Climate Change

Click here to download (PDF)


What does climate change mean to you? How much do you know or understand about this term? Though many scientists and environmentalists have warned the world of the potential danger and irreversible consequences of climate change, such as the increasingly rapid retreat of glaciers, most people still pay little attention or simply don’t care enough to adjust the way they live to protect the earth, especially those living in areas where no imminent climate impacts and risks have been felt, yet.

Although there are different opinions and attitudes held towards climate change, one indisputable fact is that eventually, every person will be affected and no one can escape from it. It is only a matter of when and how hard it will hit you. Therefore, it will be wise for us to learn more about this topic and see what we can do to save our earth and live more sustainably!

What

According to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), climate change refers to a change of climate that is attributed directly or indirectly to human activity that alters the composition of the global atmosphere and that is in addition to natural climate variability observed over comparable time period.

Climate change: How do we know?

  1. Sea level rise
  2. The two major causes of global sea level rise are thermal expansion of the oceans (water expands as it warms) and additional water flows into the oceans from ice that melts on land.

    The rise has happened more rapidly in the past few decades. According to NASA, between 1993 and 2013, sea levels rose by 1.7 mm per year - almost twice the long term average.

  3. Global warming
  4. According to the UN’s World Meteorological Organisation, 13 of the 14 warmest years on record occurred in the 21st century. In the Northern Hemisphere, where most of Earth's land mass is located, the three decades from 1983 to 2012 were likely the warmest 30-year period of the last 1,400 years.

  5. Extreme weather events
  6. Climate change has increased the likelihood of severe weather events such as storms, flooding, heat waves, and droughts, which are among the key risks of global warming that poses the greatest threat to humans in the near future.

  7. Melting of glaciers and ice sheets
  8. Glaciers are retreating almost everywhere around the world. A recent study by NASA has found that rapid retreat of ice in the Amundsen sea sector of West Antarctica is unstoppable. Its disappearance will likely trigger the collapse of the rest of the West Antarctic ice sheet, which comes with a sea level rise of between three and five metres. Such an event will displace millions of people worldwide.

The El Niño Phenomenon

About 400 years ago, El Niño phenomenon was first recognised by a group of fishermen in Latin America when they experienced unusually warm water in the Pacific Ocean. El Niño is a warming of the central to eastern Pacific Ocean, raising sea surface temperatures by 0.5-1.5°C or more, that occurs every three to seven years.

El Niño affects weather conditions where some places experience increased rainfall while others experience drought, leading to extreme weather around the globe (UNOCHA). The frequency and intensity of El Niño have increased by global warming caused by greenhouse-gas emissions in recent years.

What is the impact of El Niño?

Impact of El Niño is worldwide which include:

  • Asia Pacific Region: Drought and forest fire
  • Latin America: Flash flood causing decrease in fishery and crop failure
  • Africa: Drought and erratic rainfall leading to crop failure and food shortage. Africa is the region facing the most extreme risk as it is the one that can least afford the impact of El Niño
  • Find out more about impact of El Niño on global food security.

Climate change in Hong Kong

Hong Kong has been called the “fortunate land” (福地) because in the past 50 years or so, we have not experienced any natural disaster that result in widespread casualties and damages, unlike some of our neighbours in China who suffer terrible floods, droughts or earthquakes.

However, does it mean we are free from the impacts of climate change and global warming?

On March 30, 2014, Hong Kong and Southern China were hit by torrential rain and hail storm. Although we have had black rainstorm warning before, this one had caused some of the worst property damage and floodings in the street, shops and MTR stations.

“Over a period of 3 to 4 hours, more than 100 millimetres of rainfall were recorded in Kowloon and the New Territories…The hourly rainfall of 56 millimetres recorded at the Hong Kong Observatory between 9 and 10 p.m. on 30 March was the highest in March since record began in 1884. The Black Rainstorm Warning was issued at 8:40 p.m., the first time in March since the Rainstorm Warning System commenced operation in 1992.”The Weather of March 2014, Hong Kong Observatory

The rainstorm had taken many by surprise as they never imagined seeing a “waterfall” inside a mall. It has also led some to think more seriously about the reasons behind the increasingly severe rainfall in Hong Kong in recent years, and what future rainstorms or typhoons might look like.

In fact, climate change has been happening more rapidly in the past few decades, even without us noticing. Rising temperature, mean sea level rise and more extreme weather events including heavy rainfall and strong typhoons have been observed in Hong Kong. You can find more relevant information and statistics from the Hong Kong Observatory’s website.

Apart from the already mentioned impacts of climate change, the following issues also worth our attention:

  1. Flooding
  2. With heavier precipitations, overstrained drainage systems and groundwater pollution could lead to possible disease, damage to property, soil degradation and personal injury.

  3. Heat Waves
  4. Heat waves and dangerously hot days with the potential to cause death and severe health problems are likely to bring an increase in heat-related deaths, particularly among the elderly and the outdoor workers.

  5. Health Impacts
  6. Increase in health problems associated with heat exhaustion, respiratory problems and air pollution. In Hong Kong, if temperature were to rise by 3°C, the likelihood of an increase in the epidemic potential of malaria would rise by nearly 20%, according to a report by Environmental Protection.

  7. Depletion of Natural Resources
  8. Hong Kong has the 15th largest per capita ecological footprint in the world, also number one in Asia according to a WWF. It is estimated that the planet needs 1 year to regenerate the natural resources we use in a single year. If we continue to maintain our over-spending consumption patterns, we are only exacerbating the imbalance between human needs and the finite resources of the world.

Impact

Impacts of Climate Change and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

At the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit on 25 September 2015, world leaders adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which includes a set of 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, fight inequality and injustice, and tackle climate change by 2030 (UNDP 2015).

In the last decade, the MDGs succeeded in mobilising support for development and led to some success in the fight against hunger, diseases and illiteracy. However, despite these achievements, climate crises have posed an increasingly serious threat to international development efforts.

Often, the poorest and most vulnerable suffer the most from the consequences of climate change, including natural disasters.

Goal 13 of SDGs: “Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts”, directly responds to the issue of climate change.


Summary of Goal 13: Climate Action

  • Strengthen resilience and adaptive capacity to climate-related hazards and natural disasters in all countries
  • Integrate climate change measures into national policies, strategies and planning
  • Improve education, awareness-raising and international capacity on climate change mitigation, adaptation, impact reduction and early warning
  • Implement the commitment undertaken by developed-country parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change to address the needs of developing countries in the context of meaningful mitigation actions and transparency on implementation
  • Strengthen capacity for effective planning and management in least developed countries and small islands, including focusing on women, youth and local and marginalised communities

Climate change affects everyone everywhere

In the previous section, we look at some of the direct results of climate change such as sea level rise and temperature increase. The above table, however, shows us some of the indirect impacts of climate change, ranging from food and water shortage to public health issues.

A 2014 report from the UN’s climate science panel also connected climate change to rising food prices and political instability. Overall speaking, climate change has become more relevant to communities because they are directly affecting people, not just the natural environment any more.

Although climate change tends to affect the poor in developing countries the most, no one can choose to stay out of its reach. In developed countries, such as Hong Kong, we also feel the direct and indirect impact of global warming, much fuelled by the emissions of greenhouse gases.

Why

Increased burning of fossil fuel

Most climate scientists agree that the main cause of the current global warming trend is human expansion of the greenhouse effect. The greenhouse gases act like a blanket that keeps the earth warm and shields it from the cold of universe. They trap a good amount of heat required for life on earth.

However, too much of a good thing can have a negative impact. Human activities on earth are changing the delicate balance of this natural greenhouse. As humans try to satisfy the endless hunger for energy through the unlimited burning of fossil fuels, the concentration of atmospheric carbon dioxide (CO2) has increased by a third since the Industrial Revolution began.

Along with the increase of other greenhouse gases, this “thickened layer” of thermal blanket is trapping more heat and energy than needed, resulting in a rise in temperature of the Earth.

Increasing deforestation

On the other hand, climate change is also driven by increasing deforestation, which is cutting trees and clearing forests on a massive scale. People cut down forests for different reasons but the biggest driver of deforestation has been agriculture. Many small farmers lack the knowledge and technologies to plant crops or graze livestock in more sustainable ways.

Growing urban sprawl, and logging operations, which provide the world’s wood and paper products, also cut countless trees each year.

Excessive deforestation has a negative impact on our environment because trees play a critical role in absorbing the greenhouse gases that fuel global warming. With fewer forests, larger amounts of greenhouse gases will be trapped in the atmosphere.

In conclusion, human influence has been detected in warming of the atmosphere and the ocean, in changes in the global water cycle, in reductions in snow and ice, in global mean sea level rise, and in changes in some climate extremes.

How We Help

Why is World Vision, as a development agency that primarily focuses on poverty alleviation, involved in climate change related programmes?

When people think about the primary needs of poor and hungry children, the most straight forward answers would be food, water, education and healthcare, seldom would they think of areas such as sustainable reforestation or efficient energy projects.

However, it has been increasingly evident and obvious that the impacts of climate change (e.g. extreme weather events) will hit vulnerable populations hardest because they often lack the resources and capacity to cope with an increasingly unpredictable envronment. Research and studies have also shown that patterns of persisting poverty coincide with areas of high climatic vulnerability.

On the other hand, communities in developing countries tend to rely on agriculture as their main source of food and income. With only increasingly degraded natural resources to work with, subsistence farmers are particularly vulnerable to climate change.

Our approach

World Vision works with vulnerable communities to increase their resilience to climate change. In doing so, we support communities in climate change through two major approaches:

  1. Mitigation: Avoid the unmanageable
    This approach involves reducing carbon dioxide gas emissions and stopping the problem of climate change from growing. This means burning less fossil fuel (coal, oil and natural gas) and introducing clean energy and energy-efficient approaches.
    Another way to reduce carbon dioxide in the atmosphere is reforestation and the conservation of existing forests that helps absorbing carbon dioxide, a major greenhouse gas, in the atmosphere.
  2. Adaptation: Manage the unavoidable
    Adaptation involves learning how to live with existing climate change and protecting ourselves from the future effects of climate change. For example, this includes farmers growing drought resistant crops and learning new ways in ‘climate-smart’ agricultural interventions and sustainable land management practices.
    World Vision Australia has a dedicated Food Security and Climate Change team that develop and oversee a pipeline of global development projects with communities, governments and world-class partners across Africa, South America, South Asia and the Pacific region. For more details, please visit their information hub which includes a wealth of knowledge and project information in this area.

World Vision Australia's Natural Resource Management Advisor, Tony Rinaudo, pioneered FMNR in Niger during the 1983 famine and is regarded as the leading expert in FMNR worldwide.

What is Farmer Managed Natural Regeneration (FMNR)?

Farmer Managed Natural Regeneration (FMNR) is a low-cost land restoration technique used to combat poverty and hunger amongst poor subsistence farmers by increasing food and timber production and resilience to climate extremes.

In practice, FMNR involves the systematic regrowth and management of trees and shrubs from felled tree stumps, sprouting root systems or seeds. The regrown trees and shrubs – integrated into crops and grazing pastures – help restore soil structure and fertility, inhibit erosion and soil moisture evaporation, rehabilitate springs and the water table, and increase biodiversity. Some tree species also impart nutrients such as nitrogen into the soil.

As a result, FMNR can double crop yields, provide building timber and firewood, fodder and shade for livestock, wild foods for nutrition and medication, and increased incomes and living standards for farming families and their communities.


Continuous grazing, cutting for firewood and clearing and burning of land for cultivation leads to deforestation. However, many tree species have the ability to sprout from stumps and roots after they are cut down.

FMNR Steps - The basic method of FMNR is simple


  1. Protect and allow plants and tree stumps to grow on your farm.
  2. Survey your farm and see how many and what species of trees are present; then select the better stems which will be pruned and cut off the excess stems.
  3. A good farmer will return every 2-6 months for a touch up pruning that stimulates growth and produces straighter stems.

Benefits – FMNR contributes directly to:


  1. Plenty firewood and improved welfare of women and children
  2. Fodder for animals
  3. Improved crop yield through soil enrichment
  4. Improved local economy through sale of harvest and non-timber forest products
  5. Improved water infiltration and hence groundwater recharge
  6. Cost effective and large scale land reclamation and forest regeneration

In response to extreme weather events, what does World Vision do?

World Vision acts: before, during and after disasters strike.

To be able to help communities affected by disasters, World Vision needs to ensure readiness before the emergency strikes.

Most regions where World Vision works maintain their own stockpiles of relief items, such as tarpaulins, household kits and water carriers, plus reliable access to emergency food supplies. In addition to this, World Vision’s strategically located disaster response warehouses are pre-stocked with relief supplies, allowing the organisation to ship vital aid supplies – water purification tablets, shelter materials, cooking utensils and blankets, for example – without delay.

Disaster teams in each country work with communities on disaster preparedness, including risk recognition, evacuations and early warning systems. Click here for more updates and details of our relief work.

Floods explained

Tsunami explained

Hurricanes, typhoons and
cyclones explained

How can you respond?

  1. Adjust your lifestyle to minimise carbon emission
    WEAR low carbon:Purchase durable clothes. Buy only what you need and what you will wear for years. Remember that producing new clothes consumes energy and resources.
    EAT low carbon: Eating more vegetable and less red meat is good for both your health and the environment. Choose seasonal food and support local produce will also help reduce energy consumption and carbon emission due to shorter transport distance. In addition, excessive chemicals and packaging can be avoided with simple fresh keeping procedures.
    LIVE low carbon: Choose energy-efficient appliances. In Hong Kong, air conditioner is the number one electricity-consuming household appliance. By keeping a reasonable temperature (e.g. 25℃) or use it alternately with fans, less heat and carbon will be released.
    TRAVEL low carbon: If your destination is within walking distance, allow yourself enough time to go by foot. Otherwise, public transport in Hong Kong is plentiful and convenient, make good use of it! If you must drive, consider the followings to lower carbon emissions:
    - Keep your tires fully inflated can save up to 460kg of carbon dioxide per year (WWF)
    - Go hybrid. Hybrid or low-emission cars are less polluting.
    - Give your friends a ride. A full car is more efficient!

  2. Sponsor a child and empower poor communities
    As climate change persists, poor communities are likely to encounter more challenges in their living. Through Child Sponsorship, sponsored children will receive nourishment in different areas, including nutrition, education and health. Your donation will not only help your sponsored child, but also the community he/she lives in. In disaster prone areas, World Vision will incorporate disaster preparedness and risk reduction elements into the projects to build up community’s resilience to natural disasters.

Ways you can help:

氣候變化

按此下載(PDF)

氣候變化對你有甚麼意義?你又了解多少?雖然不少科學家和環保人士一直警告,氣候變化會對世界帶來潛在的危險和無法挽回的後果,例如冰川範圍急速縮小;不過,很多人對此仍漠不關心,更遑論是改變生活習慣去保護地球,尤其是那些仍未親身感受到氣候變化的影響的一群。

雖然各方對氣候變化抱持不同意見和態度,但無可否認,最終每個人都會受到影響,無一倖免,只是視乎時間和受影響程度而已。所以,多點了解氣候變化,看看自己可以做些甚麼救救地球,是我們能夠持續生活下去的明智之舉!

發生何事

根據《聯合國氣候變化框架公約》(UNFCCC) ,氣候變化定義為經過一段相當時間的觀察,在自然氣候變化以外,由人類活動直接或間接地改變全球大氣組成所導致的氣候改變。

我們如何知道氣候變化的存在?

  1. 海平面上升
  2. 全球海平面上升的兩個主因是海洋升溫(海水變暖而膨脹),以及陸地冰塊融化後流入海洋。

    根據美國國家航空航天局(NASA),海平面於過去幾十年急劇上升。僅於1993年至2013年期間,海平面每年就上升了1.7毫米,幾乎是長期平均數的兩倍。

  3. 全球暖化
  4. 根據聯合國世界氣象組織的資料顯示,自有記錄以來,14個最暖年份中,有13個出現在廿一世紀。在佔全球最多土地面積的北半球,1983年至2012年可能是過去1,400年中最暖的30年。

  5. 極端天氣
  6. 氣候變化大大增加了極端天氣的可能性,例如暴風雨、水災、熱浪、旱災等。在全球暖化的主要風險中,這些極端天氣已對人類構成極大威脅。

  7. 冰川及冰層融化

世界各地的冰川範圍正逐漸縮小。NASA最近期的研究指出,南極洲西面的阿蒙森海冰層範圍急速縮小,速度無法減緩。冰層逐漸消失,將會觸發其餘冰層倒塌,間接導致海平面上升三至五米。這將會迫使全球過百萬人流離失所。

厄爾尼諾現象

在400多年前,有一群漁夫在拉丁美洲的海邊打魚,當時太平洋的海水異常溫暖,這是首次發現厄爾尼諾現象的記錄。厄爾尼諾是指太平洋中部至東部海域海水溫度異常上升的現象,導致跨太平洋海面溫度上升0.5-1.5℃或以上,通常每三至七年發生一次。

厄爾尼諾影響世界各地的天氣,帶來頻繁的極端天氣,令一些地方降雨量增加,而同時令其他地方遭受旱災(UNOCHA)。近年來,溫室氣體排放量急升令到全球暖化,間接導致厄爾尼諾的頻率和強度逐漸增加。

厄爾尼諾帶來甚麼影響?

厄爾尼諾影響著全球各國各地,其中包括:


  • 亞太地區:發生旱災和森林大火
  • 拉丁美洲:暴雨成災,嚴重影響漁業和引致糧食減產
  • 非洲:旱災和降雨量不穩導致農作物失收及糧食短缺。由於對抗氣候變化的抵禦能力較低,非洲正面對著厄爾尼諾的嚴峻威脅
  • 按此閱讀更多有關厄爾尼諾對全球糧食保障的影響


在香港可見的氣候變化

香港,在不少人的眼中是片「福地」。過去五十多年,我們未有經歷任何造成嚴重人命傷亡的天然災害。可是,一些鄰近的地區,如內地不同的省份,卻經歷過嚴峻的水災、旱災或地震。

然而,我們真的不受氣候變化及全球暖化影響嗎?

於2014年3月30日,香港和中國南部多個城市都遭受暴雨和冰雹來襲。雖然本港以前亦曾發出黑色暴雨警告,但這次卻帶來嚴重影響:財產損失、街道、店舖和地鐵站水浸。

「在三至四個小時期間,九龍及新界廣泛地區錄得超過100毫米雨量……天文台於3月30日下午9時至10時錄得的一小時雨量為56毫米,是自1884年有記錄以來三月份的最高記錄。天文台於下午8時40分發出自暴雨警告系統在1992年推出以來首個在三月份發出的黑色暴雨警告。」-香港天文台《二零一四年三月天氣回顧》

這次暴雨威力驚人,更有商場出現「瀑布」奇景。同時亦讓部分人認真反思香港近年暴雨成災的背後原因,還有未來暴雨或颱風的影響程度。

事實上,氣候變化於過去幾十年不知不覺愈趨頻繁。在香港,溫度及平均海平面逐漸上升,還有愈來愈多的極端天氣情況(暴雨及強颱風)發生。如欲了解更多有關資料和數據,請瀏覽香港天文台網頁

除以上所述之外,我們亦應密切關注下列範疇:


  1. 水災
  2. 降雨量頻繁,加上排水系統老化及地下水污染問題,可導致疾病傳播、財產損失、土壤惡化及人身傷害。

  3. 熱浪
  4. 熱浪和酷熱天氣可引致死亡或嚴重疾病病發,亦會大大增加與高溫有關的死亡率,長者及戶外工作人士尤其容易受影響。

  5. 健康影響
  6. 中暑、呼吸道疾病及空氣污染引起的健康問題愈趨增加。根據環境保護署一份報告指出,在香港,如果溫度上升3°C,爆發瘧疾的機會將會大幅提升約20%。

  7. 消耗天然資源
  8. 世界自然基金會報告指出,按人均生態足跡(Ecological footprint)計算,香港於全球排名第15位,並在亞洲居首位。據估計,地球一年所消耗的天然資源需要花1年再生。如果我們過度消費的模式依舊不變,只會加劇人類需要與地球有限資源之間的失衡。

有何影響

氣候變化對可持續發展目標(SDGs)的影響

於2015年9月25日的聯合國可持續發展高峰會議上,各國領袖正式通過《2030年可持續發展議程》,當中包括17個可持續發展目標(SDGs),旨在於2030年前徹底消除貧窮,對抗不平等、不公義及應對氣候變化問題(聯合國開發計劃署(UNDP),2015年)。

在過去十年,千年發展目標成功推動全球多個國家參與發展,並在對抗飢餓、疾病和爭取教育機會方面取得若干成果。然而,儘管取得上述成就,氣候危機對國際發展工作構成日益嚴重的威脅。

世界上最貧困、最脆弱的一群,通常受氣候變化影響最深,他們很多時候要承受天然災害帶來的後果。

可持續發展目標(SDGs)的目標十三:「採取緊急行動應對氣候變化及其影響」乃直接回應氣候變化議題。


目標十三概要:氣候行動

  • 加強所有國家抵禦和適應與氣候有關的災害和自然災害的能力
  • 將應對氣候變化的措施列入國家政策、策略和規劃
  • 在減緩和適應氣候變化、減少影響和預警領域中加強教育,提高認識,加強人員和機構能力
  • 履行加入《聯合國氣候變化框架公約》的發達國家做出的承諾,即在切實採取減緩行動和保持執行工作透明度的情況下,滿足發展中國家的需求
  • 增強發展中國家和小島嶼的抵禦能力,以有效進行規劃和管理,包括推行針對婦女、青年、本土和邊緣化社區的工作

氣候變化 影響各方

在「發生何事」部分,我們探討了氣候變化帶來的直接影響,包括海平面及氣溫上升。然而,上表展示了氣候變化帶來的間接影響,包括糧水短缺、危害公眾健康等。

根據聯合國氣候科學專門委員會於2014年發表的報告,當中亦指出氣候變化與糧價提高和政局不穩有著不可分割的關係。總括而言,氣候變化與社區的關係密不可分,不只影響天然環境,亦同時影響著世界各地的人。

氣候變化已經迫在眉睫。縱然發展中國家的貧窮人受害最深,但所有人亦無可避免地受到不同程度的影響。在發達國家,如香港,我們亦親身感受到全球暖化直接或間接帶來的影響;而溫室氣體排放更令全球暖化情況急劇惡化。

為何發生

氣候變化的兩大主因是:化石燃料(炭、石油和天然氣)用量增加和森林砍伐頻繁。

化石燃料用量增加

大部分氣候科學家都認同,現時全球暖化的趨勢是源於人類不斷加劇温室效應。温室氣體就如一張毛毯,為地球保暖,並抵禦外太空的低溫,同時在若干程度上罩住了生物在地球上維生所需的熱能。

可是,物極必反。人類活動正在慢慢改變這個天然温室的平衡。當人類肆意濫用化石燃料,試圖滿足對能源的無盡渴求,大氣層中的二氧化碳(CO2)含量自工業革命開始已增加了三分之一。

隨著其他温室氣體增加,這張「加厚的」保溫毛毯的罩住過多熱能,導致全球溫度上升。

砍伐森林頻繁

另一方面,大規模砍樹伐木或清除樹林亦會導致氣候變化。人類因各種原因砍伐林木,而最主要原因是闢地耕種。不過,很多小農缺乏相關知識和技術,未能以可持續方式耕種和放牧。

此外,城市以及伐木業不斷發展,以向全球提供木製和紙製產品,亦導致每年消耗無數樹木。

過度伐木對我們的環境帶來負面影響,因為樹木扮演著重要角色:吸收加劇全球暖化的温室氣體。樹林愈來愈少,將導致大量溫室氣體被困在大氣層裡。

總括而言,大氣和海洋暖化、全球水循環變化、冰雪量減少、全球海平面上升和極端天氣變化,都與人類活動有著密切關係。

如何改善

宣明會作為針對扶貧工作的發展機構,為甚麼會參與氣候變化相關的計劃呢?

當問及貧困和飢餓孩子最需要甚麼時,很多人會回答:食物、水、教育和保健,卻很少人會想到可持續重新造林或有效能源項目等其他方面。

然而,愈來愈多明顯證據指出,氣候變化帶來的影響(如極端天氣)對脆弱社區影響尤深,因為他們往往缺乏資源和能力,無法應對日漸難以預測的環境變化。調查研究亦顯示,較易受氣候影響的地區與持續貧困有著密切關係。此外,發展中國家的社區傾向依賴農耕作為主要糧食和收入來源。不過,天然資源日趨枯竭,令務農為生的村民容易受氣候變化所影響。

我們的應對方法

宣明會透過以下兩個主要方法,協助脆弱社區增強對抗氣候變化的抵禦能力:

  1. 緩和方法(Mitigation):避免我們所無法控制的
    這種方法包括減少二氧化碳(一種主要的溫室氣體)的排放量,從而抑制氣候變化問題轉趨惡化。這意味著要減少燃燒化石燃料(煤、石油和天然氣),並引入清潔能源和採用高能源效益的方法。
    另一個減少大氣中二氧化碳的方法,是重新造林和保護現有森林,這有助吸收大氣層中的二氧化碳。
  2. 適應方法(Adaptation):管理我們所無法避免的
    這包括學習如何適應現存的氣候變化,以及保護自己免受未來氣候變化所帶來的影響。例如,農民可種植抗旱農作物、學習融合應對氣候變化的新農耕技術,以及採用可持續管理土地的方法。 澳洲世界宣明會有一個針對糧食保障及氣候變化的專門小組,在非洲、南美、南亞和太平洋地區,與不同社區、政府及世界頂級的合作夥伴合作,以制定並監督全球發展項目的運作。如欲了解更多詳情,請瀏覽他們的信息中心,當中載有相關方面的豐富資料。

Tony Rinaudo是澳洲世界宣明會的天然資源管理顧問,於1983年尼日爾饑荒時首創FMNR;亦被視為全球FMNR的權威專家。

甚麼是農民管理天然資源再生(Farmer Managed Natural Regeneration)?

農民管理天然資源再生(FMNR)是一項低成本的土地修復技術,透過增加糧食和木材生產,以及加強應付極端氣候的抗禦能力,協助貧困農民對抗貧窮及飢餓。

FMNR的實際操作,包括有系統地重新栽種和管理經砍伐的樹樁或發芽的植物根部。樹木和灌木經過重新種植,融合耕種及放牧,將會恢復土壤結構及肥沃度、抑制侵蝕情況及水份蒸發、修復水源和地下水位,並且增加生物多樣性。有些樹木種類亦會為土壤提供養份,例如氮氣。

因此,FMNR除了可增加農作物收成外,亦可提供建築木材及柴木、為牲畜提供飼料及遮蔭地方、提供有營養及藥用成分的野果,以及提高務農家庭及社區的收入及生活水平。


持續放牧、砍伐樹林作木材,加上清除或焚燒樹林以進行耕作,均會導致樹林範圍逐漸縮小。然而,不少樹木品種可以在樹樁或樹根被砍伐後重新發芽。

FMNR步驟 – 簡單的基本方法


  1. 讓農田的植物及樹樁自行生長,並加以保護。
  2. 審視農田,了解植物的數量及品種;然後挑選較好的樹莖進行修剪,並除掉多餘的樹莖。
  3. 每2至6個月加以修剪植物,以刺激生長,並讓植物長出較整齊的樹莖。

FMNR直接帶來的好處包括:


  1. 增加木柴供應,改善婦女及兒童的生活
  2. 為牲畜提供飼料
  3. 透過提高土壤養份,增加農作物收成
  4. 透過出售農作物和來自樹林的非木材產品,改善當地經濟
  5. 改善水滲透度,從而重新補給地下水
  6. 為土地開墾和重新造林帶來大規模的成本效益

宣明會如何應對極端天氣?

在災難來襲時,甚至發生前後,宣明會亦會採取適當行動。

為協助社區減少災害風險,宣明會須確保在出現突發情況前已準備就緒。

在宣明會推行工作的大部分地區,當地都擁有獨立的緊急救援物資儲備,例如防水帆布、家庭用品及盛水器,以及可靠的緊急糧食供應。除此之外,宣明會在各地有策略地設立救災倉庫,以便迅速運送重要救援物資至受災地區,包括淨水丸、帳篷、煮食用具及毛毯等。

各國的救災團隊亦會與當地社區緊密合作,加強防災抗災能力,包括識別風險、疏散和預警系統等。按此了解更多我們的最新救援工作詳情。

水災的成因

海嘯的成因

颶風、颱風和氣旋
的成因

你可以怎樣回應呢?

  1. 改變生活習慣:減少碳排放
    衣:購買耐用的衣服。考慮買新衣時,了解自己的需要和衣服的耐用程度。請緊記: 生產新衣會消耗能量和資源。
    食:多菜少肉,對你的身體和環境都有好處。選擇時令食物和支持本地出產,縮短運輸距離,亦將會減少能源消耗和碳排放。此外,簡單的保鮮程序,可避免過量使用化學品和包裝。
    住:選擇節能電器。在香港,冷氣機高居耗電量最高的家庭電器第一位。維持合理溫度(如25°C)或交替使用風扇,將有效減少熱能和碳排放。
    行:如果目的地距離不遠,就選擇步行吧!要不然,香港的公共交通種類多元化,非常便利,應好好使用!如果必須駕車,可以考慮以下提議以減少碳排放:
    - 保持車軚打氣充足,可每年減少460千克的二氧化碳排放量(資料來源:世界自然基金會)
    - 使用混合動力汽車。混合動力或低碳排放汽車可減低污染。
    - 順路載朋友一程,計起來更符合能源效益!

  2. 助養孩子 鞏固貧困社區
    由於氣候變化持續發生,貧困社區很大可能要面對更多挑戰。透過助養兒童計劃,幫助貧困孩子及其社區發展,讓他們有溫飽及接受教育的機會,在愛和保護中健康成長。於經常發生災害的地區,宣明會將於發展工作中加入防災抗災、減低風險的元素,以加強社區應對天然災害的抗禦能力。

了解更多

如欲了解更多有關氣候變化,可瀏覽以下資源: