Poverty in Asia

Poverty in Asia

Asia has achieved remarkable economic progress in recent decades. Despite this, it is home to nearly half of the world’s poorest people, rendering poverty a key issue to be addressed. According to World Bank’s report in 2016, of the 766 million extremely poor who live below the poverty line of US$1.9 (HK$15) a day, about 33% live in South Asia and 9% live in East Asia and the Pacific.

While most of the developing world’s poor live in rural areas, the proportion of the poor living in urban areas is increasing. In Asia, the number of urban poor has risen in several countries. It is obvious that urban poverty appears to be a growing challenge Asia has to face as the economy becomes more prosperous and urbanised.

Reshma (left) is celebrating her son's second birthday. For children and families living in poverty, like Reshma, everyday struggle can be a matter of life and death. "It was a miracle for us to have survived a day, because we were so poor," says Reshma’s mother (right).

"A birthday means my child survived another year and that is a reason to celebrate," says Reshma.

Let’s explore the sections here and find out more on poverty in Asia.

Source: World Bank

What

Let's look closer at some poverty-related facts in Asia:

Malnutrition:

Adult Literacy Rate:

Education Quality:

Sanitation:

Open Defecation:

Urban Poverty

Asia has become more urbanised. It is home to 12 of the world’s 23 megacities and eight of the 10 most densely populated cities. Migration from rural to urban helps the rural poor to seek new job opportunities and improve their access to social welfare services. However, urbanisation in developing Asian countries has also led to increasing urban poverty. About 70% of the developing world’s urban poor live in Asia.


Source: Asian Development Bank, World Bank, UN-Habitat

Who

In facing poverty, the following groups often bear the brunt of impact.

Urban Poor

The urban poor are vulnerable to high unemployment, poor-quality housing, limited access to water and sanitation, electricity, transport services, education and healthcare.

Dharavi Slum of India is one of the largest slums in Asia where people are living in unhygienic and densely populated conditions. According to the UN-Habitat, Asia has 60% of the world’s total slum population, and many more live in slum-like conditions in areas that are classified as “non-slum” officially.

Watch an interview of a young boy in a slum in Delhi, India, with World Vision’s Anti-Child Labour Ambassador. Watch Video

Women

Women are particularly vulnerable to risks under urban poverty, for example:


  • Single mothers and their children are more prone to evictions and exploitation in shared tenures or by landlords

  • Women are likely to contract diseases due to poor water supply system and sewage management

  • In an urban setting, where streets are poorly lit and unemployment rate is high, women and girls are vulnerable to exploitation, assaults, and social diseases such as HIV infection and other reproductive health problems

Children

Half of the world’s child labourers are in the Asia Pacific region. Families trapped in cycle of poverty often send their children to work for a living, especially when education is unaffordable and decent work for adults are rare. Children are deprived of their childhood, their potential and their dignity due to child labour. Some of them are engaged in hazardous work that exceed reasonable hours and interfere with their education.

“The first day I felt bad, I thought it wasn’t good. I was too small. I was surrounded by other older people. That first day, I cried,” Bithi recalls the starting day of her factory life when she was 12.

Abject poverty and a sick father have forced Bithi’s family to send the two oldest daughters to the garment factories in Bangladesh. Everyday, Bithi helps create a minimum of 480 pairs of pants, for 83.3 taka (about HK$8). When Bithi sees other girls her age in their blue-and-white chequered school uniforms, she admits to feeling “painful”. She once had a dream for the future – to be a doctor – but she has given up on that dream.


Source: UH-Habitat, Asian Development Bank, International Labour Organization

Why

Natural Disaster & Climate Change

People affected by the quake are trying to get whatever they can from their damaged houses.

Many Asian countries, especially those depending on agriculture, forestry, fishery and tourism, are often affected by natural disasters. Asia Pacific is the world's most disaster-prone region. In 2015, almost half of the world’s recorded natural disasters occurred in the Asia Pacific region which include floods, extreme temperatures, earthquakes, storms, wild fires and drought. In addition, natural disasters have been increasing in both frequency and severity in Asia in recent years because of climate change. Disasters not only lead to fatalities and injuries, but also damage to farming and livestock production, housing and infrastructure, causing various kinds of economic losses.

In 2015, Nepal was hit by a 7.8-magnitude earthquake followed by multiple aftershocks. The disaster caused around 9,000 deaths and displaced hundreds of thousands people.


Governance

According to the UNDP, corruption is a result of malfunctioning state institutions due to poor governance. Corruption, development and poverty are inter-related at state level.

“When public money is stolen for private gain, it means fewer resources to build schools, hospitals, roads and water treatment facilities. When foreign aid is diverted into private bank accounts, major infrastructure projects come to a halt. Corruption enables fake or substandard medicines to be dumped on the market, and hazardous waste to be dumped in landfill sites and in oceans. The vulnerable suffer first and worst,” says Ban Ki-moon, the UN Secretary-General, for 2009’s International Anti-Corruption Day.

Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index measured the corruption level of 168 countries around the globe in 2015. Over 60% of the Asia Pacific countries scored below 50, which indicates serious corruption problem. This implies hindrance to the progress of poverty reduction in the region.


Source: UNESCAP, UNDP, Asian Development Bank, Transparency International

Where

The below map shows the 10 poorest countries in Asia with a majority of its population living below the poverty line of US$1.90 (HK$15) a day:


Source: World Bank (2011)

How We Help

Aiming to create lasting change in the lives of children, families and communities living in poverty, World Vision works with communities in different Asian countries to carry out programmes on various aspects including health, water and sanitation, education and economic development. Below are some of the examples.

Positive Deviance/Hearth (PD/Hearth) Programme

PD/Hearth is a popular approach used by many international organisations. World Vision conducts research and identifies “positive deviants” – families that are raising well-nourished children despite poverty, and finds out what they are doing right, for example, the food and the way they cook, and their healthcare and hygiene practices. “Positive practices” that are unique to the local context, low-cost and effective in improving children’s nutritional status will be shared with others, often by the mothers themselves, in teaching sessions conducted at the “hearth” or home.

Leader Mother Sujani (centre) in Sri Lanka, serves children a second round of food prepared by their mothers in the PD/Hearth programme. “In the past, getting children to finish their meal was not easy. Now look at them, asking for another serving!” says Sujani.

Improving Access to Water, Sanitation & Hygiene (WASH)

World Vision works with community members to construct wells, boreholes, water harvesting facilities and water treatment facilities to ensure safe use of water. Sanitation projects such as construction and promoting use of improved latrines are widely conducted. Good hygiene practices such as hand washing and ending open defecation are also promoted at personal and community levels.

Empowering Child Labourers

While ending child labour is a long-term progress, World Vision reaches out to child labourers through children’s centres. At these centres, working children can play with their peers, learn to deal with dangers, take part in educational activities and relax in a safe place. Child workers also enjoy access to informal education at the centre, where they can continue to build literacy skills despite dropping out of school.

Hossain (centre) is quite different from the traditional employers at his area in Dhaka, Bangladesh. He is an active member of the local Child Labour Committee formed by 15 members with the assistance of World Vision.

Unlike all the members, Hossain is also concerned about the future of the children. He says, “I always encourage these children not to waste their time after work and go to school.” He assists children working at his shop to enrol at the learning centres run by World Vision and its partners.

Fostering Economic Development

Ramu, who lives in a slum in India, receives a rickshaw from World Vision through livelihood support programme.

Through livelihood programmes such as provision of small tools or asset for economic development, vocational training, setting up savings groups, loans groups and producers groups, and linking small producers to microfinance, we seek to improve family income, thereby ensuring the well-being of children and lessening the chance of child labour.

Education & Advocacy

We share the world's needs and stories through different ways with the hope of touching more people's lives, so that in the end even more lives across the globe can be touched and transformed. They include:

Ways you can help :

亞洲貧窮情況

亞洲貧窮情況

近數十年來,亞洲的經濟取得了顯著進步,但它仍擁有全球接近一半最貧窮的人口,貧窮成爲一個關鍵而逼切需要解決的問題。根據世界銀行2016年的報告,全球約有7億6,600萬極度貧窮人口生活在每日$1.90美元($15港元)的貧窮線以下,其中33%的人口居住在南亞,9%生活在東亞和太平洋地區。

儘管大多數發展中國家的貧窮人口生活在農村地區,生活在城市地區的窮人比例正在逐步增加。一些亞洲國家的城市貧窮人口,已有上升趨勢。隨著經濟日趨繁榮和城市化,亞洲正面對城市貧窮帶來愈來愈大的挑戰。

利舒瑪(左)慶祝她兒子的第二個生日。對於像利舒瑪一家一樣生活在貧困中的孩子和家庭來說,日常的掙扎可以是生死攸關的問題。利舒瑪的母親(右)說:「我們每生存一日都是一個奇蹟,因為我們是這麼的貧困。」

利舒瑪說:「生日意味著我的孩子又多活了一年,這就是值得慶賀的原因。」

讓我們一起探討,進一步了解亞洲地區的貧窮問題。

資料來源:世界銀行

發生何事

讓我們細看亞洲貧窮的相關資料:

營養不良:

成人識字率:

教育質素:

公共衛生:

露天便溺:

城市貧窮

亞洲的城市化程度已經愈來愈高,在全球23個大城市中,有12個在亞洲;而全球人口最稠密的10城市中,亞洲就佔了8個。從農村遷入城市,有助農村貧困人口獲得就業機會和社會福利。然而亞洲發展中國家的城市化,也導致了愈來愈多城市貧窮問題。約70%的發展中國家城市貧困人口,都是生活在亞洲。


資料來源:亞洲開發銀行、世界銀行、聯合國人居署

誰受影響

面對貧窮的狀況,以下群體往往首當其衝受到影響。

城市貧窮人口

城市貧困人口,容易受到高失業率、惡劣的居住環境、有限的水源和公共衛生、電力、交通服務、教育和醫療保障所影響。

印度達拉維貧民窟,是亞洲最大的貧民窟之一,人們生活在不衛生和人口極為稠密的環境之中。在世界貧民窟的總人口中,亞洲佔了60%,而且還有更多人生活在官方定義為「非貧民窟」,而實際上與貧民窟無異的景況中。

宣明會「反童工大使」訪問了一位居於印度德里貧民窟的男孩:請瀏覽短片(英文)

婦女

婦女特別容易受到城市貧窮的風險影響,例如:

  • 單親母親和她們的孩子居住在分租的房子裡,較容易遭受其他租客或房東的剝削及驅逐

  • 婦女有可能因為欠佳的供水系統和污水管理而感染疾病

  • 在街道照明不良和失業率高企的城市中,婦女和女孩很容易受到侵犯、攻擊甚至感染性病,例如愛滋病和其他生殖健康問題

兒童

世界上有半數的童工生活在亞太地區。家庭陷入了貧窮的惡性循環,往往因為負擔不起教育,而成年人又缺乏良好工作機會,而讓他們的孩子出去工作。在童工問題下,孩子的童年、潛能和尊嚴被剝奪。他們部分更從事危險的工作,而這些工作往往超過合理的工作時間,並妨礙他們接受教育。

白菲憶述她在工廠工作的第一天:「第一天我感覺很糟,我認為這是不好的。我太小了,周圍全都是比我大的人。第一天,我哭了。」那時她才12歲。

一貧如洗的父親抱病在身,生活捉襟見肘,白菲的家人惟有送兩個大女兒去孟加拉的製衣廠工作。每一天,白菲要負責做至少480條褲子,僅為賺取83.3塔卡(約$8港元)的收入。當白菲看到與她同齡的女孩都穿著藍白格子的校服時,她承認自己感到「痛苦」。她曾經夢想將來要成為一名醫生,但現在已經無奈放棄了這個夢想。


資料來源:聯合國人居署、亞洲開發銀行、國際勞工組織

為何發生

自然災害與氣候變化

受地震影響的居民,試圖從受損的房屋取回可用的物件。

對於許多亞洲國家,特別是倚賴農業、林業、漁業和旅遊業的國家,自然災害深深影響著當地的貧窮問題。亞洲是世界上天災發生最頻繁的地區。在2015年,全球超過一半的自然災害都發生在亞太地區,包括水災、極端溫度、地震、風災、山火和乾旱。加上由於氣候變化的影響,近年在亞洲發生的自然災害愈來愈頻繁和嚴重。天災不僅造成傷亡,更會損害農業和畜牧業生產、房屋和基礎設施等,造成多項經濟損失。

2015年尼泊爾7.8級地震,加上多次餘震,造成約9,000人喪生,數十萬人流離失所。


管治

根據聯合國開發計劃署的資料顯示,賄賂問題往往由國家機構運作不良和管理不善所造成。在國家層面上,賄賂、發展和貧困是息息相關的。

「當公款被私用,原本用來興建學校、醫院、道路和水利設施的資源就會減少。外國援助一旦轉入私人銀行賬戶,重大基礎建設項目就要停工。賄賂還會使假藥或不合格的藥物充斥市場;令有害廢物污染傾倒在堆填區和海裡。弱勢社群被賄賂問題影響最大,而且首當其衝。」(引述自聯合國秘書長潘基文,2009年國際反腐敗日)

透明國際組織的清廉指數,在2015年衡量全球各地168個國家的賄賂水平,超過60%的亞太地區國家得分低於50,顯示區內賄賂問題嚴重,也意味著減貧進程正受到阻礙。


資料來源:聯合國亞洲及太平洋經濟社會委員會、聯合國開發計劃署、亞洲開發銀行、國際透明組織

何處發生

下圖顯示亞洲最貧窮的10個國家,其大部分人口生活在每日$ 1.90美元($ 15港元)的貧窮線以下:


資料來源:世界銀行(2011)

如何改善

為了給貧困孩子、家庭和社區帶來長遠的改變,宣明會與亞洲多個國家的社區合作,推出不同範疇的發展工作,包括:健康、水利衛生、教育和經濟發展等等。以下是其中一些例子:

「非常厨灶」

「非常厨灶」是許多國際機構普遍使用的方法。宣明會在社區中進行調查,發掘在困乏中仍能為孩子提供足夠營養的「非常家庭」,看看選用甚麼食材、用甚麼方式烹調,以及他們的醫療保健和衛生習慣,然後透過在「厨灶」或家裡進行的教學課程,與區內其他人分享,幫助其他母親積極實踐如何就地取材,用低成本而有效的方法,改善兒童的營養狀況。

蘇蓮 (中)是一位斯里蘭卡母親領袖,她正在為「非常厨灶」的孩子們加菜。蘇蓮說:「以前,讓孩子們吃完飯是不容易的,現在他們要求再來一份呢!」


改善水利衛生

宣明會與社區成員一起建造水井、儲水設施和清水處理設施,以確保用水安全;又廣泛開展興建廁所和推廣使用改良廁所等衛生項目;並在個人和社區層面推行良好的衛生習慣,例如:洗手和停止露天便溺等。

提升童工的能力

終止童工是一個漫長的進程。宣明會透過兒童中心,向童工伸出援手。這些中心讓童工與同齡的朋友玩耍,學會應對風險,參與不同教育活動,並能夠在安全的地方休息。中心還讓童工接觸非正規教育,在輟學的情況下仍然可以繼續建立讀寫能力。

荷勝先生(中)是在孟加拉首都達卡一個非傳統的雇主。在宣明會的協助下,他是一個由15名成員組成的童工委員會中的核心成員,積極推動幫助童工的工作。

與其他成員不同,荷勝先生更擔心孩子們的未來。他說:「我總是鼓勵這些孩子不要虛度光陰,放工後應該去上學。」他協助所有的拾荒孩子在他的店裡工作,並且到宣明會或夥拍機構所開辦的學習中心學習。

促進經濟發展

拉梅住在印度一個貧民窟,他透過宣明會的生計援助計劃,獲得一輛人力車。

通過不同生計援助計劃,例如提供小工具或資產以促進經濟發展、職業培訓、成立儲蓄小組、借貸小組和生產小組、幫助小型生產者獲得小額貸款等項目,務求幫助貧困家庭提高收入,從而保障孩子的福祉,減少童工的出現。

教育及倡議

我們透過不同方式,帶出貧困兒童的迫切需要和他們的真實故事,觸動更多人的心,讓更多生命得著轉化。