭卡佛教錫蘭群眾與印度教泰米爾少數民族的衝突,就是一個例子。


宗教 (Religion)

宗教既是衝突的強大誘因,同時也是維持和平關係的重要資源。雖然宗教不一定是衝突的主因,卻有一定程度的影響力。宗教信念的而且確是其中一個促使穆斯林於2001年9月11日,在世界各地發動襲擊的原因。

何處發生

首三個最大難民輸出國的難民數目,已佔了全球難民半數,它們是:


無論是自願與否,許多周邊國家收容了大量湧入的難民,令這些國家在國際政治領域和境內社群中,構成經濟、社會和政治張力。接收難民數目最多的三個國家是:


境內流徙人口最高的三個國家是:


資料來源:聯合國難民署、Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre

如何改善

孩子在戰亂衝突中,往往是最脆弱的一群。我們的工作,就是致力排除孩子生存的障礙,協助他們渡過嚴峻的挑戰。

短期工作

1. 提供應急物資

宣明會致力幫助難民,為他們提供應急物資,例如:糧食、健康及衛生支援、嬰兒用品包、水利衛生、臨時住宿用品、爐具和禦寒用品等。

敘利亞內戰,造成逾千萬人流離失所。宣明會在2011年開始為難民,特別是孩子,提供不同形式的支援。(了解更多


2. 設立「兒童天地」

宣明會在難民營及接收難民的社區成立「兒童天地」,為難民孩子提供心理輔導和支援,幫助他們處理創傷經驗,走出陰霾,以免長遠影響日後的生活。(了解更多


3. 語言學習班

教育和遊戲對孩子相當重要,對一群到達陌生國家的小孩子來說,卻很難融入當地社區的教育系統,因此需要為這些孩子提供語言學習班。(了解更多


長期工作

我們致力為孩子和青少年,追求和平和保障。我們相信,社會應該並可以給予孩子一個安全的成長環境。宣明會是全球其中一個伙伴,努力與各地持份者合作,制訂議程,實踐行動,包括:終止所有對孩子不同形式的暴力傷害,改變對孩子施以暴力合理化的觀念,和避免所有暴力發生。

在社區層面,宣明會積極在區內推行減低衝突的措施,避免人民以暴力來解決分歧。(了解更多