I am ordinary

The people that we cross paths with every day may be ordinary. However, as one in the 7 billion people across the globe, what we think and do can be extraordinary for others and even the world.

We may be ordinary individuals, but when we all join forces, we will make an extraordinary impact together.


Priscilla Wong and Edwin Siu


Priscilla Wong and Edwin Siu

"Back in secondary school, we both had to share a lunchbox with a classmate because of some family circumstances. That's why we don't waste food even until now." Speaking of food, Priscilla and Edwin both think of the dishes that their mothers used to prepare for them, and even try to replicate those flavours for us.

The couple have realised something during the recent pandemic. "What mother would not do the groceries and prepare meals for her children, just to avoid the risk of visiting crowded places? They even have to endure the soaring food prices while balancing children's nutrition. Mothers, especially those from poor families are taking in a lot of pressure."

Priscilla and Edwin also visited two local families who are beneficiaries of World Vision's Local Ministry. These families regularly receive food packages, including fruits, vegetables, meat, noodles or rice, etc., so that their children can stay well-nourished in the pandemic. "Although the food in these packs do not seem special, they are basically what children need most...Likewise, many things they seem insignificant and ordinary, may mean a lot to someone else. We should try to do more of these things."


我們的足跡
Ernest Yip

Ernest Yip

Ernest Yip has participated in three teacher tours since 2017, visiting Sri Lanka, Nepal and Myanmar with World Vision. He would then share his experience and stories from these poor countries with his students. “This is a big world. As members of it, we are no different from a grain of dust. I often remind myself to be humble, and face everything meekly,” Having achieved his dream of becoming a teacher, Ernest also hopes that his students could try to achieve extraordinary things to the best of their ability.

Venue Support: Yan Chai Hospital Tung Chi Ying Memorial Secondary School


我們的足跡
Stephen Chan

Stephen Chan

For years, Stephen Chan has been attending 30-Hour Famine in person to show his support. Since a decade ago, he has even started sponsoring children. During the pandemic last year, he started “stephenchannel” to express his concerns for global issues such as poverty and hunger. While these issues are challenging, he thinks that does not mean we do not have to try to solve them. He also encourages every ordinary person to do their part. “Just follow your heart, and all that you do will naturally become extraordinary. And don’t underestimate how powerful you are,” he says.



我們的足跡
宣明會實習生

World Vision Interns

Every year, World Vision recruits local university students to become short-term interns. In the past, interns used to have the opportunity to visit and intern at World Vision’s project areas. However, after the pandemic broke out, interns would stay in Hong Kong to learn, help develop educational resources, lead school talks, etc. Andrew, Antonie, Chloe and Phoebe (from left to right), who come from different institutes, were World Vision interns. Despite not knowing a lot about the organisation at first, they all gained something during the internship.

Through the internship programme, we hope to offer a platform for the local youth, not just to learn more about development and poverty alleviation, but also to collaborate with World Vision in promoting life education services locally, unleashing the extraordinary impact of ordinary people.


我們的足跡
Chris Leung and Maggie Leung

Chris Leung and Maggie Leung

Ever since the pandemic began, we have not been able to travel freely and seem to have lost opportunities of exploring the world. Former newscaster Maggie Leung and famed traveller Chris Leung used to share their travel experiences, but have now seen their travel plans completely disrupted by the pandemic. Still, they think there are many ways to connect with and care for the world, which every ordinary person can try to do.

Our Footsteps

Our Footsteps

For World Vision, poverty has never been a set of figures, but children and families in real needs that we serve. In 2020, together with you, World Vision Hong Kong set foot in 35 countries, running 106 Area Development Programmes, 95 short- to mid-term development projects and 76 relief and rehabilitation projects, journeying with 9.7 million poor, vulnerable and needy people through hardships and enabling them to experience transformation.

World Vision Hong Kong set foot in 35 countries
World Vision Hong Kong set foot in 35 countries, running 106 Area Development Programmes, 95 short- to mid-term development projects and 76 relief and rehabilitation projects, journeying with 9.7 million poor, vulnerable and needy people through hardships and enabling them to experience transformation
Major Scopes of Our Work

Food and Livelihoods

  • Provide livestock rearing and agricultural training to increase food supply and the income of families, and help farmers gain access to agricultural markets
  • Help families set up savings and loans groups to increase their income generation capacity

Education and Life Skills

  • Equip parents by introducing them to concepts of children’s physical and cognitive development
  • Help out-of-school children and adolescents return to school or receive vocational training
  • Provide education resources and training for teachers to offer children a safe learning environment

Nutrition and Health

  • Promote nutritional knowledge, breastfeeding and mother-and-child health education to protect children from contracting preventable diseases
  • Refer malnourished children for treatment
  • Improve health services in communities and train health volunteers to help poor families receive adequate treatment

Water and Sanitation

  • Construct water and handwashing facilities, and train community members to manage them so as to maintain sustainable and safe water supply
  • Promote hygiene and handwashing knowledge in communities and schools to help children form good hygiene habits

Love and Protection

  • Promote child protection in communities and help vulnerable families receive social services
  • Hold various children activities to build up children’s capacity and self-confidence
  • Provide help for families to register their newborn children so as to protect their civil rights

Relief and Rehabilitation

  • Offer emergency supplies including food, water and other basic necessities to meet urgent needs
  • Provide psychosocial support for survivors to release their post-disaster distress and regain confidence
  • Carry out rehabilitation projects to help the affected restore their livelihoods

Unleash Your Hidden Hero

World Vision has been serving the world's most in need for 70 years. We believe that every ordinary person has extraordinary powers.
When we all come together, we can help make the world a better place and create a legacy that lasts.
Join our cause and unleash the hidden hero inside you now!



World Vision Hong Kong, incorporated with limited liability, is a Christian humanitarian organisation working to create lasting change in the lives of children, families and communities living in poverty.
© 2021 World Vision Hong Kong | Please click here for information on Use of Donation | Tax-exempt Charities - IR File Number: 91/2002

我係平凡人

每一天,與我們擦身而過的,或許都是一個又一個的平凡人。但是,作為全球70多億人中的一分子,我們所想和所做的,對其他人以至世界來說,可能絕不平凡。

我們每一個都是平凡人,但是,只要我們願意,就能夠合力發揮出不凡力量。


葉杰民

葉杰民

葉杰民自2017年起三次參加教師考察團,隨宣明會到訪斯里蘭卡、尼泊爾和緬甸,然後將在貧窮國家的所見所聞,融入課堂之中,與學生一起放眼世界。「世界很大,作為地球一分子,我們跟一粒塵無大分別。我時常提醒自己要謙虛,謙卑面對一切。」葉杰民實現了成為教師的夢想,他也希望學生在能力範圍內,朝著理想嘗試做不平凡的事。

場地支持:仁濟醫院董之英紀念中學


我們的足跡
陳志雲

陳志雲

多年來,陳志雲都會身體力行出席「饑饉30」活動,以示支持及鼓勵,更由十多年前開始助養兒童。在去年疫情期間,他創立了「志雲頻道」,一直關注世界貧窮和飢餓等問題,他認為這些問題縱然難以解決,但是並不代表我們現在不用嘗試去解決它;他亦鼓勵每個平凡人也要盡他們的一分力,「只要隨心地去做,所做的事情自然便會不平凡,還有的是不要低估自己的力量。」



我們的足跡
宣明會實習生

宣明會實習生

宣明會每年均會在港招募就讀大學課程的同學,成為短期實習生。以往,實習生有機會前赴宣明會的項目工作點進行考察及實習。在疫情爆發之後,則主要集中留港實習,建立相關知識及技巧,協助製作教育資源及帶領學校講座等。來自不同院校的Andrew、Antonie、Chloe及Phoebe(圖左至右)均為宣明會實習生,由初時不太認識宣明會,直至完成實習後,也各有領受。

我們希望藉著實習生的計劃,為本地青年提供一個平台,不僅去了解發展和扶貧等議題,更能與宣明會同工,推行本地生命教育服務,發揮平凡人的不凡力量。


我們的足跡
梁凱寧和梁彥宗

梁凱寧和梁彥宗

自從疫情蔓延全球以來,大家都未能四出旅遊,彷彿亦因此失去放眼世界的機會。前新聞主播梁凱寧和旅遊達人梁彥宗,一直都樂於與大家分享遊歷與見聞,而他們亦因疫情久久未能成行。可是,他們卻認為還有很多方法可以聯繫及關心世界,每個平凡人亦可以嘗試去做呢!

我們的足跡

我們的足跡

自宣明會創立至今,貧窮絕非只是一個冰冷的數字,而是一個又一個我們服侍著的貧困兒童和家庭。在2020年,香港世界宣明會與大家一起踏足35個國家,推行106「區域發展項目」、95個中短期發展項目及76個救援及重建項目,陪伴970萬貧困、脆弱及有需要的人走過困境,帶來改變生命的機會。

香港世界宣明會與大家一起踏足35個國家
香港世界宣明會與大家一起踏足35個國家,推行106「區域發展項目」、95個中短期發展項目及76個救援及重建項目,陪伴970萬貧困、脆弱及有需要的人走過困境
我們的工作重點

糧食與生計

  • 提供農耕及畜牧培訓,增加糧食供應及家庭收入,並協助農民加入農業市場
  • 協助貧困家庭建立儲蓄及借貸小組,提升他們的創收能力

教育與培訓

  • 裝備家長認識兒童的生理及認知發展
  • 協助失學兒童及青少年重新適應學習或接受職業培訓
  • 為學校提供學習資源及老師培訓,以提高兒童的學習能力

營養與健康

  • 推廣營養知識、母乳餵哺及母嬰健康教育,以保護兒童免患上可預防的疾病
  • 轉介營養不良兒童接受治療
  • 提升社區的醫療服務,又培訓社區衛生員以幫助貧困家庭獲得適切的治療

水利與衛生

  • 興修水利及洗手設施,並培訓社區人士管理有關設施,以保障可持續及安全的食水供應
  • 在社區和學校推廣衛生和潔手知識,幫助兒童建立良好的衛生習慣

關愛與保護

  • 推廣保護兒童信息,並協助脆弱家庭獲得社會服務
  • 舉辦各類兒童活動,培訓兒童的能力和自信心
  • 協助家庭為嬰兒進行出生登記,以保障他們的公民權利

救援與重建

  • 提供糧食、食水及日用品等緊急物資,以解燃眉之急
  • 提供心理支援,幫助受災人士紓緩情緒,重拾信心
  • 開展重建工作,協助受災人士盡快恢復生計

發揮不凡力量

宣明會70年來一直堅持謹守,與世上有需要的人同行。我們深信每個平凡人,都擁有不凡力量。
只要願意,我們就能集結平凡人的力量,為更美好的世界付出一分力,迸發出更大的改變力量。


現在,就與宣明會一起發揮不凡力量。




香港世界宣明會為一有限責任形式成立的基督教救援及發展機構,旨在為貧窮的兒童、家庭及社區帶來長遠的改變。
© 2021香港世界宣明會版權所有 | 有關善款之運用及監管,請按此進入捐款運用