Indonesia Earthquake & Tsunami Relief

Donate





Donate


Donate

Impact of earthquake and tsunami still felt one month on

Last Update:2018/10/31
Tags:


A month has passed since Sulawesi, Indonesia was hit by a shallow earthquake of 7.5 magnitude and a tsunami on 28 September. With over 2.4 million people affected, more than 2,100 killed, over 4,600 injured and about 1,300 missing, the impact is still felt in many people’s hearts.

In late October, Mr. Kevin Chiu, CEO of World Vision Hong Kong, visited Palu and the regencies of Sigi and Donggala, some of the worst-hit areas, where he met with and served those affected by the disaster. World Vision has been implementing area development programmes in the areas to children and their communities.

As of now, some 223,000, most of them children, are still living in evacuation centres and need immediate support. “The tents are overcrowded and very basic. It is a huge challenge to maintain hygiene here. World Vision is not only responding to the most immediate needs here, we also hope to help rebuild homes and communities, and we need your support to do that,” said Mr. Chiu as he visited Jono Oge, a village affected by liquefaction caused by the earthquake.


World Vision's Response

A long presence in the region and a strong partnership with the government and partners have allowed World Vision to begin its response immediately after the disaster. In the first month after the disaster, we have been able to serve the affected in the following ways:

  • Distribute food supplies, benefitting over 6,450 people
  • Provide access to clean water, benefitting over 2,440 people
  • Distribute blankets, mats and shelter kits to about 1,930 families
  • Set up child friendly spaces, over 1,420 children have participated in the activities so far
  • Operate mobile clinics to provide access to health services
  • Provide appropriate nutritious food to children and pregnant women

World Vision will continue to work closely with the national government and partner agencies, with a target of meeting the immediate needs of 80,000 people. In addition to distributing emergency relief items, and providing psychological supports to women and children, we will actively assist them to restore their livelihoods and return to normal life.

Children and families urgently need your help to return to their homes and rebuild their communities. Please act now!


Palu’s iconic Yellow Bridge was completely destroyed during the earthquake and tsunami.


Kevin Chiu visited affected communities and offered his encouragement to those displaced by the earthquake and tsunami.


Food and relief items are distributed to meet survivors’ immediate needs. World Vision aims to attend to the needs of 80,000 people.


Jono Oge Village, one of the areas affected by liquefaction, saw the soil sank as much as 7 metres. Here used to be bridges, roads and houses, which all sank underneath, burying people and animals alive in the process.


Child friendly spaces provide a safe environment for children. Here children can go through psycho-therapy by taking part in games and informal learning.

印尼地震及海嘯救援

即時捐款





即時捐款


即時捐款

地震過後一個月 人心仍然震撼

最後更新:2018/10/31
標籤:



9月28日,印尼蘇拉威西島經歷黎克特制7.5級淺層地震和致命海嘯,受影響的人數多達240萬,並導致超過2,100人喪生,逾4,600人受傷,約1,300人失蹤。這場災難發生至今已經一個月,但仍然震撼著無數人的心靈。

10月底,香港世界宣明會總幹事趙煥明前往重災區帕盧、希吉縣和棟加拉縣,探訪災民和送上物資。宣明會一直在當地推行區域發展計劃,造福孩子和社區。

目前,約223,000人仍然棲身於安置中心,急需即時援助,當中大部分是孩子。趙煥明探訪了地震後出現土壤液化的喬諾吉村,他說:「災民住在簡陋的帳篷內,四周環境十分擠迫和惡劣。要保持這裡環境衛生,是一個很大的挑戰。宣明會不單在此幫助災民解決即時的需要,更希望幫助災民重建家園和社區。我們十分需要大家的支持,與我們同行。」


宣明會的工作

宣明會多年來在當地工作,與政府及伙伴機構保持良好的合作關係,以致能夠在災後馬上展開救援工作。這個月裡,我們已經藉以下方式向災民提供協助:

  • 派發糧食,逾6,450人受惠
  • 供應清潔食水,逾2,440人受惠
  • 派發毛毯、地蓆和臨時營帳等緊急救援物資,近1,930個家庭受惠
  • 開辦「兒童天地」,至今已有逾1,420名孩子參與
  • 設立流動診所,提供醫療服務
  • 為孩子和孕婦提供營養食物

宣明會將繼續與印尼政府及伙伴機構緊密合作,計劃回應80,000名災民的需要。除了派發救援物資及為婦女孩子提供身心支援,並積極協助他們恢復生計,回復正常生活。

災民孩子和家庭需要你的幫助,請即行動!讓他們早日重建社區,重返家園。


帕盧著名的黃色跨海大橋在地震和海嘯中被完全摧毀。


趙煥明探訪災區,向災民送上鼓勵。


倖存者獲發糧食和其他物資,渡過時艱。宣明會訂下目標,為80,000名災民提供援助,照顧他們各項需要。


喬諾吉村是其中一個出現土壤液化的地方,土地沈降多達七米。土壤液化前,這裏有橋、路和房屋,但現在全都沈到地下,把人和牲口活埋。


「兒童天地」為孩子提供安全的環境,他們藉著參與遊戲和非正式學習,得到心理治療。