Haiti Earthquake Relief

Donate





Donate


Donate

Haiti Once Again Shaken by Massive Earthquake

Last Update:2021/08/18
Tags:

On 14 August 2021, a 7.2-magnitude earthquake rattled southwestern Haiti, at a depth of around 10km, causing deaths, injuries and property damages, and reviving terrible memories of the great earthquake of 2010. The main event has been followed by constant aftershocks with magnitudes ranging between 4.5 and 6.2.

According to local authorities, the earthquake has left at least 1,900 people dead, over 9,000 injured, and thousands left homeless due to massive destruction of buildings and homes. The numbers are expected to keep rising.

The people in Southwestern provinces of Nippes and Grand'Anse were in great shock as the earthquake struck on 14 August 2021.

The earthquake caused thousands missing and left homeless due to massive destruction of buildings and homes.

The main event has been followed by constant aftershocks with magnitudes ranging between 4.5 and 6.2, rendering the survivors exposed to further risks and unsettlement.

The destruction in infrastructure brought by the earthquake is causing much hardship to the people.

A church building damaged by the earthquake.

In Haiti, the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere, more than 60% of the population lives in poverty and millions of people live on less than US $2 a day. The quake occurred at a particularly untimely moment for the country that has been through a mix of bad circumstances including the COVID-19 pandemic, the food insecurity threatening more than four million Haitians and the worsening political stalemate since the assassination of President Jovenel Moise last month. The imminent tropical storm Grace is also expected to sweep through Haiti, making rescue efforts even more complicated.

"We are deeply concerned by the devastation that this earthquake can cause, in a country already stricken by extreme poverty, social and political unrest. The ongoing pandemic is also a situation that complicates local authorities’ ability to respond,” says Marcelo Viscarra, World Vision Haiti National Director.

“3 children were rescued under this house. One died from his injuries at the hospital,” said staff Jean Baptiste Fritzner.

“The day was one of the worst in my life. My house was destroyed and we had to abandon it. It’s a two-story building. The whole first floor is so damaged that it could fall on us. Last night, I slept at a neighbor’s open yard. The aftershocks have not stopped,” said 16-year-old Ashley.

“Yesterday was really difficult for me. I lived it very badly. It seems like the tremors lasted all day. I couldn’t stand all the shaking. I cried. My head hurt all day,” said Daylie, a 15-year-old girl from Jeremie.

World Vision’s immediate relief actions include providing food kits and hygiene kits to support 6,000 people. For the upcoming 12 months, we aim to provide humanitarian aid targeting to reach 240,000 vulnerable people, out of which 60,000 are children, in the following areas:

  • WASH: Ensure the availability of clean water and purifiers to prevent infectious diseases such as cholera and COVID-19.
  • SHELTER: Provide tents to shelter people who lost their homes.
  • FOOD: Provide primary food assistance to families, prioritising those with children.
  • CHILD PROTECTION: Ensure the wellbeing of vulnerable children, especially those in orphanages, making sure they are safe and cared for amid the prevailing social unrest.

World Vision has vast experience, proficient staff and strong local partnerships to ensure the access of vulnerable families to humanitarian aid, while ensuring a stable logistical supply to tackle the most pressing needs of families and their children.

Please donate now to support the people in Haiti during this difficult time.


  1. Hong Kong
    Please prepare a crossed cheque payable to “World Vision Hong Kong” together with your personal details and mail it to us at World Vision Hong Kong, Freepost No. 69. Please mark “Haiti Earthquake Relief” on the envelope.

    Macau
    Please prepare a crossed cheque payable to “World Vision of Macau Association” together with your personal details and mail it to us at World Vision of Macau Association, P.O. Box 530, Macau. Please mark “Haiti Earthquake Relief” on the envelope.

  2. Bank Account (Hong Kong):
    Hang Seng Bank: 286-364385-002
    Bank of China: 012-363-1-017493-6

    Bank Account (Macau):
    Tai Fung Bank (HKD): 101-1-09229-8
    Tai Fung Bank (MOP): 201-1-07025-2

    You may also use online bank transfer or scan the Faster Payment System (FPS) QR code (image below) with any supporting mobile banking app to donate. If you need a donation receipt, please mail us the bank-in slip or send the screen capture of the confirmation page (recipient: World Vision Hong Kong) to [email protected], together with your name, phone number and postal address.

    Simply Easy Learning

  3. Applicable for Hong Kong only.

  4. Remarks: Unused donations from this appeal will be allocated for other World Vision relief work.

海地地震緊急救援

即時捐款





即時捐款


即時捐款

大地震再次重創海地

最後更新:2021/08/18
標籤:

2021年8月14日,海地西南部發生了強度達7.2級的地震,震源深度約10公里,不但釀成人命傷亡,建築物損毀,也喚起當地人對2010年大地震的記憶。地震後亦發生了多次餘震,強度介乎4.5至6.2級。

根據當地官方數字,目前已有最少1,900人在地震中遇難,超過9,000人受傷,數以千計居民因為地震帶來的巨大破壞而無家可歸。這些數字預計會持續上升。

2021 年 8 月 14 日發生地震時,西南部尼普斯省和格蘭昂斯省的居民大為震驚。

多幢建築物和房屋遭到地震大規模破壞,亦造成數千人失蹤及無家可歸。

主震之後是持續的餘震,震級在 4.5 到 6.2 之間,倖存者要面對進一步的風險,亦不能安頓下來。

地震破壞了基礎設施,給人們帶來了很大的困難。

地震中受損的教堂。

海地是西半球最貧窮的國家,全國逾六成人是貧窮人,數百萬人生活於貧窮線以下,每日收入不足兩美元。這場地震發生在極壞的時刻,因為海地正經歷一連串不幸的事,包括2019冠狀病毒疫情,也有超過400萬海地人正面臨糧食不足。此外,總統莫伊茲上月遇刺身亡,更令國家陷入政治僵局。再者,熱帶風暴格雷斯預料即將橫掃海地,令搜救工作更加困難。

海地世界宣明會總幹事Marcelo Viscarra表示:「這個國家已經深受赤貧困擾,而且政局和社會環境動盪,這場地震能帶來的破壞,令我們十分憂慮。疫情持續,也不利有關當局的救災工作。」

「有三個孩子在這所房子下被救出。其中一人送到醫院後不治。」工作人員桑.巴蒂斯特.弗里茨納說。

「這是我一生中最糟糕的一天。我的房子被毀了,我們不得不放棄它。這是一棟兩層樓的建築。整個一樓都損壞得很嚴重,可能會倒塌在我們身上。昨晚,我睡在鄰居的露天院子裡。餘震並未停止。」16 歲的雅士妮說。

「昨天對我來說真的很艱難。我過得很糟糕。震顫似乎持續了一整天。我無法承受那些震動。我哭了。我的頭一整天都在痛。」15 歲的戴莉憶述。

宣明會已即時開展救援行動,包括向6,000人提供食物包和衛生包。在未來12個月,我們計劃提供人道援助,幫助240,000人,當中包括60,000名兒童。我們的工作將包括以下範疇:

  • 水利衛生:提供清潔食水和淨水器,預防霍亂和2019冠狀病毒等傳染病
  • 棲身之所:為失去家園的人提供帳篷
  • 糧食:為家庭提供糧食援助,並優先關注有子女的家庭
  • 保護兒童:保障脆弱兒童的福祉,特別是孤兒院內的兒童,確保他們在目前的社會動盪中仍然安全和獲得照顧

宣明會具備豐富經驗、優秀的工作人員和完善的本地伙伴關係,能夠向脆弱家庭提供人道援助,並且維持物資供應穩定,回應家庭和孩子最迫切的需要。

立即捐款,幫助海地人民渡過目前的困境。


  1. 香港
    劃線支票抬頭「香港世界宣明會」 或 "World Vision Hong Kong",連同個人資料,寄回「簡便回郵69號香港世界宣明會」,在信封面詳明「海地地震緊急救援」。

    澳門
    劃線支票抬頭「世界宣明會澳門分會」或 “World Vision of Macau Association”,連同個人資料,寄回「澳門郵政信箱530號世界宣明會澳門分會」,在信封面詳明「海地地震緊急救援」。

  2. 香港捐款戶口:
    恒生銀行:286-364385-002
    中國銀行:012-363-1-017493-6

    你亦可使用網上銀行轉賬,或使用支援轉數快二維碼(下圖)轉賬的銀行手機應用程式捐款。完成捐款後,請將存款收據正本,或者確認頁面截圖(受款人:香港世界宣明會),連同姓名、聯絡電話及郵寄地址,寄回本會或電郵至[email protected]以索取捐款收據。

    Simply Easy Learning

  3. 7-Eleven現金捐款只適用於香港

  4. 註:若是次救援行動的捐款高於實際所需,餘款將撥予宣明會其他緊急救災之用。