Child Marriage

Can you imagine getting married or divorced at the tender age of ten? The above is not from a fiction but the true story of Nujood Ali (now 15) from Yemen, one of the authors of I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced, and now the famous anti-child-marriage rebel in the world. She is home with her family and attending school again. Unfortunately, there are millions of untold stories similar to or worse than Nujood's in our world today.


Who holds the fate of these girls?

What

For most people, marriage is an important and a celebrated moment in life. Choosing when and who to marry is one of life's most important decisions. In Hong Kong, the average age of first marriage for male and female are 31 and 29 respectively. Child marriage or "blind marriage" is almost unheard of in this city. However, millions of girls worldwide are asked or forced to marry at young age. For these child brides, entering into a marriage is no different from stepping onto a path of pain and suffering.

 Click here to download (PDF)


Different international human rights instruments provide protection against child marriage. The 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights states that marriage should be "entered only with the free and full consent of the intending spouses". In the Convention on the Elimination on All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), it is recommended that marriage before the age of 18 should not be allowed since children have yet attained "full maturity and capacity to act".

Despite a nearly universal commitment to end child marriage, there are still 13.5 million girls getting married every year before their 18th birthday. Most of the world's child spouses live in South Asia (45%) and in West and Central Africa (42%). Nearly one in three girls in developing countries (excluding China) will marry before the age of 18. One in nine is made to marry before they reach the age of 15, when the consequences of child marriage are most harmful.

Child marriage is a fundamental breach of children's rights and a brutal curtailment of childhood. It forces girls and boys to take up responsibilities for which they lack the emotional and physical maturity. The grave impacts of early marriage on the lives of child spouses can range from reproductive health complications, high infant or child mortality, to domestic violence and extreme poverty. These costs fall not only on the child spouses alone, but also at multiple levels including families, communities, societies and nations.

 Click here to download (PDF)

Impact

Health

Reproductive health issue is one of the most fatal consequences of child marriage. When girls are neither physically nor emotionally ready for pregnancy, they are more prone to pregnancy and childbirth complications. High infant or child mortality rate are often resulted. Among the disabilities associated with early childbirth is obstetric fistula, an injury which leaves girls in constant pain, vulnerable to infection, incontinence, and often shunned by their husbands, families and communities. Although this injury is surgically correctable, girls or women in poor developing countries have little or even no access to such treatment.

Early marriage also raises the risk of contracting HIV or other sexually transmitted infections. Girls usually have little or no say in protecting herself against pregnancy or diseases. Few have access to reliable contraception and reproduction health advice. The pressure to conceive as soon as possible after marriage is high for young brides as they try to prove their worth and secure their social status.


Violence

Girls getting married at young age are much more likely to experience domestic violence and abuse. When they should be enjoying their childhood, child brides are forced to take up responsibilities that they are unprepared for. In cases where they fail to meet their husbands’ household and sexual demands and expectations, they might end up being beaten or raped by their husbands. Worse still, young brides are more likely to believe that these violent acts by their husbands are justified.

Most victims stay silent and never seek help. Many girls said they did not perceive what they experienced as a form of violence or did not think the abuse was a problem.

Denial of education

While lack of education is one of the push factors of child marriage, denial of education is also a direct consequence of child marriage. A girl’s level of education affects the likelihood of becoming a child bride. From a study done by the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), it shows that girls who are poor, have little or no education and live in rural areas are most likely to marry or enter into a union before 18.

Girls who marry too young are less likely to finish school and have fewer economic opportunities in their future. In many cases, parents or husbands forbid the girls to continue schooling as soon as they are betrothed or married as education is considered unnecessary at such stages. Even if married girls are lucky enough to stay in school, there are regulations in some schools that demand those who become pregnant shortly after marriage to withdraw from education.

If girls are able to stay in school and avoid early marriage, the benefits are widely felt. Based on the primary evidence gathered by World Vision staff in Niger, the positive impacts of girls’ education are felt in some communities where educated mothers tend to raise healthier children. Education can be one of the most powerful tools to enable girls to avoid early marriage and fulfil their potential.

Cycle of poverty

Child marriage creates vicious and intergeneration cycles of poverty. A girl who marries early is a child thrown into adulthood. Early child-bearing puts great pressure on young mothers both physically and psychologically. Having children may decrease already scarce resources in a poor family.

Withdrawal from education leaves girls with very limited knowledge and skills that consequently affect their livelihood opportunities. While child brides are more likely to have more children than women who marry later, they are less able to provide for their children.

Early marriage ultimately leads to children raising children, compromising the well-being of both generations. An impoverished young mother, inexperienced and untrained in child-rearing, is at high risk to have children who are malnourished and unhealthy.

It would be very hard to lift already impoverished families out of poverty when inexperienced young parents are burdened by economic difficulties, family tension, childrearing and household responsibilities. Not only do girls bear the social, economic and health costs of early marriage; society pays a price too.

Where

Child marriage among girls is most common in South Asia and sub-Saharan Africa, and the 10 countries with the highest rates are found in these two regions. Niger has the highest overall prevalence of child marriage in the world. However, Bangladesh has the highest rate of marriage involving girls under age 15. South Asia is home to almost half of all child brides worldwide. (UNICEF, 2014)

 Click here to download the map

Incidence of early marriage tend to be high where poverty, birth and death rates are high; civil conflict is common; and overall levels of development (including healthcare, schooling and employment) remains relatively low. Most of the 10 countries with the highest rates of early marriage are considered fragile states or at high risk of natural disasters. In the UN Human Development Index (HDI), countries ranked 142 or below are classified as regions with low human development. We can see from the map that all of the 10 listed countries belong to those regions.

Why

Poverty

Some developing communities see marriage as a way out of poverty. Parents who cannot provide for the basic needs of their children may give a young daughter away in marriage to lessen the family’s burden and to ensure she is supported. Conflict or natural disasters are high times for girls to be married away. However, in most cases, the practice of child marriage has only left the already impoverished worse off.

Still widely practised in India today, the bride’s family has to pay the groom’s family a dowry. Some communities allow lower dowry for younger brides. This custom indirectly encourages impoverished parents to give a girl away early before she becomes a greater economic burden.

The payment goes the opposite way in some sub-Saharan African communities. The bride’s family will receive a “bride price” in the form of cattle from the groom or his family. Sadly, some parents view committing their daughters to marriages as an opportunity to increase household wealth.

Concerns about protection of girls

On the other hand, as a bride’s worth is linked to her virginity in many cultures, parents would try their best to ensure their girls do not bring dishonour on the family by getting pregnant out of wedlock.Many parents in fragile states expect a married life will shield girls from sexual violence and other attacks. Some genuinely believe that by pledging their daughters to a regular male guardian, the young brides will have a secured future. Significant evidence from countries like Kenya and Uganda indicate that parents made desperate by hunger and extreme poverty are marrying off their daughters at increasingly young ages in the hope of safeguarding them from harm.


Tradition


Cultural or religious traditions are powerful drivers of early marriage. The practice of dowry perpetuates the view that girls are an economic burden on families. Harmful traditional practices such as female genital mutilation (FGM) in some African contexts are also linked to early marriage. For example, the Maasai communities of Kenya consider a girl more mature after FGM has been performed to her, usually between ages 7-14. The girl is then quickly married in order to fetch a dowry.

Gender discrimination


Girls are less valued than boys and are seen as a burden in many traditional cultures. These girls tend to have low self-image and are often discouraged from participation. Many parents expect their daughters to stay at home and consider girl education unnecessary.

The devaluation of girls reinforces many of the driving factors for early marriage, such as lack of education. In some culture, an educated and independent woman is perceived as a threat to society and to men. Entrenched gender roles make it difficult for a girl to imagine life beyond what traditional cultures expect of her.

Lack of Education

Uneducated parents are most likely to follow traditional practices and conservative gender norms. They tend to be ignorant of laws prohibiting child marriage and of the serious health risks that early sexual debut and pregnancy pose for girls. They are also more likely to see female education as wasteful rather than a sound investment.Child marriage appears to be most prevalent in regions where a large proportion of girls are out of school or whose education has been stalled. Many girls are kept out of classes to do chores and take care of siblings.


How We Help

If the current trend continues, 16.5 million girls will be married by 2030. The lives of these girls could be forever changed by their forced marriages.

To stop and prevent child marriage, we must gain a better understanding of the issue and take actions accordingly. Ending child marriage is critical to the achievement of most of the Millennium Development Goals.


World Vision in Project Countries

1. Advocacy

In Bangladesh, where the rate of child marriage is highest in Asia, World Vision has launched a campaign with the national human right commission to advocate against the harmful practice. A series of project have been introduced in the following areas:

  • Strengthening local child protection system by lobbying with the government to amend the existing child marriage and dowry laws
  • Mobilising youth, parents and leaders to change discriminatory gender norms
  • Increase awareness and counseling of families; encourage actions to stop child marriage in their communities
  • Advocate the message through school and community programmes, educational performances by travelling theatre and music troupes

2. Education and empowerment

  • Besides helping children get formal education at school, World Vision also promotes the set up of children’s clubs or forum, where children learn about their rights and discuss the issues they face, such as child marriage, and ways to tackle them. There have been a number of successful cases where children club members actively stopped child marriages in their communities.
  • At self-help groups sponsored by World Vision in India and other countries, women who married young meet regularly to maintain a support network. They also receive training in areas like healthcare, family planning and financial skills. In India, World Vision’s education programme has seen positive results in reducing child marriage when barriers to girls’ education are addressed along with dowry issues.

3. Livelihood

Provision of life skills training, employment or entrepreneur opportunities to girls and community members have been proven effective in lifting people out of poverty. For example, our microfinance subsidiary VisionFund, offers the entrepreneurial poor with financial services that help them establish or expand a self-sustaining business. This kind of assistance can help prevent cases where parents “need” to sell their daughter into an unwanted marriage due to poverty.

World Vision in Hong Kong

Education and Advocacy

We share the world's needs and stories through different ways, with the hope of touching more people's lives so that in the end even more lives across the globe can be touched and transformed. They include:

童婚

10歲的小孩本應過著無憂無慮的童年,誰能想像年紀小小的她「結過婚」,也「離婚了」呢?這是現年15歲的也門女孩諾珠的真實故事。這個「她」,是《我是諾珠,十歲,離了婚》(I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced) 的作者之一,也是積極爭取反對童婚的表表者。現在,她已回到家人身邊,也重返校園了。可是,在這個世界裡,每天依然有數不盡的女孩比諾珠過著更糟的生活。


她們的人生,誰決定?

發生何事

結婚,是人生其中一個的重要時刻;在甚麼時候,與誰結婚,也應該是一個慎重的決定。在香港,初婚男女的平均年齡分別是31歲及29歲。我們相信在香港應該絕少發生童婚或者「盲婚」的情況,但事實上,世界上不少女孩被「安排」或被逼在年幼時出嫁。對她們來說,結婚等於痛苦的開始。


按此下載(PDF)

不少國際人權文書致力反對童婚,保護兒童權利。聯合國大會於1948年通過並頒布的《世界人權宣言》,當中指出「只有經男女雙方的自由和完全的同意,才能締婚。」。而在《消除對婦女一切形式歧視公約》(CEDAW)中提及,由於兒童心智未發展成熟,並未有足夠的自主能力,故此不容許18歲或以下兒童訂婚或結婚。雖然禁止童婚是全球各國公認的共同目標,不過每年依然有1,350萬名女孩在18歲前結婚。大部分童婚發生在南亞地區(佔45%)以及非洲中西部(佔42%)。同時,在發展中國家(中國除外),大概每3個女孩中便有1人於18歲前結婚;而每9個女孩中便有1人在15歲前被逼結婚。15歲前已婚的女孩所承受的影響尤深。

童婚不但違反了兒童權利,更剝奪了不少孩子的童年。孩子身心尚未發育成熟,卻逼著要負起沉重的責任。童婚對兒童影響尤深,包括生殖系統發育未完善所帶來的併發症、嬰兒或兒童死亡率高企、家暴及極度貧窮問題等。不單兒童身受其害,連帶其家庭、社區、社會及國家亦受到不同程度的牽連。

按此下載(PDF)

有何影響

健康問題

相關故事: 給她一個新開始
生殖健康問題,是童婚帶來最嚴重的後果之一。女孩身心尚未發育成熟,在懷孕或分娩時更容易產生併發症,往往導致嬰兒或兒童死亡率上升。未成年懷孕令女孩容易得到瘻管病,她們需承受長期痛楚,亦會引致失禁或容易受到感染,甚至被自己的丈夫拋棄,被家族及社會歧視。雖然這創傷可以手術修補,但生於貧困的發展中國家的女孩或婦女根本很難或甚至無法得到相關治療。



未成年結婚亦增加了感染愛滋病或其他經性行為傳染的疾病的機會。女孩一般都沒有能力保護自己。只有少數的女孩知道可靠的避孕和生殖健康方法。年紀輕輕的女孩在婚後承受很大壓力,因為她們希望以懷孕來證明自己的存在價值,並進而確立自己的社會地位。



受暴力對待

未成年結婚的女孩很大機會遭受家暴及虐待。本應享受著童年的小女孩,在毫無準備下卻要負起照顧家庭的重擔。倘若未能做到外家的囑咐或丈夫的性要求,她們會被丈夫虐打或甚至強姦。更糟的是,不少女孩深信,丈夫的暴力對待是合理的。

大多數的受害人從不對別人說出自己的遭遇,更不會尋求協助。因為她們既不了解她們正遭受暴力對待,也不認為受虐是一個嚴重問題。

失去讀書機會

缺乏教育,是導致童婚的一個主要原因;而被剝奪接受教育的權利,亦是童婚直接帶來的後果。女孩接受的教育水平愈高,其成為童媳的可能性便愈低。根據聯合國人口基金(UNFPA)的研究顯示,居住在貧困落後地區,並沒有接受教育的女孩,大部分會在18歲前結婚或訂婚。

女孩未成年結婚,很大機會無法完成學業,將來獲得的經濟機會亦相對減少。有不少情況是當女孩已訂婚或出嫁,父母或丈夫便禁止女孩繼續上學,因為教育在他們而言已經變得多餘。即使已婚女孩有幸繼續讀書,有些學校定下規定,要求婚後隨即懷孕的女孩退學。

如果女孩能夠上學,不用未成年結婚,當中有著不少好處。在尼日爾的若干地區,宣明會工作人員親身體會到,女孩接受教育帶來了正面影響,曾接受教育的母親能夠使孩子健康成長。讓女孩避免早婚,發揮潛能,教育也許是最有效的方法。

世代貧窮

童婚,間接造成世代貧窮的惡性循環。未成年結婚,等於逼女孩早點長大。心智未成熟的女孩生小孩子,需要承受很大壓力;同時,亦會使貧困家庭的資源更見匱乏。

沒有接受教育,令女孩只得有限知識和技能,間接影響她們的謀生機會。雖然未成年結婚的女孩可能比較遲結婚的有更多孩子,但她們卻無能力為孩子提供所需。

童婚,最終造成孩子養大孩子的情況,影響兩代的身心健康。過著貧困生活的年輕母親,缺乏養兒育女的經驗,她們的孩子很可能會患上營養不良,健康欠佳。

年輕父母缺乏經驗,同時要承受著經濟負擔、家庭壓力、養兒育女及家務的重擔,令原本活在貧窮的他們難以走出這惡性循環。童婚在社會、經濟及健康方面帶來不少問題,不單女孩要付出代價,社會亦需負上部分代價。

何處發生

在南亞和撒哈拉以南非洲,童婚情況最普遍。全球童婚率最高的十個國家,均位於這兩個地區。尼日爾是全球童婚最普遍的國家,而孟加拉則是全球童婚率(指女孩於15歲前結婚)最高的國家。全球約一半童媳的人口生活在南亞地區。(聯會國兒童基金會, 2014)
 按此下載(PDF)

未成年結婚的比率一般在以下地區較高:出生及死亡率較高、國內經常發生衝突以及整體發展水平(包括保健、教育及就業水平)相對較低的貧困地區。童婚率最高的十個國家中,大部分地區均被視為脆弱國家或受天災影響機會較高的國家。根據聯合國人類發展指數(HDI)*,排名低於142位的國家被分類為低人類發展指數的地區。從上圖可見,全部10個國家均屬於這類別。

為何發生

貧窮

有些發展中國家視婚姻為走出貧窮的方法之一。父母不能為孩子提供最基本的需要,便會安排其未成年女兒出嫁,以減輕家庭的經濟負擔,並確保女兒會得到較佳照顧。當國內發生衝突或天災時,通常女孩會被安排出嫁。然而,很多時候,童婚只會讓貧窮的情況更糟。

在印度,新娘家庭必須向新郎一方送上嫁妝,這情況在現今仍非常普遍。有些地方,女孩愈早出嫁,要預備的嫁妝便愈少。這習俗間接鼓勵了貧窮父母,在女孩變成家庭負擔前,把她嫁出去。

在撒哈拉以南非洲的一些國家,嫁妝的傳統卻正正相反。新娘家庭將會收到男方送來的牛隻,作為「聘禮」。可悲的是,不少父母將女兒出嫁視為增加家庭收入的好機會。

保護女孩的錯誤觀念

此外,很多文化將新娘的價值與貞節掛勾,因此父母盡力禁止女兒們未婚懷孕,以免影響家族名聲。
很多落後國家的父母認為結婚會讓女兒遠離性暴力和其他傷害。有些父母更深信,年幼女兒出嫁,有丈夫作監護人,她們的未來將會得到保障。在肯尼亞及烏干達等國家,不少父母因著飢餓及極度貧窮而安排其年幼女兒結婚,希望可以保護她們免受傷害。

文化傳統

文化或宗教習俗,間接鼓吹了童婚。送嫁妝的傳統習俗,讓「女孩是家庭的經濟負擔」的觀念更根深蒂固。在一些非洲國家,傳統習俗如女性割禮與童婚有著密切關係。以肯尼亞的馬賽族(Maasai)為例,女孩接受女性割禮,被視為成熟的象徵,通常會在女孩7至14歲期間舉行有關儀式。這些女孩很快就會被安排出嫁,以取得嫁妝。


性別歧視

很多傳統文化裡,女孩的價值比男孩低,亦被視為負擔。這些女孩的自我形象較低,一般都被排斥。不少父母希望女兒長留在家中,也覺得女孩不需要接受教育。

女孩的價值不及男孩高,間接深化了童婚的成因,例如女孩一般會被剝奪接受教育的機會。在某些文化裡,曾接受教育的獨立女性被視為社會及男性的威脅。根深蒂固的兩性角色,令女孩很難走出傳統文化的框架,身份角色也被局限了。

缺乏教育機會

未曾接受教育的父母,通常會盲目跟隨傳統習俗和保守的兩性規範,而他們也可能不知道禁止童婚的法律,又或是不了解因過早的性行為和懷孕會為女孩帶來嚴重的健康問題。他們亦會將女性接受教育視為多餘,而非一項有價值的投資。在女孩輟學率較高或沒有機會接受教育的地方,童婚最為普遍。不少女孩被逼輟學,是因為她們要留在家中做家務和照顧弟妹。


如何改善

按照目前趨勢,至2030年,便會有1,650萬名女孩結婚。童婚,將會改變這些女孩的一生。 我們必須深入了解童婚的問題,並作出相應行動,以停止童婚發生。為達致千年發展目標,杜絕童婚尤其重要。




宣明會在項目國家的工作:

1. 倡議

在亞洲地區中童婚率最高的地方-孟加拉,宣明會與國家人權組織聯合展開反對童婚運動,推行一連串倡議項目:

  • 游說當地政府加強兒童保護制度,改善現行的童婚和有關嫁妝禮儀的法律
  • 鼓勵更多年輕人、父母和領袖一同改變帶有歧視成份的兩性規範
  • 提高家庭對童婚的關注度及提供有關諮詢服務;鼓勵社區就杜絕童婚採取實際行動
  • 透過學校及社區活動、巡迴劇場及樂團的教育表演提倡有關訊息

2. 教育及加強社區發展能力

相關故事: 先讀書,後結婚
  • 除了協助孩子接受學校的正規教育外,宣明會亦推動成立兒童組織或議會,讓兒童可認識自身的權利,並就其面對的問題(如童婚)和解決方法作深入討論。當中有不少例子,是兒童組織成員成功在其社區阻止童婚。
  • 宣明會在印度及其他國家資助成立自助小組,早婚的婦女定期聚會,以維持聯繫,互相支援。她們亦接受不同培訓,包括保健、家庭計劃及理財方法等。在印度,宣明會推行教育課程,在減少童婚情況喜見成效,同時亦能解決阻礙女孩學習和嫁妝禮儀的問題。

3. 生計

向女孩和村民提供生計培訓、就業或創業機會,是協助他們脫貧的有效方法。以我們的小額貸款項目VisionFund為例,透過向創業的貧困戶提供財政資助,幫助他們自行經營或擴充小生意,達致自給自足。那麼,父母無需因貧窮而把女兒以結婚之名「賣」出去。

宣明會在香港的工作

教育及倡議

我們竭力透過不同方式,帶出貧困兒童的迫切需要和他們的真實故事,觸動更多人的心,讓更多生命得著改變。