World Vision Partners Focuses






Donate





Donate


Donate

Help for the Helpless
Hope for the Hopeless

World Vision Partners and you can provide various forms of aid in socio-politically unstable regions where Child Sponsorship cannot be implemented. Together we will help children and families see through hardship and develop their resilience to embrace a brighter future.






Survival

Overcoming malnutrition


South Sudan

  • Over 4 million displaced by a civil war*
  • Over 2.4 million have fled to neighbouring countries^
  • Conflict persists and economy fails

  • *UNOCHA & UNHCR, May 2018
    ^UNHCR, May 2018

    13-month-old Rhoda is one of the over 1 million children in South Sudan who suffered from malnutrition. When she first came to the clinic, the weak Rhoda was severely malnourished and had malaria, making her reluctant to eat.

    Since enrolling in the World Vision nutrition programme, Rhoda had to take a peanut paste fortified with added vitamins and minerals to gain weight and to become healthy again. Throughout the weekly check-ups at the clinic, Rhoda’s mother remained hopeful that her child’s condition would improve. Indeed, Rhoda is making good progress. Wearing a smile on her face, she can now attempt a few steps and even interact with other babies at the clinic.




    Recovery

    Enjoying clean water in dry land


    Afghanistan

  • 40 years of conflict, drought and economic instability
  • Few job opportunities, rising poverty rate and worsening environment
  • Mountainous and remote

  • Since 2001, World Vision has been working in Afghanistan. In Badghis Province, there are two villages with about 350 households. In the past, as water supply network was non-existent, children had to walk 30 minutes a day to fetch water from a nearby river, regardless of the seasons. The river was muddy and contained worms, regularly causing children’s stomach pains, diarrhoea, vomiting and belly cramps.

    Things began to change for the better when World Vision built two solar-powered water networks. Each network contains one borehole, a metallic head tank, solar panels, solar submersible water pump and a distribution branch of water pipes. Children no longer have to make the daily journey to the river or worry about falling ill, as each household can now collect clean water from water taps close to their homes. Children now have more time for schoolwork and games, while families can spend the medical expenses saved on food and school supplies.




    Hope

    Regaining confidence


    Syria

  • Conflict broke out in 2011
  • Over 6.6 million displaced internally*
  • More than 5.6 million seeking refuge in other countries^

  • *UNOCHA, March 2018
    ^UNHCR, March 2018

    7-year-old Ahmad left for Lebanon with his family as a baby, not long after the conflict in Syria broke out. When Ahmad was 6, a hot tea pot accidentally fell on his arm, leaving him severely burned. As his parents were unable to afford proper medical care, scars were left on his arm.

    After World Vision staff visited his family, Ahmad was invited to attend an early education centre for refugees at no cost. This was his first experience of education and he was excited. Every morning, he would learn basic literacy and numeracy. He would draw, play games, make friends and eat snacks. These activities are especially important to refugee children. Not only do they get a chance to continue with their education, but they have also found a cure to their psychological wounds through games and socialising. Since attending the centre, Ahmad has shown significant improvement. Previously, he was ashamed of his scars and reluctant to participate, but now he is very confident and active in class.

宣明之友工作範疇






即時捐款





即時捐款


即時捐款

全力救援危難者 重建生機與希望

「宣明之友」和你可以在社會環境不穩而無法開展「助養兒童計劃」的地區,為危難者提供多方面的救援,與兒童及家庭一起渡過難關,建立抗逆力,滿懷希望地建設未來。






重獲生機

從營養不良中活過來


南蘇丹

  • 內戰至今導致400多萬人痛失家園*
  • 逾240萬難民逃往鄰國^
  • 持續衝突,經濟衰落

  • *UNOCHA 及 UNHCR,2018年5月
    ^UNHCR,2018年5月

    在南蘇丹,逾100萬名兒童患有營養不良,13個月大的露達是其中之一。露達初到診所時非常瘦弱,營養不良情況嚴重,並患有瘧疾,拒絶進食。

    露達參與了宣明會的營養計劃,需進食添加了維他命及礦物質的花生營養補充劑,助她增加體重及回復健康。期間,露達的媽媽每周帶她回診所檢查和度高磅重時都深存盼望,願孩子情況得到改善。露達現在康復情況良好,不但時常展現笑容,還能迅速走幾步,並和診所內的其他嬰孩玩耍。




    重建生活

    在乾旱之地流出潔淨水源


    阿富汗

  • 經歷衝突、乾旱及經濟不穩近40年
  • 就業機會低、貧窮人口增加、生態環璄惡化
  • 地處山區,與其他地區顯著隔絶

  • 自2001年起,宣明會在阿富汗開展救援工作。阿富汗巴德吉斯省內有兩條村住了350戶人,過去由於沒有供水系統,不論炎寒,孩子每日都要走半小時到河邊取混濁又含蟲的泥水回家飲用,因此經常肚痛、腹瀉、嘔吐及胃痙攣。

    直至宣明會在當地建設兩個太陽能供水網絡,包括鑽井、金屬水缸、太陽能板、太陽能水泵、供水管道及水龍頭,孩子無需再走遠路取水,也不用怕肚子痛,因為各家可在附近的水龍頭取得清潔食水了。孩子因此可以省下時間做功課和玩遊戲,家庭省下的醫藥費如今可以用來購買食物和上學用品。




    重見希望

    在群體中重建信心


    敘利亞

  • 2011年開始爆發衝突
  • 660萬人在敘利亞境內流徙*
  • 逾560萬人逃至其他國家尋求庇護^

  • *UNOCHA,2018年3月
    ^UNHCR,2018年3月

    7歲的阿默和家人在敘利亞衝突爆發後不久便逃往黎巴嫩,當時他還是個嬰孩。阿默6歲時意外被熱茶嚴重灼傷,由於沒法負擔醫藥費,阿默手臂上留下了深深的疤痕。

    宣明會工作人員在家訪後,邀請阿默到免費難民幼兒教育中心,這是他第一次接受教育,感到異常興奮。每天早上,他和其他孩子一起學習寫字、算術,又一起畫畫、玩遊戲、認識朋友和享用茶點。這些活動對難民兒童殊為重要,不但讓他們持續學習,更從遊戲及社交中療癒戰亂帶來的心靈創傷。這段時間裡,阿默有顯著進步。最初他對疤痕感到羞愧,並且表現不合作,但現在他變得十分有自信,又會主動回答老師提問。