“Share and Support” Scheme

Donate





Donate


Donate
Hong Kong

The continual outbreak of the COVID-19 in the Mainland China and other countries has caused a sudden increase in the demand for personal protective supplies, that their prices skyrocket. People are getting more panicked and overwhelmed. World Vision Hong Kong understands the adversity that the grassroots suffer. Therefore we have procured batches of personal protective items since January, we have already distributed nearly 186,000 pieces of surgical masks and more than 12,000 bottles of portable hand sanitisers.

Besides, the continual spread of the virus in the city has led to people being advised to stay at home. As schools are suspended, home-bound children have little choice over their daily activities, except online learning. Concerned about the psycho-social needs, we have collected nearly 2,000 pieces of toys and children’s books to give to the needy children, with a hope that they would find some joy during this stay at home period.

To Whom the Personal Protective Supplies Benefit?

We have collaborated with seven local charities to deliver the protective items to the needy children and families since mid-February. They are children and families living in subdivided units or squatters, receiving assistance from food banks, receiving Comprehensive Social Security Assistance, street cleaners and the homeless.

Staff members and volunteers from World Vision Hong Kong and these organisations worked together to unpack and re-package the items, before distributing them to the needy people through their service networks. We also handed out pamphlets to remind people to remain vigilant on personal health, observe personal and public hygiene, as well as looking out for one another.

The Home-bound Family

There was a family of four living in a subdivided unit in Tai Kok Tsui. Lacking of masks for protection, the mother Kiu (assumed name) and her two little girls were home-bound to avoid consuming more masks. Rather, she reserved most of the masks for her husband so that he could go out for work every day.

As she received the masks and alcohol sanitisers, Kiu said with cheer, “I can bring my daughters out to have some fresh air now! We have kept ourselves at home for too long. Last time when I brought them to the market, they were so excited that they showed me everything they saw!” As housewives cannot leave their children at home while shopping for commodities, it means they have to consume several masks at one time. This is a luxury to many families especially the poorest.

The Thrifty Street Cleaners

Chau (assumed name), a street cleaner working at a back alley in Mong Kok, was thrilled as she received a pack of masks. The one on her face had been washed and reused several times over the last few days. “Every day after work, I wash my only mask, steam it, iron it, and reuse it the next day.” Chau said, “I have no choice. I have no new mask because my company doesn’t give us a new mask every day.”

Other street cleaners echoed with her and said that they did the same with their masks. Inevitably, it has become a usual practice for them to use one single mask for several days to a week. These cleaners, mostly less educated elderly, have almost no choice, but to work in very unfavourable conditions. This has made them more prone to infection, yet they are often people least protected and most neglected.

We brought several bags of personal protective items to share with friends in Hung Shui Kiu squatter area.

We listened to the needy their stories of countering the pandemic.

We visited families in sub-divided units and shared personal protective items with them.

In addition to masks and hand sanitisers, we also presented the communities with leaflets on tips to counter the pandemic.

The street cleaners were excited as they received free surgical masks and alcohol sanitisers.

Community members received masks and hand sanitisers from the booth set up by our partner organisation.

We have received toys and books from corporates and organisations as gifts for children from grassroot families.

Our staff helped sort out the gifts before giving to our local partners.

Boxes of gift items were handed to our local partners to help despatch to the needy communities!

Our Partners

The local charities we partnered with in the effort were Industrial Evangelistic Fellowship, The Urban Peacemaker Evangelistic Fellowship, Baptist Oi Kwan Social Service, St. James' Settlement, Mission to New Arrivals, Jubilee Ministries and The Parents’ Association of Pre-School Handicapped Children.

We thank Agile Group for donating a batch of surgical masks, VTech and 4M for donating toys and Logos Book House for donating children’s books, which have enabled the "Share and Support" Scheme to address more people with various needs.

Tips to Counter the Pandemic

During this period as we fight against the epidemic, each of us has a responsibility to practise public and personal hygiene to prevent the virus from spreading in the community. Here are some personal hygiene and health tips to remind us to maintain our physical and mental health and encounter the epidemic situation.

Wear a mask properly

Wear a surgical mask when taking public transport or staying in crowded places. It is important to wear a mask properly, this includes maintaining hand hygiene before wearing and after removing a mask.

Wash hands with soap

Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before eating; after using the toilet; after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs; or when hands are contaminated by respiratory secretions after coughing or sneezing. Wash hands with liquid soap and water, and rub for at least 20 seconds. Then rinse with water and dry with a disposable paper towel. If hand washing facilities are not available, or when hands are not visibly soiled, performing hand hygiene with 70 to 80 % alcohol-based handrub is an effective alternative.

Avoid touching eyes, nose, and mouth

Avoid touching one's mouth, nose or eyes for preventing the virus entering our bodies through the hands.

Sanitize home & phone

After washing hands, disinfect phone with disinfection wipes. Always clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces, furniture, toys, commonly shared items and floor by using 1:99 diluted household bleach, leave it to dry, rinse with water and wipe dry afterwards. For metallic surfaces, disinfect with 70% alcohol.

Have a balanced diet

Eat a variety of foods in appropriate portions, to include the five basic food groups (i.e. grains; fruit; vegetables; meat along with fish, eggs and legumes; milk and milk products) and reduce the amount of fat, salt and sugar intake.

Sleep enough

Sleep is a significant determinant of physical and mental health. A good quality sleep is vital for resting, recharging, and nourishing the body and the mind. Conversely, inadequate and disturbed sleep can affect daytime functioning and lead to a range of health problems.

Exercise regularly

Each person can use different ways to achieve the right amount of exercise depending on his/her preference. Doing less strenuous exercise for a longer period of time brings the same benefits as doing more strenuous exercise for a shorter period of time.

Maintain a healthy mind

Take time to process your emotions, and come to terms with your fear and sense of helplessness. Keep in touch with your friends and family and show your care for one another.

Sources of reference: Department of Health, Hong Kong Red Cross, and School of Nursing, The University of Hong Kong


Together We Strive

While the pandemic has become widespread around the world and would last for some time, World Vision is committed to walking with people at such crucial times. For the time being, we would like to ask for support from everyone to work together and care for one another, especially the most vulnerable groups. In fighting against COVID-19, we have learnt that sharing, whether it is just encouragement, information or personal protective items, is the key in combatting any pandemic. Together we will overcome the challenge. Learn more about Our Global Response

「疫」境同心 ─ 物資支援計劃

香港地區

自從2019冠狀病毒在中國內地及其他國家相繼爆發,個人防疫物品的需求急升,所需物品在多個受影響地區嚴重短缺並價格飆升,社會上人心惶惶。香港世界宣明會理解基層市民的需要,自一月開始從多方採購個人防疫物品,我們已派出近186,000個外科口罩和逾12,000枝酒精搓手液。

此外,疫情持續,市民都要留在家中抗疫。學校停課,小孩子除了網上學習外,並沒有太多其他活動可選擇。我們關注到孩子這段日子的身心健康和需要,因此亦搜羅了近2,000件益智玩具及兒童圖書,派發予基層兒童,期望他們在抗疫期間能多一點歡愉。

物資何處去?

我們自二月中與七間服侍本地基層和弱勢社群的機構合作,將物資送贈予需要協助的兒童和家庭,包括居住在劏房或寮屋的家庭、接受食物援助的家庭、領取綜援的家庭、清潔工人和無家者等特別貧困的群體。

宣明會和各機構的職員及義工,將集合到的抗疫物資分拆包裝,然後由機構聯絡服務對象,再陸續送到有逼切需要的人手中。我們亦同時送上「抗疫小貼士」單張,提醒大家在抗疫期間要格外注重個人健康、提升個人及公共衛生、關心親友和鄰舍。

足不出戶的家庭

阿嬌(化名)一家四口居住在大角咀的劏房裡,由於欠缺口罩,他們幾乎把全部口罩都留給要每日出外工作的丈夫,阿嬌和兩個年幼女兒都足不出戶,終日留在狹小的家中。

收到口罩及搓手液後,阿嬌高興地說:「終於可以帶兩個女兒出外呼吸新鮮空氣!上一次帶著女兒去買菜,由於太久沒有出外,女兒對外面的事物表現得特別好奇,看見甚麼都很雀躍地叫媽媽呢!」家庭主婦每次外出購買日用品,都必須帶上年幼子女,這意味著他們一天就要消耗幾個口罩,對許多家庭來說,這是非常奢侈的做法。

重用口罩的清潔工

在旺角後巷遇到的清潔工人阿秋婆婆(化名)收到口罩時特別高興,因為她正戴著的口罩已經一洗再洗,重用再重用。「用完口罩後會用水洗,隔水蒸一下,再用燙斗燙乾。」阿秋婆婆說:「沒辦法,沒有新口罩,公司也不是天天有口罩派。」

其他清潔工人在旁附和,他們也會用水洗口罩再燙乾。一個口罩用幾天甚至一個星期,對他們來說是尋常事,對此他們都感到很無奈。前線清潔工人大部分是學歷不高的長者,他們無可選擇地要在惡劣環境下工作,是最易受感染的,卻也是最缺乏必要裝備、最被忽略的一群。

大袋小袋,讓我們與洪水橋寮屋區的朋友分享防疫用品!

我們聆聽寮屋居民的防疫情況和需要。

我們與本地慈善團體上門探訪劏房戶,送上防疫物品並表達關心。

除了口罩和搓手液,我們還送上「抗疫小貼士」單張,向居民講解衛生知識。

清潔工人收到口罩及酒精搓手液後,都非常興奮。

街坊在合作伙伴的街站領取到口罩及搓手液。

我們收到企業和機構捐贈的玩具和書籍,並轉贈給基層兒童。

宣明會員工先將捐贈物品整理及分類,才送出予合作伙伴。

我們把一箱箱的物資交給合作伙伴,協助派送給有需要的群體!

我們的合作伙伴

是次與宣明會合作的伙伴包括:工業福音團契、城市睦福團契、浸信會愛群社會服務處、聖雅各福群會、新福事工協會、禧福協會和學前弱能兒童家長會。

是次物資支援計劃亦得到雅居樂集團捐出一批囗罩,偉易達集團及科文實業有限公司捐贈玩具,基道書樓捐贈圖書,讓更多有需要人士得到多方面的幫助,特此致謝。

抗疫小貼士

抗疫期間,每個人都有責任注重公共及個人衛生,以預防病毒在社區傳播。以下是一些個人衛生及健康小貼士供參考,讓我們保持身心健康,面對「疫」境。

戴妥口罩

乘搭交通工具或在人多擠逼的地方時,應佩戴外科口罩。正確佩戴口罩十分重要,包括在佩戴前及脫下後保持手部清潔。

用梘液清潔雙手

經常保持雙手清潔,尤其進食前、如廁後、咳嗽或打噴嚏後、觸摸扶手或門把等公共設施後。以梘液和清水清潔雙手,搓手最少20秒,用水過清並用抹手紙弄乾。如沒有洗手設施,或雙手沒有明顯污垢時,可使用含70-80%的酒精搓手液潔淨雙手。

避免觸摸眼睛、鼻和嘴巴

避免隨便觸摸眼睛、鼻和嘴巴,以防雙手的細菌透過眼睛、鼻和嘴巴進入體內。

常清潔家居及電話

洗手後,用消毒濕紙巾清潔電話。經常以1:99稀釋家用漂白水清潔及消毒常常接觸的家居表面,待乾後可用水清洗。金屬表面可用70%火酒清潔消毒。

均衡飲食

適量進食多元化的食物,包括五種基本食物種類(即榖物類、水果類、蔬菜類、肉類和魚、蛋及豆類、奶和奶製品),並積極減少油、鹽、糖的攝取。

充足睡眠

睡眠是身心健康的先決條件。優質的睡眠能讓身體好好休息、回復精力,使人身心舒暢。相反,睡眠不足或睡眠質素欠佳有可能會影響身體日間的運作和導致各種健康問題。

定期運動

各人可視乎喜好用不同方法達致適當的運動量。持續較長時間地做不太劇烈的運動,與做較劇烈運動一段較短時間,兩者對健康帶來的益處都是一樣。

保持身心健康

花時間與自己的情緒相處,接納自己的恐懼與無力感。打電話給家人和朋友,保持聯繫和表達你的關心。

資料來源:衛生署、香港紅十字會、港大護理學院


同心協力 共渡難關

疫情已蔓延全球,預料會持續一段時間。宣明會願在這關鍵時刻與大家一起同行抗疫,亦呼籲各方顧念社會上弱勢群體的需要。這次疫症提醒我們,分享是抗疫的關鍵行動,即使是一聲鼓勵、提供疫情資訊、還是防疫物資,都十分重要。大家同心協力,共渡難關。了解全球回應行動