Southern Africa Cyclone and Floods Relief

Donate





Donate


Donate

Floods and cyclone ravage Southern Africa, hitting 2.5 million people

Last Update:2019/03/22
Tags:

Three countries in Southern Africa have recently been hit by floods and a cyclone in quick succession. In early March, Malawi and Mozambique were both hit by flash floods that brought considerable damage. But soon after relief began, Cyclone Idai struck Mozambique, Malawi and Zimbabwe, bringing massive rain and floods, with Beira, the fourth largest city of Mozambique, experiencing the greatest impact. The disasters have already killed over 1,000 people, displacing hundreds of thousands. It is estimated that 2.5 million people have been directly affected by Idai. While the actual figures of casualties still need to be confirmed, they are expected to be much higher than the current ones.

Most of the areas affected by this double disaster have been experiencing crops failure in successive seasons, as a result of a lack of rainfall and drought. In the aftermath, many children are subsequently exposed to various threats, such as being separated from family members, disease, hunger and injury. Not only are they unable to return to school, but their lives have been turned upside down.

World Vision staff Joseph Kamara reports from his visit to Beira. “The situation in Beira is very, very bad. There is no single building that I have seen that is still intact. Trees are uprooted, the sand from the beaches have come into the cities.” He also points out that the massive flooding has halted public services and made communication very difficult, while aid can only be delivered by planes. Joseph describes the situation of the affected as “desperate” and is deeply upset at their plight.


World Vision’s Response

World Vision is already responding on the ground. We are providing various emergency items, including food, daily necessities, hygiene kits, clean water and shelter, etc. to help meet the most urgent needs. We will provide the following assistance:

Food Assistance

  • Distribute food aid to the affected
  • Provide malnutrition screening and treatment for young children, pregnant and lactating women.

  • Water, Sanitation and Hygiene

  • Provide clean water and rehabilitate water supply facilities
  • Construct latrines and install handwashing facilities and bathing spaces
  • Distribute hygiene kits, jerry cans and water chlorination tablet packages

  • Livelihood

  • Distribute non-food items, such as tents, kitchen kits, clothing, tarpaulins and blankets

  • Protection

  • Establish Child Friendly Spaces to provide support and protection for children


  • World Vision staff distribute relief items to respond to the needs of the affected.



    With their homes lost to flooding, people can only depend on humanitarian aid for the meantime.



    After Cyclone Idai made its landing in Mozambique, the subsequent flooding has driven people to the top of buildings.



    The affected receive relief supplies that can ease their immediate need, yet they still rely on further assistance to build their resilience against future disasters.



    In Zimbabwe, the power of the flash floods is best illustrated by the destruction left behind.

    The affected children and families need you. Please act now to provide the help they need to rebuild their communities.

非洲南部風災及水災救援

即時捐款





即時捐款


即時捐款

風雨肆虐非洲南部 250萬人受災

最後更新:2019/03/22
標籤:

非洲南部三國近日接連遭受水災和風災。三月上旬,馬拉維和莫桑比克先後遭遇水災,造成嚴重破壞。善後工作剛剛開始,又遇上超級颱風伊代(Idai)吹襲,為莫桑比克、馬拉維和津巴布韋三國帶來連場暴雨和洪水,當中重災區是莫桑比克第四大城市貝拉(Beira)。連場災難已經導致過千人死亡,數以十萬計居民被迫離開家園。估計至今已有250萬人受伊代影響,實際傷亡人數暫時仍有待確認,但相信最終數字必定遠超於目前。

在今次風災和水災發生前,大部分受災地區已經因為雨量不足和旱災,連續數年經歷糧食失收。在風災和水災後,很多孩子都面對隨之而來的各種威脅,包括與家人失散、疾病、飢餓、受傷等。孩子不但無法復課,生活更不知何時才回歸正常。

宣明會人員Joseph Kamara到訪貝拉市後,如此描述當地的情況:「貝拉目前的情況非常壞,我沒有看到任何一幢建築物是完好無缺的。樹木被連根拔起,海灘的沙則被捲到城市中。」他又指當地嚴重水浸,導致公共服務停頓,通訊困難,物資只能用飛機送達。Joseph形容災民的情況危急,令他非常難過。


宣明會的回應

宣明會工作人員已經在災區開展救援工作,為災民提供各種緊急救援物資,包括食物、日用品、衛生包、食水和帳篷等,幫助他們解決目前最迫切的需要。我們也將陸續在災區推行以下工作:

糧食援助

  • 向災民派發糧食應急
  • 為幼童、孕婦及餵哺中的婦女提供營養監察和治療

  • 水利衛生

  • 提供清潔食水,並修復供水設施
  • 建造流動廁所,安裝洗手設施和淋浴間
  • 派發衛生包、盛水器和淨水丸

  • 生計

  • 派發帳篷、廚具、衣物、防水帆布和毛毯等物資

  • 保護

  • 設立「兒童天地」,為孩子提供支援和保障


  • 宣明會人員在災區派發物資,回應災民迫切需要。



    災民的家園被洪水沖去,暫時只能倚靠外界援助生活。



    颱風伊代在莫桑比克登陸,釀成水災,災民紛紛往建築物頂部等待救援。



    災民得到物資,可解燃眉之急,但他們仍有待救助,長遠建立抵禦災害的抗逆力。



    在津巴布韋,各處留下的破壞,正是洪水威力的明證。

    災民孩子和家庭需要你的同行。請立即行動!,送上幫助,讓他們早日重建社區。