Why It's Great

How Does a Goat Make Such a Difference

A goat might not seem like much but it can make a huge difference to a family in need…

Gifts in Action

Take a few minutes to read some of the heart-warming stories about how your gifts have helped families around the world.


Goats keep dreams alive


11-year-old Balachandran is a grade 6 student in India and the eldest son in his family. A few years ago, he and his family were abandoned by his father, which not only left them with emotional scars but also financial hardships. Kalaiselvi, Balachandran’s mother, had to find ways to provide for her two children without any support while also taking care of her ageing parents. The family’s situation was desperate.

Thankfully, the family was able to receive goats from World Vision donors in time. The goats not only helped improve their livelihoods, but also brought warmth to their hearts. “When I heard that World Vision was going to give us goats, I found renewed hope and was comforted that somebody cared for me and my children,” says Kalaiselvi. With the goats, the family can now sell goat milk, baby goats and goat manure for a living. They have also started keeping other animals such as chicken and cows to increase their income.

Balachandran also says, “The goats are my friends. I feed them and play with them every day.”


New borehole = Clean Water + Good Health - Danger


In Malawi, 10-year-old Tsala and her friends used to go to fetch water from a small stream for household use.

Located almost half a kilometre from Tsala’s home, the stream usually dries up during summer and gets engulfed by plants during the rainy season, providing a habitat for dangerous reptiles, particularly snakes. Besides the risk of being harmed, the water that Tsala and her friends used to get from the stream was very dirty and contaminated. That ended when World Vision drilled a borehole in Tsala’s community.

“We saw a lot of water coming out. The water shot up to the sky and fell on the ground. I have never seen so much water in my life!” Exclaims Tsala. Since then, community members have abandoned their previous water source.

“[In the past] I could not go to school because of diarrhoea. The water we drink now looks clean. I no longer visit the toilet many times.” she says.


Sewing hope back into a family


“Life was hard in the countryside,” says Oyuntsetseg of Mongolia. Her son Baasandorj attends grade six and is a sponsored child.

In 2000, they moved into the city in search of a better life. Oyuntsetseg worked as a cleaner and her income was meagre. Later, they obtained an electric sewing machine from World Vision, and this allowed them to start making shoes and earn more. “Now we have six sewing machines and life for my children is totally different. Now we have a nice life,” she says. “When I was sewing by hand, we lived one day at a time with no vision for the future.” Now, they are able to support Baasandorj’s education with the income generated by selling shoes.


Walking out of poverty on a cow


After making her way through the vegetable garden, Rathimalar, 11, shows us the enclosure of Lakshmi, a cow that was provided to her family by World Vision in a remote community in Sri Lanka.

Sevagaperumal, Rathimalar’s father, works as a sundry worker on a tea estate and earns around HK$500 a month, a sum insufficient to sustain the family. His wife went abroad to work as a housemaid for two years, but has been unable to find a job upon her return, leaving the family in greater financial difficulties.

Lakshmi and training brought hope to their family. The extra income provided through the sale of milk enabled them to buy a tuk-tuk, pay for the two children’s education and expand additional farmland.

“Thanks to the extra income we earn through the sale of milk, we are able to send her for special classes. She has improved in her rank in class – from 39th to the 5th,” says Sevagaperumal. “When I grow up, I want to be a teacher!” Rathimalar says confidently.


Racing towards dreams on a rickshaw


10-year-old Anjali lives in one of the slums in northern India. Her father Ramu has always been a rickshaw driver, but as the rickshaw was hired, only little was left for him after the rent was paid.

Since receiving a rickshaw from World Vision, Ramu has been able to earn more. He plans to buy an auto-rickshaw which would allow him to serve more passengers. His wife has also completed a course in sewing run by World Vision. She is now employed as a teacher at a local tailoring institute.

“World Vision has shown the way to the people in our community. Now we can walk ahead,” says Ramu.


Seeds + Chicks = Way out of Poverty


“I was very worried about my son’s health,” says Begum who lives in a village in Bangladesh. The family of four lived a hand-to-mouth life as they relied on her husband’s day labour income (less than HK$400 a month) for living.

Two years ago, World Vision visited Begum’s family and found that her 2-year-old son Mahfuj was suffering from malnutrition because of poor nutrient intake. Through World Vision, donors from Hong Kong gave them a gift of seeds, and they also participated in training to learn rearing chickens and planting vegetables. Begum then applied her improved skills and built new chicken nest for her chickens.

Today, Begum is able to provide nutritious meals for her children. They yield more crops and eggs which bring in additional income for the family. “I hope to see my children with good health and going to school. I also want to run a small business and lift ourselves out of poverty!” says Begum.



Pick A Gift


World Vision Hong Kong, incorporated with limited liability, is a Christian humanitarian organisation working to create lasting change in the lives of children, families and communities living in poverty.
© 2022 World Vision Hong Kong | Please click here for information on Use of Donation | Tax-exempt Charities - IR File Number: 91/2002

禮物帶來改變

小山羊 大改變

雖然小山羊看起來微不足道,但牠所帶來的改變卻大得不可言喻……

因著你的禮物 孩子笑了!

花幾分鐘閱讀以下故事,看看你送的禮物,怎樣改變貧困家庭的生活!


一份可持續的禮物 造就家庭擴展小生意

「現在,我為孩子們的健康和一家人安穩的生活,非常自豪和感恩。」居於越南的歌月分享道。

歌月和丈夫本來一起為家人努力工作,但她的丈夫不幸遇上工業意外,而歌月亦突然患上膽結石,一時之間,生活變得異常艱難。

歌月的兒子小越18個月大的時候,被診斷為營養不良。宣明會及時讓他們參與雞隻飼養計劃,並安排了六次相關的技術培訓。參與的家庭都成功增加所飼養雞隻的數目,小雞的存活率也達到95%。從那時開始,單是出售雞蛋,就為歌月一家帶來穩定的收入,助他們應付日常生活開支,並擴大禽畜飼養的規模。生意增長也讓小越終於有機會健康成長,而且長得比同輩孩子更高。

一份送上雞隻的禮物,給予有需要的家庭一個自力更生的機會,同時為他們帶來充滿喜樂和健康的將來。

山羊幫大忙 重拾快樂與希望

印度11歲的巴拉燦丹正就讀六年級,是家中的長子。幾年前,父親拋棄了他們,除了面對由此而來的傷痛,生活亦頓時陷入困境。母親卡拉絲既要為生計勞碌,獨力養活自己和兩個孩子,也要照顧年邁的雙親,處境非常絕望。

幸好,他們一家及時收到宣明會捐助者送出的山羊,除了生計得到改善,也為他們的心帶來溫暖。卡拉絲說:「當我知道宣明會要送山羊給我們的時候,我重獲希望,並感到很安慰,因為原來有人關心我和孩子。」獲贈山羊後,他們可以售賣羊奶、小羊和羊糞,並開始飼養雞和牛等禽畜,增加收入。

巴拉燦丹也說:「山羊是我的玩伴,現在我每天都會餵牠們,又與牠們玩。」

新水井 = 清潔食水 + 健康身體 – 路上危險

在馬拉維,10歲的莎拉和她的朋友經常要到小溪取水,供家庭使用。

小溪距離莎拉的家半公里,夏季時常常乾涸,雨季時則被植物包圍,有危險的爬蟲例如蛇在其中。除了取水環境危機四伏,莎拉和朋友們所取的溪水也非常污濁,還受到感染。直至宣明會在莎拉的社區開鑿水井,情況改變了。

「我們看著許多的水流出,水柱射上高空再落到地上,我從未見過這麼多的水!」莎拉驚嘆。此後,村民都不再到從前污濁的水源取水。

「以前我常常因為腹瀉而不能上學。現在有清潔的水喝,我不再經常上廁所了。」莎拉說。

縫鞋機 讓家庭重建希望

「在野外放牧的生活非常艱苦。」蒙古的奧雲瑟特格說。她的兒子巴撒多尼今年上小學六年級,是一名助養兒童。

2000年,他們為了生計舉家搬到城市,奧雲瑟特格當清潔工人,收入微薄。及後,她們從宣明會獲得了一部縫鞋機,成為重要的謀生工具,增加了家庭收入。「我們現在擁有六部縫鞋機,生活跟以前截然不同了。」奧雲瑟特格解釋道。「從前我用雙手縫鞋,只能勉強度日,對未來沒有任何希望。」現在,賣鞋的收入足以供孩子讀書。

一頭母牛 脫貧之源

跑過菜園,11歲的拉蒂瑪拉帶我們來到拉撒米的家。拉撒米是宣明會今年送贈給她們一家的母牛,住在斯里蘭卡偏遠的村落。

拉蒂瑪拉的爸爸西華家柏魯默在茶園裡當雜工,每月賺取約港幣500元的工資,難以負擔家庭開支。媽媽曾往國外當了兩年家傭,但回國之後一直找不到工作,令一家的生活更為拮据。

母牛和畜牧培訓為他們一家帶來希望。出售牛奶為他們帶來額外收入,現在他們不僅有能力購買三輪車代步,還可以負擔兩個孩子的教育費用和開闢更多耕地。

「多得賣牛奶賺來的錢,我們可以讓拉蒂瑪拉上補習班。她的學業大有進步,由第39名至現在第5名。」西華家柏魯默自豪地說。「長大之後,我希望成為老師!」拉蒂瑪拉充滿自信地說。

人力車 載夢飛翔

安加莉今年10歲,住在印度北面的一個貧民窟。她的爸爸拉姆一向靠踏人力車載客為生,但由於車輛是租回來的,所以扣除租金後,收入很少。

自從得到宣明會捐助者送贈的人力車,拉姆的收入才增加了。他把賺回來的錢儲起來,計劃買一部自動人力車,方便接載更多乘客。安加莉的媽媽也在宣明會建立的婦女小組完成了裁縫培訓班,現在於當地學校教授裁縫技術。

「宣明會為我們的社區帶來了新出路,現在我們可以邁步向前了。」拉姆開心地說。

挑選禮物


香港世界宣明會為一有限責任形式成立的基督教救援及發展機構,旨在為貧窮的兒童、家庭及社區帶來長遠的改變。
© 2022 香港世界宣明會版權所有 | 有關善款之運用及監管,請按此進入捐款運用