Children Not Soldiers






Donate





Donate


Donate

According to a UNICEF report in 2016, it is estimated that 535 million children (a quarter of the global child population) are living in countries affected by conflicts or natural disasters. Half of the world’s 25.4 million refugees are children under the age of 18, who are more likely to be exposed to exploitation and violence as conflict continues.

Wars and conflicts have driven children out of their homes. With their families’ livelihoods destroyed, children may starve, drop out of school or even become orphans. Events such as witnessing the demise of their loved ones or the destruction of their homes leave indelible scars in children’s hearts, causing depression and psychological trauma.



The Tragic Reality of Child Soldiers



During conflicts, children are often the most vulnerable victims who will have to live with the horrible experiences for the rest of their lives. They, no matter boys or girls, are prone to being lured to the other extreme and take part in the conflict as child soldiers. Some join simply because they want to receive food and protection, while others hope to defend their homes. Yet there are also children who are forced to join after being abducted and tortured. Some child soldiers are even brainwashed to commit horrifying acts of extreme cruelty, such as executions and suicide attacks. In any circumstance, children are the greatest victims of war.




World Vision’s response to the issue of child soldier includes two major aspects:



Children Not Soldiers

Tens of thousands of children are involved in armed conflicts which leave them with life-long scars. World Vision dedicates itself to build harmonious communities in conflict zones, to prevent any child from being coerced to become a child soldier; we also assist former child soldiers to reintegrate into their families and communities.

Join ‘World Vision Partners’ to ensure children will enjoy a proper childhood they are entitled to.

To ensure our work is carried out efficiently in an ever-changing world, World Vision will support different regions and allocate funds to particular projects according to the most current needs.

童兵 - 衝突的受害者






即時捐款





即時捐款


即時捐款

根據2016年聯合國兒童基金會報告,估計有5.35億兒童(世界上四分之一的兒童)生活在受衝突或災難影響的國家。2,540萬難民中,超過一半是18歲以下的兒童。受衝突及戰爭影響,他們遭受剝削和暴力的可能性亦相對增加。

衝突及戰亂不只令孩子頓時失去安穩的居所,父母失去生計而要捱餓,孩子更會失學,甚至成為孤兒。孩子目睹親友被殺或家園被破壞,心裡會留下烙印而患上抑鬱症或心理失調。



童兵


孩子不但是衝突的受害人,他們也容易陷入另一極端,無分男女當上童兵,參與衝突。有些童兵只是單純地希望得到溫飽、成人的保護,或為了保衛家園而自願參戰;也有些是被擄走、受拷刑下被迫加入的。他們有些會接受洗腦式的訓練去殺戮,做出一些極凶殘的行為,例如行刑、自殺式襲擊等,令人震懾。究其原因,兒童就是殘酷戰爭下的多重犧牲品。

宣明會極度關注童兵問題。在國際層面,我們聯同其他人道組織倡議各國政府制定協議,禁止招募18歲以下兒童參加敵對行動。在衝突或戰爭爆發時,我們亦以保護最脆弱的孩子為首要任務,避免他們被擄。




宣明會針對童兵問題,有兩方面的工作:

預防



  • 貧窮地區對處理衝突及調解派系間利益的能力較弱,因此我們在貧困地區進行多方面教育,如:設立青年及兒童議會訓練年青一代和平地表達意見、裝備兒童及青年成為社區的「和平使者」、安排跨宗教及跨社群活動以促進融和了解等。
  • 在社區教育居民保護兒童的意識,並提升他們對兒童被誘騙或擄奪為童兵的危機意識。
  • 貧困和經濟困難是驅動兒童加入武裝團體的關鍵因素。因此宣明會在社會環境不安穩的國家,特別推行改善社區設施的項目,如水利、教育、婦幼保健、兒童關顧等。藉著改善民生,減低貧窮對孩子的影響。

復康


  • 設立熱線,讓已逃離或渴望逃離武裝組織的孩子求助。
  • 協助前童兵尋找及重歸家庭,讓孩子得到應有的照顧與保護,重獲新生。
  • 童兵的生涯對孩子身心造成長遠的傷害。我們透過各種渠道協助前童兵得到心理治療,亦為他們制定長期重投社會的方案,如提供教育和生計培訓,使他們盡早返回正軌生活。
  • 我們亦在戰後地區推動和平活動,倡議以非武力調解糾紛,長遠建設和平社區,不致令更多孩子成為童兵。




閱讀更多:
掙脫過去的枷鎖