Use of Donations & Resource Governance

Use of Donations

World Vision Hong Kong expresses its heartfelt thanks to all donors for their trust and support. In the Financial Year of 2016, we received over HK$800 million and helped 9.4 million people across 42 countries. To ensure that every cent is well accounted for, we continue to keep costs at the minimum. During this past year, only 2.2% and 3.4% of our total income was spent on administration and fundraising, while 93.3% was allocated to programmes on international relief and community development, and 1.1% was used for public education.

To help you understand how donations are effectively and efficiently used, we have prepared and made available the Financial Highlights of 2016, Resource Governance and Frequently Asked Questions on our use of funds. We hope that by increasing our transparency, you will join hands with us in helping more needy children and families in developing countries.

2016 Financial Highlights


Where the funds were allocated



Where the funds came from
(Total Revenue HK$889,463,531)



*HK$265,162 reserved to respond to future emergency relief needs and carry out community development programmes


The financial information relating to the year ended 30 September 2016 included in the financial highlights is derived from, but does not constitute the Organisation’s statutory annual financial statements for that year. The Organisation’s auditor, Enrst & Young, has reported on the financial statements. The auditor's report was unqualified; did not include a reference to any matters to which the auditor drew attention by way of emphasis without qualifying its report; and did not contain a statement under section 406(2), 407(2) or (3) of the Companies Ordinance.

For a full set of audited financial statements, please download here.

Resource Governance

In order to increase the transparency and accountability of World Vision Hong Kong, we hereby outline our main practices and mechanisms on resource governance.

Fund and Project Management

World Vision has rigorous procedures to manage project funding and ensure the proper use of donations. Before supporting a project, World Vision Hong Kong ensures the availability of ministry funding and appraises the project plans and budgets based on the needs assessments. All funding and budget commitments follow World Vision's standard policies and procedures and are monitored by World Vision International Office in the project country. After a project is completed, an evaluation is performed to assess the effectiveness and efficiency of the project for future improvement.

Cost Control

World Vision Hong Kong has very strict cost control policies and procedures to ensure that every dollar raised is properly used. During this past year, only 5.6% of annual income was spent on administration and fundraising, while 93.3% of our income was allocated to international relief & community development programmes and reserves, and 1.1% for public education.

For donations (excluding government grants) towards an emergency appeal, World Vision Hong Kong will only charge direct fundraising cost against the revenue. For government grants, World Vision Hong Kong will not charge any cost against the grants.

Internal Control

An Audit Committee has been set up by the Board of Directors of World Vision Hong Kong. The Committee comprises three members; its membership is reviewed every two years by the Board. The members in 2016 were Mr Fun-kuen Au (Chairman), Mr Kai-man Wong and Mr Joseph Yuen-shun Lu. The Committee considers the appointment and the audit fee of the external auditor, discusses internal and external audit matters, and reviews the annual financial statements and internal control system. The Committee also evaluates risk management practices and related procedures under World Vision Hong Kong’s risk management framework for effectiveness.

The World Vision International Office and the project offices around the world have established their own internal audit department to ensure ministry quality and the proper use of funds, and that internal monitoring mechanisms are properly in place. Annual audits and operational audits are performed regularly. World Vision International Office will decide, based on risk assessment, the internal audit frequency cycle for individual project offices. In general, audit shall be performed at least every five years. World Vision Hong Kong has also established an internal audit function for over 10 years to strengthen internal control and to improve cost efficiency and effectiveness.

External Audit

World Vision Hong Kong has appointed Ernst & Young to perform the annual financial audit. Various fundraising activities and relief projects funded by government grants are also audited by external auditors as required by the Hong Kong SAR Government.





FAQs

  1. YES! World Vision manages all projects and donations independently and there are rigorous internal audit procedures to ensure the proper use of donations. In addition, audits are conducted every year to account for every dollar received and we have a policy of hiring auditors of the highest professional reputation to ensure our financial statements give a true and fair view of the state of our organisation. The Financial Statements for the Year 2016 were audited by Ernst & Young in accordance with the Hong Kong Companies Ordinance and Statements of Auditing Standards issued by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

    Many donors have joined our Supporter Tours in which they have seen for themselves that not only does their money get there, but that it is wisely used to improve the lives of the children and their communities.

  2. World Vision is committed to making the best use of its donations. In the 2016 financial year, 93.3% of our total income was allocated to global relief and community development programmes. Administration and fundraising costs accounted for 2.2% and 3.4% respectively of the total income, with remaining 1.1% spent on public education. Without the subvention of government, a certain amount spent on administrative costs is necessary to ensure that services are of good quality. Our rate compares favourably with similar organisations in Hong Kong that raise funds in the same manner and for the same purposes.

  3. Yes, if your total annual charity donation exceeds HK$100, your contributions to World Vision are tax-deductible as per the Inland Revenue Ordinance. World Vision Hong Kong provides receipts for all donations, regardless of the amount. To encourage charitable donations, the HKSAR Government exempts up to 35% of assessable income or profits on donations to recognised charitable organisations. World Vision Hong Kong is one of these organisations.

  4. Being or becoming a Christian is never a prerequisite for receiving help. World Vision is committed to helping the needy in developing countries, regardless of religion, race, ethnicity or gender.

  5. You can learn more about World Vision's funding allocation through the following ways:
    1. ShiQing and Vision Voice (World Vision's quarterly Chinese magazine and quarterly online English newsletter) - give donors an up-date on the latest news of developing countries and World Vision's global ministries.
    2. Annual Report - summarises World Vision's work and provides a financial report of the previous year. (Click to download Annual Report 2016)
    3. Supporter Tours - donors can visit World Vision's projects in developing countries and witness in person how sponsors transform the lives of the poor.

捐款運用及管治

捐款運用

香港世界宣明會衷心感謝各捐助者的信任及支持。在2016財政年度,本會共籌得善款超過8億港元,幫助遍及42個國家940萬人。在謹慎及妥善運用捐款的原則下,佔總收入的93.3%善款投入全球救援及社區發展工作,幫助有需要的兒童及其家庭,只有2.2%用於行政及3.4%用於籌款費用,另有1.1%用於教育推廣。

以下是本會的2016年度財務摘要。公眾及捐助者亦可瀏覽本會的資源管治及有關捐款運用的常見問題,清楚了解本會如何有效並適當地運用捐款,並藉此增加本會的透明度,鼓勵公眾繼續與本會攜手幫助世界上更多有需要的兒童及家庭。

2016年財務摘要

善款用途



善款來源(總收入HK$889,463,531)



* HK$265,162 儲備用於回應未來緊急救援的需要及執行社區發展工作


本財務資料數據摘自截至2016年9月30日止的綜合財務報表,惟並不構成本年度的法定綜合財務報表。本會的核數師 - 安永會計師事務所已就該等綜合財務報表提交報告。報告中核數師並無保留意見,亦無提述任何其在無提出保留意見下強調須予注意的事項,也沒有任何根據《公司條例》第406(2)或第407(2)或(3)條的述明。

按此下載完整的審核報告。

資源管治

為加強香港世界宣明會工作的透明度和對公眾負責,我們謹此簡述本會所執行的資源管治及有關運作。

善款及資助項目的管理

宣明會設有嚴格的程序以管理資助項目撥款及確保正確運用捐款。在決定支持一個項目前,我們會根據項目的需要,評估其計劃及預算,並確保有足夠的善款可運用。而所有善款運用均要符合既定的政策及程序,並由國際世界宣明會轄下項目的辦事處監管。當資助項目完成時,我們會評估及檢討項目的成效,以對將來的項目作出改善。

成本控制

香港世界宣明會在成本控制方面素有嚴格的監控,對善款的運用有清晰的內部指引,以確保能善用一分一毫。本會在去年度將行政事務及籌款費用控制在5.6%,93.3%的善款投放於國際救援及社區發展工作和儲備,而教育推廣則佔1.1%。

關於緊急救援項目的捐款收入不包括政府撥款,香港世界宣明會只會從中扣除直接籌款費用。而對政府就緊急救援項目的撥款,香港世界宣明會不會扣除任何費用。

內部監管

香港董事會已成立審核委員會。委員會由三名委員組成,並由董事會於每兩年檢討各成員的委任。2016年度的委員會成員為歐訓權先生(主席)、黄啟民先生及呂元信先生。委員會主要負責委任獨立核數師及釐定其酬金;討論有關獨立及內部審核事宜;審閱周年財務報告並檢討內部監管程序。審核委員會並會對香港世界宣明會現行架構下的風險管理常規及相關程序之效用進行檢討。

為確保推行優質事工及適當運用善款,我們亦設立內部監管機制。國際世界宣明會及各地項目的辦事處都建立了內部審計部門,定時進行年度及工作審核。此外,國際世界宣明會按風險評估結果對各地項目的辦事處制訂時間表進行內部審核。一般而言,至少每五年為以上辦事處進行審計。而香港世界宣明會的內部審計系統已經建立超過十年,以加強內部監控,改善成本及提高工作效益。

獨立審核

香港世界宣明會委任安永會計師事務所,審核我們的周年財務賬目。另外,本會亦因應香港特別行政區政府要求,聘請獨立核數師審核個別籌款活動及政府撥款救援項目。




捐款運用常見問題

  1. 宣明會親自管理及監察各項扶貧發展工作,並設有嚴格的內部審核程序,確保正確運用捐款。另外,宣明會每年均會進行核數程序,亦會聘請專業核數師審核財政報告是否真實而公平地反映該年的財務狀況。宣明會2016年度的財務報表是由安永會計師事務所審核,有關程序是按照香港審核公司條例及香港會計師公會頒布的核數準則而進行。另外,過去有眾多捐助者參加本會定期舉辦的「支持者探訪團」,前往宣明會工作的所在國家,實地了解宣明會如何善用他們的愛心捐款,改善貧困兒童及社區的生活條件。
  2. 宣明會承諾善用資源,在2016年度,佔總收入93.3%的善款投放於全球救援及社區發展工作,只有2.2%及3.4%分別用於行政及籌款方面,另有1.1%用於教育推廣。宣明會既對服務有嚴格要求,在沒有政府補助下,需有一定的行政費以管理及監控服務質素。惟相對本港同類型機構,宣明會的運作支出比率屬較低水平。
  3. 根據香港稅務條例,只要你於該財政年度之總捐款額達港幣一百元或以上,你的捐款便可以憑收據申請扣減稅項。所有捐款,宣明會均會發收據。為鼓勵公眾捐款予認可慈善團體,如香港世界宣明會,香港特別行政區政府把慈善捐款的免稅額提升至應評稅入息或利潤的 35 %。
  4. 宣明會的受惠者不限於基督徒。宣明會致力幫助發展中國家有需要的人,並不分宗教信仰、種族或性別等背景。
  5. 宣明會設有以下多個渠道,讓你了解捐款運用情況:
    1. 《世情》(季刊) ─ 讓捐助者更了解發展中國家的情況及宣明會的工作
    2. 年度報告 ─ 匯報宣明會過去一年的工作及財務狀況 (下載《2016年度報告)
    3. 支持者探訪團 ─ 安排捐助者前往宣明會工作所在的國家,實地了解工作成果及受惠者情況
    4. 如欲索取印刷版《世情》或年報(全版)請按此登記

如欲查詢捐款運用事宜請致電2394 2394或電郵至hotline@worldvision.org.hk與我們聯絡。