Beirut Explosion Crisis Response

Donate





Donate


Donate
Last Update:2021/03/03
Tags:

The Explosion and its Rippling Effect

On 4th August, a massive explosion occurred in the port area of Beirut, Lebanon, killing over 180 people and injuring more than 6,500. The shockwaves of the explosion have brought serious damage to roads and buildings, leaving some 1,000,000 people in need of some form of assistance.

Regarded as a disaster at the worst possible time, the explosion in the Port of Beirut continues to exacerbate the grim economic and food security situation in Lebanon even months after. With soaring unemployment rates and salary cuts, many families have been struggling to make ends meet. The Lebanese Pound is deteriorating in its value daily, causing prices to rise and poverty rate to surge. At the same time, a spike in the number of COVID-19 cases, which was already on an upward trend since before the explosion, continues to strain the country’s already overstretched health systems.

World Vision’s Response

Following the blast, based on the findings of the need assessments, World Vision launched a multi-sectoral intervention in the affected communities, covering needs related to shelter, water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH), education, psychosocial support, livelihood, food and cash assistance, and more.

Despite the challenges and access restrictions posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, as of 12 Feb 2021, we have reached 93,045 people through various supports, including:

  • 14,579 people received food security assistance, including food packages
  • 2,204 hygiene kits and 2,804 disinfection kits distributed
  • 1,050 children and 534 caregivers received community-based psychosocial support, and 1,611 psychosocial support kits delivered
  • Blankets, mattresses and tarpaulins provided to affected families, benefitting 1,421 people
  • 129 water tanks provided to households and hospitals, benefitting 2,071 people

Rehabilitating Stones and Souls

This relief response has prompted our team to venture out to communities that are rarely reached. Samir, 42, says, “We are really grateful for today, you are one of the first NGOs that come to help.” Hala, a mother, also comments, “We don’t get any help here, so your presence is very much appreciated, the act of thinking about us warms our hearts.”


Our Next Step

Apart from the continuing interventions, looking ahead, we plan to start rehabilitating the schools impacted by the blast and equip them with adequate water and hygiene spaces. We will also look into addressing the long term impact that the explosion may have on the psychosocial wellbeing of children and caregivers.

Your donation can make a huge difference:

  • HKD $500 can provide three children with psychosocial support kits, which include toys, learning materials and hygiene items

  • HKD $1,200 can provide food packages for two families

  • HKD $3,200 can provide a household shelter repair Kit

Please donate now to support the people in Lebanon during this difficult time.

Syrian Refugees in Lebanon Need Your Continued Support

Ever since war broke out in neighbouring Syria in 2011, Lebanon has become one of the major hosts of Syrian refugees. Please consider becoming a World Vision Partner now. With a monthly donation, you can give long-term support to the vulnerable refugees.


Soon after the explosion, World Vision Lebanon’s National Director Hans Bederski (right) visited affected families whose homes were greatly damaged.


World Vision helps to rehabilitate a house in Beirut and provide psychosocial support sessions for children through playing games.


The Beirut team distributing food packages for the most vulnerable families in the Nabaa area.


Hit by COVID-19 pandemic and the untimely explosion, the affected communities are devastated and rely very much on external assistance to lessen their hardship.


Being heard and having their immediate needs addressed is a great comfort to the people’s hearts and souls.


  1. Hong Kong
    Please prepare a crossed cheque payable to “World Vision Hong Kong” together with your personal details and mail it to us at World Vision Hong Kong, Freepost No. 69. Please mark “Beirut Explosion Crisis Response” on the envelope.

    Macau
    Please prepare a crossed cheque payable to “World Vision of Macau Association” together with your personal details and mail it to us at World Vision of Macau Association, P.O. Box 530, Macau. Please mark “Beirut Explosion Crisis Response” on the envelope.

  2. Bank Account (Hong Kong):
    Hang Seng Bank: 286-364385-002
    Bank of China: 012-363-1-017494-9

    You may also use online bank transfer or scan the Faster Payment System (FPS) QR code (image below) with any supporting mobile banking app to donate. If you need a donation receipt, please mail us the bank-in slip or send the screen capture of the confirmation page (recipient: World Vision Hong Kong) to [email protected], together with your name, phone number and postal address.

    Simply Easy Learning

  3. Applicable for Hong Kong only.

  4. Remarks: Unused donations from this appeal will be allocated for other World Vision relief work.

黎巴嫩貝魯特緊急救援

即時捐款





即時捐款


即時捐款
最後更新:2021/03/03
標籤:

爆炸餘波未了

8月4日,黎巴嫩貝魯特港口地區突然發生猛烈爆炸,造成180多人死亡,6,500多人受傷。爆炸的衝擊波令道路及樓宇遭受嚴重破壞,100萬人急需各方面的援助。

大爆炸在最惡劣的時候發生,迅速加劇黎巴嫩的嚴峻經濟和糧食安全狀況,以致黎巴嫩人民在災難發生後數月,仍飽受其後遺症所影響。隨著人民失業率飆升和減薪,許多家庭捉襟見肘。黎巴嫩鎊的幣值每天下滑,導致物價上漲,貧窮率攀升。同時,爆炸發生前,該國的2019冠狀病毒病例已一直呈上升趨勢,大爆炸後病人數目持續增加,令國家的醫療系統不勝負荷。


世界宣明會的回應

爆炸發生後,世界宣明會評估災民需要,並展開救災工作,從多方面協助受災社區,包括提供棲身之所、水利衛生、教育、心理、生計、食物和現金等方面的援助。

儘管面對著2019冠狀病毒帶來的挑戰和活動限制,截至2021年2月12日,宣明會已經為93,045人提供援助,其中包括:

  • 為14,579人提供糧食援助,包括派發食物包
  • 派發2,204個衛生用品包和2,804個消毒包
  • 為1,050名兒童和534名照顧者提供心理支援,並派發1,611份心理支援包
  • 向受影響家庭提供毯子、床墊和防水油布,惠及1,421人
  • 為住戶和醫院提供129個水箱,惠及2,071人

重建城市和心靈

是次救援行動促使我們的團隊前往鮮有接觸的社區。42歲的Samir說:「我們非常感謝今天,你們是其中一個最早來幫助我們的非政府組織。」母親Hala也說:「我們在這裡從不會得到幫助,所以非常感謝你們前來,你們的記掛使我們感到十分窩心。」


我們的下一步

除了繼續為受災社區提供各方面支援,下一步,我們計劃開始協助修復受爆炸影響的學校,並為他們提供足夠的水利衛生設施。我們也會為兒童和照顧者可能受到的長遠心理影響提供進一步支援。

你的慷慨解囊,可以帶來巨大改變:

  • HKD $500 可為三名兒童提供心理支援套裝,包括玩具、學習材料和衛生用品
  • HKD $1,200 可為兩個家庭提供糧食包
  • HKD $3,200 可提供一份家居維修套裝

請即捐款,救助在黎巴嫩危難中的災民!


黎巴嫩的敘利亞難民需要你持續的幫助


自從鄰國敘利亞在2011年爆發內戰,黎巴嫩就成為其中一個主要的敘利亞難民收容國。邀請你成為宣明之友,每月捐款,為面對困境的難民提供長期支援。


爆炸發生後不久,黎巴嫩宣明會總監Hans Bederski(右)探訪受災家庭,了解他們的房屋受破壞的狀況。


宣明會修復當地一所房屋,並在該處透過遊戲,向孩子們提供心理支援。


貝魯特團隊向Nabaa地區的最脆弱的家庭派發食物包。


禍不單行的社區同時面對2019冠狀病毒和大爆炸的打擊,極需依賴外界援助解困。


聲音能被聽到、需求能被滿足,對於災民的心靈來說是極大的慰藉。


  1. 香港
    劃線支票抬頭「香港世界宣明會」 或 "World Vision Hong Kong",連同個人資料,寄回「簡便回郵69號香港世界宣明會」,在信封面詳明「黎巴嫩貝魯特緊急救援」。

    澳門
    劃線支票抬頭「世界宣明會澳門分會」或 “World Vision of Macau Association”,連同個人資料,寄回「澳門郵政信箱530號世界宣明會澳門分會」,在信封面詳明「黎巴嫩貝魯特緊急救援」。

  2. 香港捐款戶口:
    恒生銀行:286-364385-002
    中國銀行:012-363-1-017494-9

    你亦可使用網上銀行轉賬,或使用支援轉數快二維碼(下圖)轉賬的銀行手機應用程式捐款。完成捐款後,請將存款收據正本,或者確認頁面截圖(受款人:香港世界宣明會),連同姓名、聯絡電話及郵寄地址,寄回本會或電郵至[email protected]以索取捐款收據。

    Simply Easy Learning

  3. 7-Eleven現金捐款只適用於香港

  4. 註:若是次救援行動的捐款高於實際所需,餘款將撥予宣明會其他緊急救災之用。