Frontline Stories






Donate





Donate


Donate
Due to war and conflict, many children have seen their lives turn upside down in an instant. Their plight is not what a child should ever have to experience.

Jannatul, a Survivor of Conflict

Jannatul, a 5-year-old Rohingya girl, lives in a refugee camp in Cox’s Bazar, Bangladesh. Two years ago, she was living in Rakhine State, Myanmar, with her family. Her parents had a garden and cattle, and the family led a good life. But that summer, everything changed overnight.

In late August 2017, conflict erupted in Rakhine, turning many Rohingya villages into battlefields. As Salima, Jannatul’s mother, recalls, “Our homes were set on fire and burned to the ground. People were running everywhere.” Jannatul and her mother survived, only to find out that her father was shot and her two siblings were stabbed to death. That night, the two began running for their survival to Bangladesh, following thousands of fellow villagers.

It was a strenuous journey, but eventually they made it to the camp. “We walked for a week in the rain, and for three days we didn’t eat,” says Salima. “Jannatul was about to die when another family shared some food with us.” They also saw many people dead along the way.

Sited on hilly terrain with limited space, the camp is in poor condition and liable to disasters like monsoons and landslides, which puts the lives of over 900,000 refugees at great risk.

World Vision is currently assisting Salima and other families in need by providing access to clean water and supplementary food, as well as materials such as concrete and bamboos for refugees to reinforce their homes against monsoons. Jannatul also enjoys attending World Vision’s Child Friendly Space where she can play and learn with other refugee children and support one another. Please continue to help these refugees as they rebuild their livelihoods and recover from the painful and traumatic experiences.

Jannatul (middle on phone screen) lost both of her siblings overnight. This photo of the trio on her mother’s phone is now the only surviving memory of them.

Though still a young child, Jannatul has to help her mother fetch water and perform other household chores in the refugee camp.

Jannatul regularly attends World Vision’s Child Friendly Space. Her favourite activities include drawing and reading picture books.

Become a World Vision Partner now to restore hope for children affected by conflict.





Sara


When younger, Sara used to live in a spacious house with her family and led a life of harmony. Her father enjoyed playing with the children. However, as conflict broke out in 2011, Sara’s life was turned around in an instant. She was only ten. “Before the war started, nothing worried me. Everything was okay.”

Sara recalls how militants stormed into her community one day to loot and kill. In the night, the noises of bombing and shooting would wake her up. The militants even tried to break into her house, which made her very worried about her family’s safety. Sadly, her beloved father was consequently kidnapped. “They ran over him and then they shot him and then burned him,” says Sara. Missing her father deeply, she adds, “I wanted to see him. I wanted to kill myself.”

Fearing for their safety as the conflict intensified, the family followed Sara’s mother and fled by night. Sara was only able to pack some clothes, a family album and a watch given by her father. She was always holding the album and the watch to reminisce the good times they had. “I just want my father to come back.”

Upon reaching the temporary settlements in Lebanon, Sara and her family could only cram into a tiny and stuffy tent with a few other families. The infrastructure in this community is poor, but Sara still feels that life is better here than in Syria. At least, she no longer has to worry about bombings. She is working hard on her studies and hopes to become a judge in the future.

World Vision is actively assisting Syrian refugees in Lebanon, helping children like Sara overcome their traumatic experiences of war. Through Child Friendly Spaces and other forms of education assistance, displaced children are able to continue their education and see their hopes restored.

Before the conflict, Sara was living a carefree life, a stark contrast to her current life in the temporary settlements.

Apart from overcoming the pain of losing her father, Sara also bears the responsibility of taking care of her younger brother.

Sara packed a photo album when she fled, and would look at the photos when she misses her father.

Become a World Vision Partner now to restore hope for children affected by conflict.




Monthly Donation

HK$150

Provide 5 refugee families with seeds in a year, so as to help open up livelihood opportunities, and ensure them a stable supply of food and income.

HK$300

Provide 4 conflict-affected children early childhood education in a year, equipping them with the necessary knowledge to catch up on their studies when formal schooling is available.

HK$600

Provide 10 conflict-affected children Child Friendly Spaces in a year, that they can play, learn and receive psychosocial support, and be protected from child labour and human trafficking.

To ensure our work is carried out efficiently in an ever-changing world, World Vision will support different regions and allocate funds to particular projects according to the most current needs.





Your support offers opportunities of Survival, Recovery and Hope.

Since last century, World Vision has been responding to the world’s most urgent disasters and humanitarian crises, by delivering timely aids to conflicted and vulnerable areas. The goal of World Vision is to be “first in” and “last out”—seeing families and communities through hardship to restoration.

Survival

  • Distribute emergency aid, such as food, clean water and hygiene kits
  • Provide shelter and basic commodities to meet urgent needs

As soon as conflict erupts, the displaced lack basic necessities such as food, clean water and shelter, and live in constant hunger, illness and fear. You can help them regain the capacity to thrive.

Recovery

  • Help construct infrastructure such as water systems and latrines as communities rebuild and develop
  • Provide support such as improved seeds and beekeeping training to improve livelihoods and expand income sources

In areas affected by conflict, infrastructure is often destroyed or inadequate. Families are unable to make ends meet, meaning that children live with limited assurance. You can help them rebuild livelihoods.

Hope

  • Provide a safe living environment for children and families
  • Run Child Friendly Spaces to provide psychological assistance for children, and offer education or skills training for children and youths

During conflicts or crises, children are traumatised by the inevitable separation from, or the loss of, their loved ones, and left to live in despair. You can help them restore hope.

World Vision Partners and you can provide various forms of aid in socio-politically unstable regions where Child Sponsorship cannot be implemented. Together we will help children and families see through hardship and develop their resilience to embrace a brighter future.

前線故事






即時捐款





即時捐款


即時捐款
因著戰爭與衝突,無數孩子的生命在一秒之間完全扭轉,他們經歷的殘酷實況,絕對不是孩子應當承受的苦痛。

倖存的女孩:珍娜桃

羅興亞女孩珍娜桃今年五歲,現時暫居於孟加拉科克斯巴札爾的難民營中。兩年前,她和家人生活在緬甸若開邦,父母以務農維生,家裡既有菜園,又有牲口,而且一家團圓。但是,在那年夏天,一切都在一夜間改變了。

2017年八月底,衝突忽然在若開邦爆發,不少羅興亞人聚居的村落在一瞬間成為戰場。珍娜桃的母親莎莉瑪憶述:「我們的家被放火燒了,人們到處逃跑。」珍娜桃和母親僥倖避過一劫,但父親卻被槍殺了,兩個弟妹更被人用刀刺死了。當晚,兩母女跟著數千個村民,一起逃往孟加拉。

她們好不容易地逃到難民營。莎莉瑪說:「我們在雨中走了一星期,三天沒有進食。珍娜桃幾乎死了,幸好有人分享一點食物給我們。」她們還看見很多人死在路上。

難民營建在一片高低起伏的山丘上,空間有限,環境惡劣,而且常面對季候風吹襲和山泥傾瀉,威脅著逾九十萬難民的生命。

宣明會在難民營中,為莎莉瑪和有需要的家庭提供清潔食水和營養補助食物,並派發混凝土和竹枝等物料,讓他們加固房屋,以免受到風災的影響。而珍娜桃最開心的是來到宣明會的「兒童天地」遊戲和學習,與其他難民孩子彼此扶持。懇請你繼續幫助他們,使他們重建生計,並走出傷痛和陰霾。

珍娜桃(中)一夜間失去了弟妹,母親手機裡三姊弟的合照,成為了她懷念弟妹唯一的物品。

來到物資匱乏的難民營,年紀小小的珍娜桃也要協助母親打水和處理家務。

珍娜桃經常參與宣明會「兒童天地」的活動,她最喜歡的是繪畫和閱讀圖畫書。

立即成為「宣明之友」,與我們一起為戰火中的孩子帶來希望。





沙娜


沙娜小時候和家人住在漂亮寬敞的大屋裡,一家人生活樂也融融,父親經常陪她們玩耍。然而,隨著2011年爆發衝突,她的人生瞬間扭轉。那時候,她只有十歲。「戰爭爆發前,我不必擔心任何事,一切都很好。」

沙娜記得武裝分子有一天突襲她的社區,搶掠甚至殺人。晚上更常常被炮火和槍聲吵醒,武裝分子甚至試圖闖進家裡,令她十分擔心一家人的安危。不幸的是,她深愛的父親結果還是被擄去了。沙娜憶述:「他們向他開槍,然後燒死他。」她對父親的思念難以休止,她傷心地說:「我很想見他,我想過自殺。」

由於衝突日益激烈,母親帶著他們連夜逃難,沙娜只能帶走幾件衣服、一本裝滿家庭照的相簿和父親送給她的手錶,沙娜時常拿著相簿和手錶,回想與父親一起的時光和快樂,「我只想父親回到我的身邊。」

到了黎巴嫩的臨時安置區,沙娜和家人只能與三、四個家庭一起擠在狹小和悶熱的帳篷,社區設施也十分簡陋。然而,沙娜覺得這裡比敘利亞好一點,因為至少在這裡,她不必再擔心遭受炸彈襲擊。她很努力學習,希望將來可以成為法官。

宣明會在黎巴嫩積極支援敘利亞難民,幫助一個又一個好像沙娜的孩子紓緩戰爭帶來的創傷,透過「兒童天地」和各種教育支援,讓流離失所的戰火兒童繼續學業,重見希望。

在衝突爆發前,沙娜與父母過著無憂無慮的生活,跟現在處身臨時安置區的情況相距甚遠。

除了要克服失去父親的傷痛外,沙娜還要肩負照顧年幼弟弟的責任。

逃難的時候,沙娜帶走了一本相簿,每當她想念父親的時候,就會翻看裡面的相片。

立即成為「宣明之友」,與我們一起為戰火中的孩子帶來希望。




每月捐款

HK$150

每年可讓5個難民家庭獲得種子,耕種以謀生,並獲得穩定的糧食供應,長遠達致自給自足。

HK$300

每年可讓4名受衝突影響的幼童獲得學前教育機會,學習基本知識,預備將來入讀正規學校。

HK$600

每年可讓10名兒童紓緩衝突帶來的心理影響,在「兒童天地」遊戲、學習和接受輔導,亦保障他們免於成為童工或被販運。

隨著世界不斷轉變,宣明會會按情況需要支援不同地區的項目,以致能更有效率的使用資金去幫助困苦的人。




你的支持,讓危難者重獲生機、重建生活、重見希望!

宣明會自上世紀開始回應各地的緊急災難和人道危機,在衝突地區、生靈塗炭之地提供及時的援助,以「最先」提供救援為己任,更以留守至「最後」為目標,直至家庭和社區真正渡過困境,建立抗逆力,滿懷希望地建設未來。

重獲生機

  • 提供緊急救援物資,例如食物、清潔食水及衛生用品等
  • 提供安全居所和基本日常用品等,以解他們燃眉之急

受衝突影響而被迫逃難的人缺乏食物、食水及棲身之所等基本生活所需,時刻活在飢餓、疾病與惶恐之中。你可以幫助他們重獲生機。

重建生活

  • 協助社區建設供水系統、衛生廁所等,幫助社區重建和發展
  • 提供抗旱種子、養蜂技術等以改善生計及擴闊收入來源

受衝突影響的地區,社區設施往往被破壞或不敷應用,家庭亦欠缺途徑謀生,令孩子的生活缺乏保障。你可以幫助他們重建生活。

重見希望

  • 為孩子及家庭提供安全的生活環境
  • 開設「兒童天地」為孩子提供心理支援;又為兒童及青少年提供教育或技能培訓等

在衝突和危難中,孩子大都目睹親人被殺或受傷,甚至被迫分離,身心飽受創傷,失卻對未來的希望。你可以幫助他們重見希望。

「宣明之友」和你可以在社會環境不安穩而無法開展「助養兒童計劃」的地區,為危難者提供多方面的救援,與兒童及家庭一起渡過難關,建立抗逆力,滿懷希望地建設未來。