WHAT are the forms of violence against children?

Violence against children is prevalent in every country, city and community. It takes all forms and affects children’s physical, social-psychological and mental well-being. The scale of this problem can be overwhelming and it is important to remind ourselves of the individual children behind the numbers.

  • Child marriage: About 1 in 7 adolescent girls (aged 15 to 19) worldwide is currently married or in union. Boys are far less likely than girls in the same region to marry before 18. More than 700 million women alive today got married before their 18th birthday. Read more

  • Child labour: Globally, there are approximately 168 million child labourers and over half of them (85 million children) are involved in hazardous work. Child labourers are often forced or trafficked into 3D jobs (dirty, dangerous and degrading) in sectors such as agriculture, fishing and mining. Read more

  • Child trafficking: Children make up more than a quarter (28%) of all detected trafficking victims. Read more (in Chinese only)

  • Children on the move: Nearly 50 million children across the globe have been forcibly displaced across or within borders. More than half of that number – 28 million – are boys and girls who flee violence and insecurity. Read more

  • Physical abuse: Around 6 in 10 children between the ages of 2 and 14 worldwide are subjected to physical punishment by their caregivers on a regular basis.

  • Sexual abuse: About 1 in 10 girls has been subjected to forced sexual acts before turning 20. Read more

  • Mental abuse: Globally, one third of the 84 million adolescent girls aged 15 to 19, in formal unions have been victims of some forms of emotional, physical or sexual violence perpetrated by their husbands or partners at some point.

  • Online vulnerability and abuse: In 2016, the Internet Watch Foundation identified over 57,000 URLS containing child sexual abuse images. The number of websites found to be hosting explicit and abusive images of children increased by 21 per cent in 2016.

  • Bullying: 1 in 3 students between the ages of 13 and 15 worldwide is regularly bullied at school.


HOW are children affected?

Violence against children affects their social, emotional, mental, and physical development and has far-reaching consequences into their future and their community. Violence in childhood can permanently shape the development of a child’s brain and immune system, leading to poor health over the course of his/her lifetime and a shorter lifespan. Children who are exposed to violence as a victim or a witness are more likely to become victims or perpetrators later in life. The cost of inaction is high.

The effects of violence on girls tend to be more profound and lasting. A survivor’s life may be changed by the damage done to her reproductive system as well as her psychological and physical well-being. Children forced to work or marry early are deprived of their rights to learn, develop and acquire personal values. During conflicts, children are forced to take up arms and fight in adult wars. This not only puts their health and lives at risk, but also sacrifices their childhood. The repercussions of violence reach families, communities and nations.


WHY – Causes of Violence against Children

Every child, in every setting, in every country is vulnerable to violence. The most susceptible and least protected people are often children fleeing conflict, children living in extreme poverty and girls.

Conflict

Conflict weakens critical support systems and is detrimental to children’s well-being. Children affected by conflict, violence and natural disasters are especially vulnerable to risks, such as separation from families, military conscription, child labour, trafficking, physical or sexual abuse, child marriage, injury and death.

Poverty

Impoverished families are often forced to make difficult decisions such as whether to send a child to work or marry off a child early to support the family.

Gender

Anyone, male or female, of any age, can be affected by sexual and gender-based violence during conflict. But violence against women and girls is all too common in the world. Violence can take many forms: domestic abuse, trafficking, rape or harmful practices such as early marriage and female genital mutilation (FGM). They can take place anywhere but are more regular in emergency or conflict situations.

World Vision Hong Kong, incorporated with limited liability, is a Christian humanitarian organisation working to create lasting change in the lives of children, families and communities living in poverty.
© 2017 World Vision Hong Kong | Please click here for information on Use of Donation | Tax-exempt Charities - IR File Number: 91/2002

兒童遭受的暴力侵害形式

在每個國家、城市和社區,兒童遭受暴力侵害的情況實屬普遍,並以各種形式出現,影響兒童的身心健康,亦可能引發嚴重的問題。而最重要的是每個統計數字背後,都代表著一個孩子的生命。

  • 童婚:全球每七名15至19歲的女童中,一人已婚。在同一地區,男童很少在18歲前結婚。超過七億名婦女在18歲前已婚。認識更多

  • 童工:估計全球有1.68億名童工,過半數(8,500萬人)從事危險工作。童工經常被迫或被販賣從事骯髒、危險及卑微的工種,例如務農、捕漁及採礦等。認識更多

  • 販運兒童:在已知的販運人口中,超過四分之一(28%)是兒童。認識更多

  • 流徙兒童:全球近5,000萬名兒童於境內流徙或逃離本國,或被迫離鄉別井。其中過半數孩子(2,800萬人)是為了逃避暴力及危險。認識更多

  • 虐打:全球每十名2至14歲的兒童中,約有六人定期遭照顧者體罰。

  • 性侵犯:每十名女孩中,一人曾在20歲前被迫進行性行為。認識更多

  • 精神虐待:全球8,400萬名15至19歲的已婚女性中,約每三人便有一人曾被丈夫或伴侶施以精神、肉體或性虐待。

  • 網絡欺凌:網路監察基金會(Internet Watch Foundation)於2016年確認有超過57,000個網址含有性侵犯兒童的影像。寄存侵害兒童影像的網站數目,在2016年上升21%。

  • 校園欺凌:全球13至15歲的學童中,每三人中有一人在校園經常飽受欺凌。


暴力侵害對兒童帶來的影響

暴力行為影響兒童的社交及身心發展,亦為個人及社會帶來長遠後果。暴力行為永久傷害兒童腦部發育和免疫系統,導致健康終身受損及壽命縮短。兒童若曾遭受暴力侵害或目睹暴力發生,很大機會在長大後成為受害者或施暴者。如果我們視若無睹,將付出極大代價。

女童因遭受暴力侵害而承受的傷害,往往較為深遠。由於生育能力以至身心健康受損,其人生亦會改變。被迫成為童工及早婚的兒童,遭剝奪學習、發展及建立個人價值的機會。在戰亂中,兒童被迫使用武力參與成人的戰爭,不單危害健康和生命,更犧牲了他們的童年。暴力侵害的影響遍及家庭、社會以至整個國家。


為甚麼兒童遭受暴力侵害

每個孩子不論身在任何環境、任何國家,在暴力面前都是脆弱的。其中最易遭受暴力侵害、最不受保護的,往往是逃避戰火的兒童、活在極端貧困的兒童,尤其是女孩。

戰亂衝突

戰亂衝突往往削弱對兒童的保護,影響兒童的身心健康。受戰亂、暴力和天災影響的兒童,容易與家人失散,成為童兵、童工,被販運、遭受肉體或性虐待、陷入童婚、受傷和死亡。

貧窮

貧困家庭經常被迫作出困難的決定,例如是否安排子女成為童工或早婚以幫補家計。

性別

任何人不論性別或年齡,都有可能在戰亂中遭受涉及性和性別的暴力侵害。女性遭受暴力侵害,在全球尤其普遍,形式包括家庭暴力、販運人口、強姦,或一些傷害性的習俗,例如童婚或女性割禮。它們可在任何地方出現,而在受災或戰亂衝突期間更常有發生。

香港世界宣明會為一有限責任形式成立的基督教救援及發展機構,旨在為貧窮的兒童、家庭及社區帶來長遠的改變。
© 2018香港世界宣明會版權所有 | 有關善款之運用及監管,請按此進入捐款運用