70 Years On

“Let my heart be broken by the things that break the heart of God.”
── Dr. Bob Pierce (Founder of World Vision)

The founding of World Vision started with a heart-breaking encounter. In 1947, towards the end of his missions trip in China, young American journalist Bob Pierce met Baiyu, a girl who was beaten and expelled from home for asking her father to let her go to school. Pierce wanted to help her, so he gave the last US$5 in his pocket and asked a local missionary to take care of the girl. Once he was back in the United States, Pierce continued to send US$5 each month to the missionary to make sure Baiyu was well taken care of. The encounter changed Pierce’s life, moving him to found World Vision in 1950 to help the most vulnerable children in the world.

The monthly support of US$5 was the prototype of Child Sponsorship. A few years later, to respond to the needs of orphans of the Korean War, the first Child Sponsorship programme was started and later expanded from Asia to Latin America, Africa, Eastern Europe and the Middle East. Today, World Vision has become an international Christian organisation that specialises in relief and community development in nearly 100 countries around the world.

An encounter that changes the world

1950s (The Beginning of World Vision)
Bob Pierce, then a young American journalist, arrived in China and came face-to-face with many children who had been abandoned. Deeply moved by their needs, he knew that giving the last US$5 in his pocket would not be enough and that more people had to be involved in order to reach more children in need. In 1950, he founded World Vision to support missionaries in providing emergency assistance in East Asia. Child Sponsorship was later established to transform the lives of needy children and their communities, bringing them healthcare, education, love and protection.

First life-saving vessel into the high seas

1970s (Operation Seasweep)
Between the 1960s and the 1980s, the political turmoil in Southeast Asia forced over 3 million people to flee from Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. Many refugees were fleeing by sea, but the neighbouring countries were all reluctant to take them in. As refugees helplessly tried to stay afloat and alive on tiny boats, it is estimated that some 200,000 to 400,000 died. To save lives, World Vision purchased a vessel, the first of its kind during this humanitarian crisis, to rescue the refugees and provide food and medical assistance for them.

An immediate response to the crisis of the century

1980s (Ethiopian Famine)
Famine hit Ethiopia at the peak of its ruthless civil war, trapping the country in one of the most severe food crises of the 20th century. The United Nations estimates that nearly 1 million people died in the famine, while several million were displaced. World Vision was one of the first to respond to the emergency, providing food for starving children and their families and saving lives at risk.

Not alone anymore

1990s (Orphan Crises in Romania and Africa)
When the communist regime in Romania fell, the country’s extreme financial hardships caused tens of thousands of children to be abandoned in orphanages. In 1994, 800,000 were brutally killed in the Rwandan genocide, leaving many children orphaned. In this decade, AIDS was rampant in Africa and killed the parents of 12 million African children. In response, World Vision entered Romania to support orphanages and provided assistance to help children orphaned by the genocide and AIDS.

Rebuilding with those who mourn

2000s (Indian Ocean Tsunami Response)
In 2004, a 9.1 magnitude earthquake trigged a tsunami that destroyed multiple coastal cities in Indonesia within minutes, claiming the lives of 100,000 people and continuing to devastate Thailand and Sri Lanka. Nearly 230,000 people lost their lives while many more were injured and left homeless. In response, World Vision initiated its largest-ever relief operation in Asia to date across affected countries to provide basic necessities. We ended up staying for more than a decade in some of the most affected areas, assisting families and communities in rebuilding their lives from scratch.

Children in conflict not forgotten

2010s to Present (Syria Crisis)
World Vision has been working in the Middle East for the past 40 years. Since Syria’s civil war began in 2011, we have been responding to the needs of those affected by it. As of 2020, about 5.6 million people have fled Syria and another 6.2 million are displaced within the country – half of which are vulnerable children. In Syria and neighbouring countries including Jordan, Lebanon and Iraq, World Vision is providing healthcare, emergency food, water and sanitation, education and recreation for affected children. We are also offering child protection training for adults and psychological support for families.



Our Beliefs

Our Vision Statement
Our vision for every child, life in all its fullness;
Our prayer for every heart, the will to make it so.



Our Core Values

We are Christian
From the abundance of God's love, we find our call to ministry.

We are committed to the poor
We are called to serve the needy, to relieve their suffering and to promote the transformation of their condition of life.


We value people
We regard all people as created and loved by God. We give priority to people before money, structure and systems.

We are stewards
We are faithful to the purpose for which resources are given and manage them in a manner that brings maximum benefit to the poor.

We are partners
We are members of an international World Vision Partnership that transcends legal, structural and cultural boundaries.

We are responsive
We are responsive to life-threatening emergencies where our involvement is needed and appropriate.





Unleash Your Hidden Hero

World Vision has been serving the world's most in need for 70 years. We believe that every ordinary person has extraordinary powers.
When we all come together, we can help make the world a better place and create a legacy that lasts.
Join our cause and unleash the hidden hero inside you now!


World Vision Hong Kong, incorporated with limited liability, is a Christian humanitarian organisation working to create lasting change in the lives of children, families and communities living in poverty.
© 2020 World Vision Hong Kong | Please click here for information on Use of Donation | Tax-exempt Charities - IR File Number: 91/2002

堅持謹守 70 年

「令上帝心碎的事,也使我心碎!」
── 卜皮爾博士(世界宣明會創辦人)

世界宣明會的創立,源於一段令人心碎的經歷。1947 年時,年輕的美籍記者卜皮爾博士在一次中國宣教旅程的尾聲,遇見因跟爸爸說要上學而慘遭打罵,還被趕出家門的一位小女孩白玉。他很想幫助這寶貴的生命,於是拿出僅餘的五美元,委托當地宣教士代為照顧她。回到美國後,他繼續每月寄上五美元予資源緊絀的宣教士,讓白玉不致無依無靠。這個經歷扭轉了卜皮爾的一生,亦感動他在 1950 年創立世界宣明會,致力幫助世上貧困兒童。

那五元持續捐獻,為日後的「助養兒童計劃」定下了雛型。數年後,為回應 1953 年韓戰遺孤的需要,第一個「助養兒童計劃」展開,隨後計劃更由亞洲擴展至拉丁美洲、非洲、東歐及中東等地。時至今日,世界宣明會已發展成在全球近 100 個國家推行救援和社區發展的基督教國際性非政府組織。

因感動而走向世界

1950 年代(成立世界宣明會)
卜皮爾來到中國,遇見一個又一個被遺棄的兒童,被他們的需要深深觸動,他知道只捐出自己口袋中最後的五美元並不足夠,必須有更多人參與才能幫助更多有需要的孩子,因此,他於 1950 年成立世界宣明會,支援宣教士在東亞地區提供緊急援助,隨後更開展「助養兒童計劃」,幫助孩子及其社區內兒童享健康,獲教育,在愛和保護中長遠改善生活。

第一艘救援船 怒海搶救生命

1970 年代(世界宣明會「海掃行動」)
1960 至 1980 年代的東南亞政局不穩,逾 300萬人逃離越南、柬埔寨和當時的寮國。大量難民經海路逃難,但周邊國家不欲收容,船民無助地在海上漂浮,死亡人數估計高達 20 至 40 萬。為了搶救生命,世界宣明會購入輪船,出海搜救船民,向他們提供食物及醫療援助,亦成為是次人道危機中的第一艘救援船。

即時回應 20 世紀最嚴重糧食危機

1980 年代(埃塞俄比亞饑荒)
當埃塞俄比亞經歷殘酷的內戰期間,饑荒同時降臨,令當地人陷於 20 世紀最嚴重的糧食危機之一。聯合國估算近 100 萬人死於饑荒,數百萬人流離失所。世界宣明會是其中一批最早抵達的緊急救援隊伍,為飢餓孩子及家人帶來糧食,搶救危在旦夕的生命。

讓孩子不再孤單

1990 年代(羅馬尼亞和非洲湧現孤兒潮)
羅馬尼亞共產政權倒台,國內經濟困難,數以萬計兒童被遺棄在孤兒院;1994 年發生的盧旺達大屠殺,80 萬人遭殺害,遺下大量孤兒;愛滋病肆虐,1,200 萬名非洲兒童痛失父母。世界宣明會進入羅馬尼亞向孤兒院提供支援,又協助盧旺達孤兒及愛滋病遺孤,重建生活與心靈。

與哀慟的人一起重建家園

2000 年代(南亞海嘯)
2004 年 9.1 級大地震引發的南亞海嘯,於數分鐘內摧毀印尼多個沿海城市,並奪去 10 萬人的性命。海嘯繼續對泰國、斯里蘭卡造成嚴重破壞,導致最終近 23 萬人喪生,更多人受傷及失去家園。世界宣明會為此在亞洲發動歷來最大規模的救援行動,提供即時生活所需,更在受災嚴重的地區留守逾 10 年,幫助受影響的家庭和社區,重建家園與生活。

不離不棄戰火兒童

2010 年代至今(敘利亞內戰)
世界宣明會在中東地區服侍已有 40 年,更持續地回應自 2011 年爆發的敘利亞內戰,援助大量受戰火影響的人。截至 2020年,約 560 萬人逃離敘利亞,另有 620 萬人在國內流徙,當中半數是最脆弱的兒童。世界宣明會在敘利亞及約旦、黎巴嫩和伊拉克等鄰近地區,向受影響的兒童提供醫療保健、緊急糧食、水利衛生、教育及康樂,向成人提供兒童保護方面的培訓,以及為家庭提供心理支援。



我們的信念

我們的抱負

委身讓每個孩子活出豐盛生命;
祈求使每顆心靈宏志得以達成。


我們的核心信念

我們是基督徒

因為上帝豐盛的慈愛,我們回應祂的呼召,委身參與發展事工的行列。

我們委身於貧窮人

我們被呼召去服侍世上最有需要的人,解除他們的困苦,以及促進生命及生存條件的改變。

我們重視人的價值

我們視全人類為上帝所創造、為祂所愛的。我們看重人過於金錢、架構及制度。

我們是管家

我們必定信守每一項捐獻的目的,並且管理得當,使貧窮人獲得最大的益處。

我們是合作伙伴

我們是國際世界宣明會的伙伴成員,彼此關係乃超乎一切法律、組織以及文化上的界限。

我們迅速回應

當危害性命的緊急災難發生,需要我們適切的參與時,我們必定會迅速回應。



發揮不凡力量

宣明會70年來一直堅持謹守,與世上有需要的人同行。我們深信每個平凡人都擁有不凡力量。
只要願意,我們就能集結平凡人的量,為更美好的世界付出一分力,迸發出更大的改變力量。

現在
就與宣明會一起發揮不凡力量。


香港世界宣明會為一有限責任形式成立的基督教救援及發展機構,旨在為貧窮的兒童、家庭及社區帶來長遠的改變。
© 2020香港世界宣明會版權所有 | 有關善款之運用及監管,請按此進入捐款運用