Ordinary People. Extraordinary Impact.

This year, we have all seen how a tiny virus has halted the entire world, and we have also stood together against it as ordinary individuals. As an international relief and development organisation, World Vision is doing its best to respond to COVID-19 in more than 70 countries. It has been our mission to actively and rapidly rise to the challenges of disasters and crises over the past 70 years, including the Ethiopia famine, the Rwandan genocide and numerous refugee crises, reaching out to the most vulnerable and standing by them as lives were rebuilt and hope rediscovered.

We may be ordinary individuals, but when we all join forces, we will make an extraordinary impact together.


“When some people join effort to complete something ordinary, they will ultimately realise that what they have done is actually not ordinary at all.”
— Tam Wong Fai (A long-serving World Vision Volunteer)




Growing up in a poor family in Hong Kong, Tam Wong Fai never really had snacks and toys as a child. Nonetheless, he was happy. He and his family used to live in a cubicle apartment which housed eight to ten children. Here the adults, like both his parents, who had to work, would leave their children to the adults that stayed at home to help look after. These circumstances instilled the value of looking out for one’s neighbours in Fai as he grew up. “This desire of helping others whenever I can may have been planted in my mind ever since I was a kid.”

In the 1980s, as Hong Kong was undergoing an economic boom, a famine crept into Ethiopia. Fai was deeply shocked by the footage of the event when it was unfolded in 1984. For this World Vision organised the 30-Hour Famine event to give the people of Hong Kong a taste of hunger and raise funds for those affected by the famine, without hesitation Fai signed himself up for it. Impressed by the experience and longing for doing more, Fai later offered himself as a volunteer. For over two decades, Fai has been unswervingly taking up volunteering posts at World Vision’s events. “I was once asked why I have been so persistent. I think, over the years, I have learnt a lot here, such as how to plan an event and serve others well. Thanks to this, my social circles have also expanded. I have been given so much, so I want to give something back to World Vision.”

Fai insists that he is only both an ordinary person and a volunteer. “If you find yourself so ordinary to a point that it bores you, you may simply look for something ordinary to do, but devote to it with your whole heart. After a while, you are bound to see some extraordinary outcomes. As long as you have the heart to help, or even if it’s impulsive, you can already do something!” He shares.

“I am not thinking about impacting millions of people, just one is significant enough to cause a ripple effect. We should pursue a life of making impacts on others, even at an old age.”
— Lan Fong Man
(Founding Editor-in-Chief of World Vision Hong Kong’s Shi Qing magazine)


Lan Fong Man has been an editor of Shi Qing since it first started in 1992. “I don’t do meaningless things, especially those that demand a long-term commitment. I am grateful, because not everyone gets to write and express their thoughts in words, so I do whatever I am able to do.” Over twenty years ago, when the internet was still not so widely used, Shi Qing was a vital means of communication between World Vision and the general public. “What Shi Qing conveys is more than just lectures and stories, but also a set of values, a vision and a mission. It is meant to be educational and even inspirational: Life is not so much about eating and drinking, but the poor and those affected by disasters are also precious and have dignity. Sharing with others is important.”

Recalling how she decided to produce this brainchild with World Vision, Lan Fong says, “Intriguingly it was a lesson for us. If you think too much, then you would never do it. Of course not all our deeds will succeed, but those that eventually do are normally those that we feel right in the beginning.” Lan Fong also highlights mutual trust as the core why Shi Qing can sustain for over twenty years. “World Vision has given me a lot of flexibility. Despite that the organisation slowly grew over time, the team and I work seamlessly, and they never treat me as an outsider. Working on Shi Qing demands a lot of emotions and effort from us, so trust is the most vital.”

“World Vision started with a small wish, and despite that it has grown into an enormous organisation, it has adhered to its calling of staying true and caring for the children most in need. Over the years I have had the privilege of meeting many World Vision staff in different parts of the world or reading their words. I am surprised to find that they share some similar traits, i.e., passion and perseverance, and that touches people’s hearts. I have also interviewed a lot of its supporters like donors or volunteers on the frontline or back end. These people are all, like me, ordinary, and just want to contribute a part each in our own ways, and that somehow brings an impact on other people’s lives,” concludes Lan Fong.

“The more we know, the more we realise that we are capable of helping others.”
— Sylvia Chang (Lifelong World Vision Volunteer)




Sylvia Chang says she is a very dedicated person to her family, career and friends. This is also true for her ties with World Vision, with whom she has been volunteering for the past 28 years. This is how she recalls her first trip with World Vision back in 1993, where she visited Ethiopia and witnessed the plight of starving children: “My heart was full of doubts: what was happening in the world? And also, as individuals, shouldn’t we be helping one another?” After that trip, Sylvia pledged to become a lifelong volunteer. She would go on visits with World Vision to record the needs of children in different parts of the world and the impact of World Vision’s work. Then she would share what she saw, so that more children and families could benefit.

Over the years, Sylvia has joined World Vision to a host of countries in Africa, Asia and the Middle East. In the earlier days, when the internet was still uncommon, she visited Somalia and Kenya and revealed the plight of children affected by hunger and war. She also made several visits to see her sponsored child in Mongolia, and wept for not being able to attend her university graduation in person. Last year, she was in Lebanon where she was touched by the experiences of Syrian refugees. She felt that the world’s needs were still enormous.

Sylvia says that she would like to continue volunteering and making visits. Simply because she can be a voice for those in need and be the eyes of those who give by witnessing the impact of their generosity. She believes that, as long as she keeps going, people will see and follow her in helping those in need. “I think every ordinary person is able [to help], and this has nothing to do with wealth. That willingness to share with others should become a part of our lives,” she says confidently.

Venue Support: Paragon Asia

“There is no such thing as failure in helping people in need. It is all about the heart. As long as you are willing to try, you will achieve something.”
— Dr. Thomas Chan (Board member of World Vision Hong Kong)




Dr. Thomas Chan says he is an ordinary neurosurgeon. He has always loved his job, because it allows him to help others and he finds it very meaningful. However, 25 years ago, he decided to help others in a different way by joining World Vision and its poverty alleviation work. A former leader of World Vision’s work in China, Hong Kong and seven Asia Pacific countries, he is still a board member of World Vision Hong Kong to this day.

Dr. Chan recalls that it took him a few months before making the switch from curing people’s brains to changing people’s hearts. After joining World Vision, he had to transition from working on his own to collaborating with a group of staff and international teams. There were also new challenges that he had never faced before. Therefore, he dedicated himself to learning about different scopes, such as people and financial management, sociology, economics and agriculture, so as to lead more effectively and ensure that World Vision’s work could truly benefit the poor around the world.

Dr. Chan has visited various impoverished communities with World Vision over the years. He remembers seeing many poor people who worked very hard but did not have the environment and opportunities to thrive. He believes that every ordinary individual can make change available to them, and the most important thing is to have the courage to take the first step to help. “I used to have no idea about a lot of stuff at first too, but as long as we are willing to learn, try and co-work, we can achieve something.” Dr. Chan says helping others can make our own lives more abundant, and the joy that comes with it is beyond what words can describe.

“If possible, I’d love to visit one [child] every year and see how he / she is doing. It is a bonus to see children grow up because there is so little time for me to be with them.”
— Tinny (Sponsor)


Tinny began sponsoring children when she entered the workplace. As a nurse, it is difficult for her to find time to join World Vision’s supporter tours, so she decided to go on her own. Over the years, she has already been to communities in Sri Lanka, the Philippines, Cambodia, Myanmar and Bangladesh, sometimes even as the first visitor from Hong Kong.

In the little time that she gets to spend with her sponsored children, Tinny always plays toy bricks with them, hoping to teach them how to play on their own despite the language barrier. “I want my children to learn to share. I hope that they share their toys with their friends and experience the joy that comes from it. When they know how to play, they can teach others and let others play. This is sharing. We need to learn how to share. I certainly cannot sponsor all children, but the toy can pass on my care further.

Before her trips, Tinny would also buy stuff and send them to the communities. “I would give little presents to the students whom I meet during school visits. I would always go with my sponsored children, because as they participate they will help others too in the future when they are able.” Through these ordinary encounters, she hopes to mould and bless her sponsored children’s lives. Perhaps we are all ordinary, but as she says, it takes action from our part to impact other lives.

“I would say, what we do during the pandemic, is not so much helping others, but helping ourselves. Because we are all sad and want to do something so that we can draw strength from one another.”
— Priscilla Wong (Sponsor)




Priscilla Wong describes herself as happy and ordinary. As a child, she attended a primary school in a public housing estate. She still remembers that she was once chosen as one of the representatives of her school to join a dance course, but had to give up the opportunity because her family could not afford it. “I felt inferior at that moment. But when I look back on it now, it was just an experience. Perhaps I was poorer than others, but I was still normal and ordinary.”

The recent pandemic has given Priscilla an opportunity to reflect on poverty. Once, she hurried to the supermarket in her pyjamas to buy rice, only to find herself standing in front of empty shelves. “What we used to take for granted can be gone all of a sudden, yet for many around the world, this is something that they have accepted since birth. For us, poverty is no longer an imagination or something that we perceive as a third person…” During the pandemic, Priscilla contacted World Vision to help her distribute the hand sanitisers that she bought, even making visits and present the gifts herself. “What we can share is not a lot, but I think sharing demonstrate to them that someone actually cares when they feel helpless.” Priscilla understands that true sharing is to be willing to share with those in greater need even when we ourselves do not have enough.

Claiming herself to be ordinary, Priscilla also stresses how Child Sponsorship has made her extraordinary. Having visited her sponsored child, Priscilla believes that this feeling of extraordinariness comes from the fact that her sponsored child has now been given a choice through her, and she believes that this is something that every ordinary person can do.


Venue Support: ELCHK Ma On Shan Lutheran Primary School

“If only one wishes, even an ordinary person can accomplish extraordinary things for one’s neighbours.”
— Dr. Dannis Au (General Secretary of Industrial Evangelistic Fellowship)




For Dr. Dannis Au, the poverty that his grassroots friends face is more than a lack of resources. “There is a kind of poverty that is heartbreaking, that is, a social poverty. These people simply don’t have anyone to help them deal with the tensions and drastic changes in life.”

During the pandemic, Dr. Au and his staff organised a campaign in the community to care for and stand with grassroots families. With the needs immense yet limited resources, Dr. Au found the pressure overwhelming. “We are grateful for World Vision. Not only did they donate stuff, they were also going on visits with us, observing the families’ needs and responding promptly.” When he saw that World Vision was giving out brand new toys collected from donors to children who had long been confined at their small homes, Dr. Au was deeply touched. “These children are poor, but in the eyes of World Vision’s staff, their lives are equally precious.”

On one occasion, a poor person rejected their masks, asking them to pass on the gift to another person in greater need. “The lives of our friends have been impacted by our service. Now they can also love and be a blessing to others.” Amidst different tensions, it has been the joy of seeing lives transformed that inspires him to continue loving his neighbours as himself. “The only thing that we can do for our friends is to offer a glass of water, so that they feel being remembered and cared for.” For Dr. Au, it is something that all ordinary people can do, if only they wish.



“I want to build a team which the people in it feel meaningful and that they are making a difference.”
— Wynn Flaten
(Former Syria crisis response director – Middle East and Eastern Europe region)


Wynn Flaten worked at World Vision for almost twenty years. He was first in the Philippines for four years, overseeing food security projects in the neighbouring Asian countries. He then moved to Indonesia as a project director, where he experienced the great tsunami in 2004. In 2011, he was CEO of World Vision Afghanistan, later he was deployed to Jordan from 2014 to 2018 to lead World Vision’s Syrian refugee response.

The places that Wynn went were always more challenging than the previous one and sometimes posed risks for himself and his family. But for Wynn, working in unstable regions such as Afghanistan and Syria has never made him feel unsafe. “No, I was not afraid. Our work was well received by the locals and that is what protects us. So we must always do our job well,” he says. Wynn does not only refer to the quality of work, but that everything they do should be done in harmony.

Wynn says he did not choose this path of mobile and challenging tasks himself. “I understand the role that faith plays in life. We have to be responsible to the God that we believe in.” His faith is his pillar, and it has helped him make difficult decisions and overcome obstacles. He says that he would say this to himself every morning, “Something good is going to happen today. I have no idea what the future holds, but history will tell us that God has been in control of everything.” As of now, World Vision is still working in Afghanistan, Jordan and the neighbouring region, restoring hope to many refugees.



“We want to be in the world what we think Jesus Christ would be if He were in the middle of all of these problems and needs.”
— Dr. Bob Pierce (Founder of World Vision)




Dr. Bob Pierce (1914–1978), was a war correspondent, a faithful servant of God, a father and the founder of World Vision. In 1947, Bob, then 33 years old, left the United States for China on his first mission, his first time preaching the gospel in another culture. Appalled by the plight and poverty of the people that he met, Bob deeply felt that when someone needed food, clothing, shelter or medicine to survive, hearing the good news alone was not enough, there had to be something practical to go with it. This motivated him to found World Vision in 1950.

Bob covered the suffering of the Korean War as a journalist with his writing and camera, bringing firsthand information back to the United States and calling on people to care for and help those who became orphans and widows. For Bob, the poor were not merely a set of figures, but lives with unique faces, names, feelings, hopes and aspirations.

As the Vietnam War escalated, World Vision became more involved by providing direct assistance, such as starting refugee schools, providing shelters for the displaced, assisting amputees with wheelchairs, and setting up a bakery to make nutritional biscuits for hungry children.

Currently, World Vision has expanded to serve the poor and vulnerable in nearly 100 countries around the world, carrying on with the same passion and beliefs that Bob had.


Unleash Your Hidden Hero

World Vision has been serving the world's most in need for 70 years. We believe that every ordinary person has extraordinary powers.
When we all come together, we can help make the world a better place and create a legacy that lasts.
Join our cause and unleash the hidden hero inside you now!


World Vision Hong Kong, incorporated with limited liability, is a Christian humanitarian organisation working to create lasting change in the lives of children, families and communities living in poverty.
© 2020 World Vision Hong Kong | Please click here for information on Use of Donation | Tax-exempt Charities - IR File Number: 91/2002

發揮平凡人的不凡力量

今年,我們共同經歷到,極微小的病毒也足以令全世界停頓;同時,亦見證到平凡如我們也能同心協力,對抗疫症。作為一個國際救援及發展機構,世界宣明會已在全球逾 70 個國家展開應對 2019 冠狀病毒的援助工作。70 年來,我們堅持謹守,與世界各地的人一起迅速應對大大小小的災難與危機:埃塞俄比亞饑荒、盧旺達大屠殺、一次又一次的難民危機……竭力向困乏無助的一群人伸出援手,並且,守候他們重建新生,重見希望。

我們每一個都是平凡人,但是,只要我們願意,就能夠合力發揮出不凡力量。


「只要一群人同心合力地完成一件平凡事,及後也會發現那些事情其實一點也不平凡。」
── 譚旺輝(宣明會資深義工)




譚旺輝(阿輝)在香港長大,家境清貧的他小時候沒有什麼零食和玩具,但仍自得其樂。他回想與家人同住板間房的歲月,一個單位裡面有八至十個孩子。由於父母都出外謀生,留守在家的成人便會幫忙照顧所有孩子,這正是一種守望相助的精神,而他便是在這環境中潛移默化地成長,「可以幫助別人便會這樣做的想法,可能自小已經植入在腦海裡。」

上世紀八十年代,香港經濟開始起飛,但在1984年卻發生了埃塞俄比亞饑荒,那些畫面震撼著譚旺輝的心。當時宣明會為此舉辦「饑饉30」,讓大家體驗飢餓滋味之餘,也為身陷饑荒的人籌款以提供實際援助,於是他便立即參加。由於體驗非常深刻,也盼望參與更多,後來自薦成為義工,至今廿多年,每年風雨不改擔任不同義務崗位。「有人問我說為何一直在宣明會當義工?我想這些年來,學會了很多東西,好像怎樣籌辦活動和待人接物等。朋友的圈子也因而擴闊了,得著真的很多,因而盼望回饋給宣明會。」

自言是一個平凡人和一個平凡的義工,阿輝分享著說:「如果你覺得自己平凡得有點沉悶,可以找一些平凡事,多花一點心思地去做。經過一段時間之後,你將會看見一些不平凡的結果。只要有心,甚至覺得突然之間想幫助別人,你就可以出一分力了!」

「我不是想影響千百萬人,影響到一個人已很重要,這樣就會產生連鎖反應。一生直至年邁,也要堅持影響人。」
── 文蘭芳(香港世界宣明會《世情》創刊號總編輯)


文蘭芳自1992年《世情》創刊至今也擔任編輯之職,「我不做沒有意義的事情,特別是要長期做的。我很感恩,不是每個人也能執筆表達所想,有能力的便應該去做。」在廿多年前,互聯網還未發達的年代,《世情》作為宣明會與市民大眾溝通的橋樑,十分重要。「《世情》傳遞的不單只是理論、個案,更是一種價值觀,一份願景,一份使命。《世情》的教育性很強,希望能影響大家思考:生活不只是吃喝,窮人和災民也是有價值、有尊嚴的,分享是重要的。」

回想當初願意與宣明會一起孕育《世情》,蘭芳覺得「這是很有趣的,也是人生的道理,想得太多便做不到。當然不是每件事情都會成功,但是,後來能夠成功或者取得成果的,都是起初只是覺得好便去做的事情。」至於能夠一直堅持廿多年,原因是互相信任。「宣明會給我很大自由度,機構由小變大,我與同事合作得很好,從沒有把我當外人。做《世情》,大家都要放入很多感情、心力,信任很重要。」

「宣明會從一個小小的願望開始,今天成了很大的機構,但是我覺得她未改初心,仍然是關愛最有需要的兒童。這些年來我有幸見過好些國家不少宣明會人員,又或讀過他們所寫的心聲,他們有一些驚人地相似的特質,就是熱誠和堅毅,令人動容。我也訪問過很多參與者,他們或是捐助者,或是義工 ── 各式各樣前線或幕後的義工,這些人和我一樣,都是平凡人,就只是抱持要盡一點綿力的心,投入在自己可以貢獻之處 ,就影響了他人的生命。」蘭芳總結著這段一路走來的心聲。

「當大家了解越多,便越明白自己是有能力去幫助別人的。」
── 張艾嘉(宣明會終身義工)




張艾嘉自言對於家庭、事業和朋友,都是一個很長情的人,甚至當宣明會義工也轉眼28年。回想1993年首次隨宣明會到訪埃塞俄比亞,親眼目睹飢餓兒童的苦況,她憶述:「我心裡有很多疑問,關於這個世界究竟發生什麼事情?還有作為一個人,我們是否應該彼此幫助呢?」回來後,張艾嘉便許下當終身義工的承諾,一直隨宣明會出外記錄各地兒童的需要,以及宣明會的工作成果,再與大家分享,讓更多兒童和家庭因而得著幫助。

這些年來,張艾嘉隨宣明會所到的足跡遍及非洲、亞洲和中東多個國家。她早年曾到非洲索馬里和肯尼亞等國,在互聯網仍未普及的年代,讓大家得悉飢餓和戰火兒童的實況;她也多次到蒙古探望自己的助養女童,並因為未能出席她的大學畢業典禮而落淚;去年,她前赴黎巴嫩邊境,更被敘利亞難民的經歷所觸動,令她感覺到世界的需要仍有很多。

張艾嘉說她希望繼續當義工,四出探訪,為有需要的人發聲,同時,也成為捐助者的眼睛,帶他們去見證善款的成果。而她相信只要自己一直堅持下去,總會有人看見,因而願意向有需要的人伸出援手。她充滿信心地說:「我覺得每一個平凡人也是有能力的,這與他擁有的金錢多寡無關。而是那份與人分享的心,應該是我們生命的一部分。」

場地支持:Paragon Asia

「幫助有需要的人是沒有所謂失敗的,有心是最重要,只要願意嘗試就會有收穫。」
── 陳思堂醫生(香港世界宣明會董事會成員)




陳思堂醫生說自己是一個平凡的腦外科專科醫生,一直以來,他都十分喜歡自己的工作。他認為做醫生能夠幫助人,十分有意義。但是,在二十五年前,他毅然決定以另一方式去幫助人,就是加入宣明會,投身扶貧事業。他曾經帶領宣明會在中國內地、香港和七個亞太區國家的工作,至今仍然是香港世界宣明會董事會成員。

由醫治人腦,轉為改變人心,陳思堂醫生憶述當年作出這個決定前,考慮了數個月。加入宣明會後,他由獨自行醫,變成與一群同工及國際團隊合作,更要面對不少從前沒有遇過的挑戰。於是,他努力學習各個範疇的知識,例如人事和財務管理、社會學、經濟和農業,為的是可以更有效地帶領團隊,讓宣明會的工作真正幫助到世界各地的貧窮人。

陳思堂醫生多年來,隨宣明會到過不少貧困地區,看到很多貧窮人都十分努力,卻欠缺發展的環境和機會。他認為我們每一個平凡人,也有能力為他們帶來改變的機會,最重要的是有勇氣踏出幫助人的第一步。「我起初也有很多東西不懂,但只要肯學肯試,一起合作就能做到。」陳醫生說,幫助人能令自己的人生更豐盛,而當中的快樂更是無法形容。

「可以的話,我想一年探望一位,看看他的成長。看到孩子的成長是一個額外獎賞,因為能陪伴他們成長的時間有限。」
── Tinny(助養者)


Tinny 由進入職場開始,便助養孩子。由於身為護士,時間上難以參加宣明會舉辦的探訪團,她於是便決定自行前往探望每一個助養孩子,多年來已經到過斯里蘭卡、菲律賓、柬埔寨、緬甸和孟加拉,有些地區還是首次有香港人到訪的。

在短暫和孩子相處的時間裡,Tinny堅持要花時間和孩子玩積木,即使言語不通,她也希望教孩子如何拼砌。「我很想我的小朋友學會分享,我希望他們與同伴分享玩具,並從中感受所帶來的快樂。當他們學會了怎樣玩,可以去教其他人,讓其他人去玩,這是一種分享。分享是要學的。我不能助養所有小朋友,但可以藉一份玩具把它延續下去。

Tinny在出發前,也會騰出時間去購買物資,再寄往當地。「探訪學校時,我會送小禮物給學生,我總是帶著助養孩子一起派發。我希望他們可以一起參與,有一天他們有能力時,也會去幫助別人。Tinny希望助養孩子能夠明白她的心意。在平凡的相處中,一點一滴地塑造和祝福他們的生命。我們都是平凡人,但如她所說的,生命影響生命,必須通過自己的行動。

「在疫情期間,與其說我們所做的是在幫助別人,其實是幫助自己。因為大家的心靈都難過,很想多走一步,彼此支取力量。」
── 黃翠如(助養者)




黃翠如 形容自己是一個快樂與平凡的人。童年時,她在一間屋邨小學就讀。她還記得有一次,當她滿心歡喜地被選為全級代表之一,參加跳舞班,但最後卻因為家裡未能負擔學費而要放棄。「那一刻,我覺得自己好像比別人差。但是,現在看來都只不過是一個經歷。我覺得自己縱然比別人貧困,但也是一個正常和平凡人。」

近月的疫情,讓翠如再思貧窮。她曾經情急地穿著睡衣,到超市購買食米,卻發現貨架早已空空如也。「我們以往覺得理所當然有的東西,原來突然之間是會沒有的。但這卻是世界各地很多人,自出生以來,已經接受了的事情。而我們對於貧窮,亦不再流於幻想,或只是透過第三者去看這事情……」疫情期間,翠如還主動聯絡宣明會,協助派發她四出搜尋到的搓手液,更一起探訪基層家庭和送上防疫物資。「我們分享到的物資其實不多,但我覺得可以真正分享的是,當他們覺得徬徨無助時,讓他們知道有人關心。」翠如領略到真正的分享是當自己缺乏而別人更有需要時,我們仍願伸出援手。

自言平凡的翠如,亦開心地說助養兒童,讓她不再平凡。她親身探訪助養女兒後,感覺到那種不平凡,源於她讓孩子的人生有了另一個選擇。她相信這也是每個平凡人,都能夠做到的事情。


場地支持:基督教香港信義會馬鞍山信義學校

「平凡人只要有心,同樣可以在鄰舍中做到不凡事。」
── 歐偉民博士(工業福音團契總幹事)




歐偉民博士 看見基層朋友的貧窮,並不單是缺乏資源。「有一種叫我們心酸的貧窮,是基層朋友沒朋友,面對生活上的張力和巨變,不知道可找誰幫助。」

疫情期間,歐博士與同工發起「社區抗疫關懷行動」,盼望與基層家庭共渡時艱。面對龐大的需要、緊絀的資源,歐博士難免感到無力:「感恩宣明會不但送贈物資,更與我們一同探訪,且觀察基層家庭的需要,迅速回應。」當看見宣明會找到捐助者送來全新的玩具,贈予因停課而長期困在狹小空間的孩子,歐博士很感動:「基層孩子縱然貧窮,但宣明會的同工看見他們的生命同樣尊貴。」

一次,一個基層朋友婉拒他們送贈的口罩,請他們派給另一個更有需要的街坊。歐博士認為,這樣彼此記掛的鄰舍關係很美:「因著我們的服侍,基層朋友的生命得著改變,能夠同樣愛人,成為鄰舍的祝福。」生命的轉化,一直激勵他在不同張力中仍然堅持活出「愛鄰如己」的使命。「我們能做的,只是送上一杯涼水,讓他感受到有人關心、同行。」歐博士相信只要有心,每個平凡人也可以這樣做。



「我渴望建立一個團隊,讓團隊中的人覺得有價值,對社會有貢獻。」
── 溫費頓(世界宣明會前敘利亞危機救援項目總監)


溫費頓(Wynn Flaten)在宣明會工作近廿年。他首先在菲律賓停駐了四年,負責亞洲鄰近地區的糧食保障工作,然後在印尼擔任項目總監,期間遇上 2004 年發生的南亞海嘯。2011 年他擔任阿富汗宣明會總幹事,2014至2018年又到了約旦,統籌宣明會對敘利亞難民的救援工作。

溫費頓所到之處,一個比一個富挑戰性,甚至關乎自身及家人安危。在阿富汗、敘利亞等動蕩地區工作,他可曾感到不安全?溫費頓截然回答:「沒有,我並不害怕。我們的工作受當地人歡迎,自然會成為我們的保護。所以,我們總要做好。」溫費頓所說的好不只是說工作質素,也是行事為人,要做到融洽合作。

溫費頓說,如此流動性高和挑戰性大的工作歷程,並不是他所選的。「我明白信仰在人生中的位置,人要向其相信的神負責。」信仰是他的支柱,也幫助他面對眾多抉擇與艱難險阻。溫費頓說每個清晨,他都跟自己説:「今日將會有美事發生。將來如何,我真的不知道。但歷史最後會告訴我們,上帝一直掌管一切。」時至今日,宣明會仍然在阿富汗、約旦及鄰近地區幫助難民重見希望。



「我們要思考,假如耶穌基督今日身處世界複雜的問題與需要之中,祂將行的事;應當跟隨而行。」
── 卜皮爾博士(世界宣明會創辦人)




卜皮爾博士(Dr. Bob Pierce, 1914–1978) 是一名戰地記者、上帝忠心的僕人、孩子的父親,也是世界宣明會創辦人。1947 年,33 歲的卜皮爾第一次踏出美國到中國宣教,也是他第一次進入另一個文化去傳道。人們的苦難與窮困,撼動著他的心。卜皮爾深深體會到當貧窮人欠缺食物、衣服、居所或藥物等生存基本需要時,單單聽到福音並不足夠,還要生活上實質的幫助。這推動著他在 1950 年創立世界宣明會。

卜皮爾以記者身分在韓戰期間,於實地以筆桿及攝影機記錄衝突情況,將第一手資訊帶回美國,呼籲人持續關心受戰爭影響的孤兒寡婦並捐款幫助。因為他深信窮苦困乏的人不是一個統計數字,他們每一個都有自己的臉孔、名字、感受、希望和夢想。

及至越戰時,宣明會更進一步為受戰火的一群送上直接援助,包括開設難民學校、為流離失所者提供居所、為截肢者提供輪椅及為飢餓兒童開設餅乾工場等。時至今日,世界宣明會已擴展至全球近 100 個國家服侍貧窮及有需要的人,延續卜皮爾的熱忱和信念。


發揮不凡力量

宣明會70年來一直堅持謹守,與世上有需要的人同行。我們深信每個平凡人都擁有不凡力量。
只要願意,我們就能集結平凡人的量,為更美好的世界付出一分力,迸發出更大的改變力量。

現在就與宣明會一起發揮不凡力量。


香港世界宣明會為一有限責任形式成立的基督教救援及發展機構,旨在為貧窮的兒童、家庭及社區帶來長遠的改變。
© 2020香港世界宣明會版權所有 | 有關善款之運用及監管,請按此進入捐款運用